DINK "I also value my freedom a lot, and the ability to live my life the way that I want."

nyvrem

SINGAPORE - As a teenager, Ms Tan knew she did not want to have children.

The 49-year-old professional, who declined to give her full name, said: “Having a child is a huge responsibility, and I don’t want to be responsible for another life and how they turn out.

“I also value my freedom a lot, and the ability to live my life the way that I want.”

Ms Tan and her husband, a professional who is a few years older than her, enjoy travelling and “exploring life”. She said that having children would restrict the things they are able to do, such as going on holidays at a short notice.

“The unknown is too much for me to take the step of having kids. Will the child turn out all right? Will I be an all right parent?”, he said. “Mentally, it’s too much of a burden to bring up someone.”

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ing-a-lot-more-common-in-singapore-these-days

:o:o:o

rtfm38

This is the main reason why less people are having children, not due to money. Most people just cannot give up their lifestyle (no right or wrong) :o
I think money also plays a big part in it. You need to plan your kid's education all the way up to Uni level which means lots of tuition if you want to save money and go local or have to send them for overseas education which of course cost a ton.

xdivider

actually better they dun have than be like the murdereress. at least they noe they dun want. some folks cannot afford rubber and abortion and prefer to abuse the kid to death.......

hachi

I think money also plays a big part in it. You need to plan your kid's education all the way up to Uni level which means lots of tuition if you want to save money and go local or have to send them for overseas education which of course cost a ton.
Tuition is a must or a need?

My sec sch frd pump alot for his daughter tuitions also end up ITE.
My kids no tuitions, elder one no issue go into a boys sec sch

Hot_Dog

Its better that ppl rike tat dont hab children anyway. So moi sappork!

VEF888

it's a trade-off—there's a unique joy that comes with having children, one that's hard to experience otherwise. then again, that's subjective.

spidercyj

This is the main reason why less people are having children, not due to money. Most people just cannot give up their lifestyle (no right or wrong) :o
It all boils down to money. If they can have their lifestyle and still bring up a kid they will but the financial burden on them to change their life style because of the kid prevents them.

coup with having to slog their guts out at work adds on additional stress of having to deal with kids when they go home.

you see those countries or the time Singapore was in when there were a lot of people having kids. It was during times when people are less stress and more free

エステ好きな野郎

BrJEYAZ.png

this number correct or not_?

begintoend

Well, they can't say they explored everything in life when they skip the exploration of life in parenthood. But I have seen a few parents being able to explore what they had.

lupster

According to the Marriage and Parenthood Survey done by the govt:

"From our 2021 Marriage & Parenthood survey, 8 in 10 young singles aspire to get married and have children, and over 9 in 10 married Singaporeans want at least 2 children. These sentiments have held firm since our surveys in 2012 and 2016.

One of the main reasons for not having more children was financial cost, with 64 per cent of married respondents citing that as one of the top three reasons."

So actually DINKS are still the minority leh. Can don't use DINKS to explain the falling birthrate? The birthrate is low because many married couples are not able to meet their aspirations to have more children due to various difficulties faced being in Singapore. Unfortunately, the govt is just providing lip service.

hachi

See the competition and decide for yourself lor.
Hmm I see my kids learning profile... Why care about others? At a certain age... Don't have mean don't have... I also ITE grad.

Does it stop me? No...
My ITE classmate getting 2nd master cos wanna start his own business...

Some kids just need a longer time. I rather spend time with them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.