Dell U2312HM cannot detect connection

Kooosh

Hi everyone.

Here to seek some help with my monitor.

Seemed to be working well last week but suddenly cannot detect connection. Has been using DVI all these while but last week on and off the monitor can't detect the connection.

Switched to HDMI same issue.

On-screen menu accessible and seems to be working. Not sure if its my graphics card or system.

Anyone have this issue before?

Please help!

ZrE0_Cha0s

I wonder how u connect HDMI port on this model when there is on DP?

anyway u just unplug the cable singals and power up if u can see anything like no video signal display or no signal msg popup and if it show probably its ur gfx go issues.

Kooosh

Yeah the "no signal display" it showed up!

But what do you mean no DP? My GPU has two Mini DisplayPort, one Dual-link DVI, one Single-link DVI, and a HDMI port. DP is DisplayPort?

I also think its the GPU sigh...

ZrE0_Cha0s

LMAO, I mean ur dell monitor U2312HM, i dun remember have HDMI port, but it has Display Port. thats why im like how do u connect it???

Anyway back to topic, have u tried removing the gpu and use onboard gpu?

Kooosh

got post beep & windows logon sound, or no post at all...?

Yup all sounds are there. Reach the log in (tho can't see) I type my password still can reach desktop (got sound).

LMAO, I mean ur dell monitor U2312HM, i dun remember have HDMI port, but it has Display Port. thats why im like how do u connect it???

Anyway back to topic, have u tried removing the gpu and use onboard gpu?

No leh.. my ASUS P67 Sabertooth mobo no onboard gpu. So I can't test that sigh.

My system is built by fortran but I'm thinking of saving the trouble of getting him down for a diagnosis and straight away overhaul my system. But you know ..... budget ah. HAHAH

Kooosh

Got so nice lend spare GPU to test meh.

Anyway I spoke to fortran, and its true what he said la its about time to overhaul my setup already. Skali change GPU one week later mobo got problem....

Doing some research now on the parts. Haven't kept up with all the hardwares omg feel so overwhelmed by all the models and alphabets lolol.

ZrE0_Cha0s

lol not lend u gpu, but kindly ask him to check for u whats the issues, but if u not intend to fix it and u wanna replace den go for and dun need to look for nigel.

Kooosh

Ohh hahah. I wna know which part needs to be changed so I can replace that part. Most likely GPU but could be other parts also. The dilemma I'm having now is whether or not to change all the major parts like RAM, GPU and MOBO cus its about due already 5 years+ since I've gotten this setup.

Guess that's all for now. Thanks for the help!!

Koenig168

Your rig is fine. Other than a GPU upgrade, there is no need to change anything if you don't want to.

It's probably the GPU or monitor. You can test the monitor's connections by connecting to a blu-ray player (HDMI) or phone (MHL).

edit: assuming your monitor has the relevant connectors

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.