Diploma in Nautical Studies & Marine Engineering

nauticalsky

Sup Guys,

Where the lads aim to graduate with COC3 & Diploma.
I'm currently sailing, doing my second phase of nautical studies, as a deck cadet. The lowest life form on board LOL.
okay, since national exam will be starting soon, ppl will ask how to get into DNS, what is it about etc..
i might as well share, others please come share your experience and knowledge, this young cadet also want to learn as well :,)
Well in my experience, and to my best of memory, for those chaps who want to apply for nautical studies after their national exams, you guys will still have to apply for your jae for the other 12 course, and DAE for Nautical Studies as well. You will have to attend the interview session where there you will be interviewed by at least 4-5 ppl from different people in the maritime industry.
Also there are those from ite post NS no worries it possible :)

Then there may be opportunities for study scholarship for Tripartite Maritime Scholarship and port singapore authority (Habour Pilot route) . Or MaritimeOne schorlarship, ( which act somewhat like a bursary) and a few more some with bond some without, i may get back to this topic another time.
or you can do what majority didn't get or choose to , which go on as normal. Which also unfortunately is that there will a lot of extra courses that are compulsory to attend which requires lot of money, straight cold cash. Some of which can be quite pricey for those who aren't well off. e.g. fire fighting, advance fire fighting, designated security, correspondence course, uniform etc etc. Which is why it is good to prepare, so you won't be so shocked if the news came at short notice. anyway moving on, average they take around 60 plus students two class . each class around 30 students.
oct batch have?idk.

Also what seems like 3 years course but usually it takes more than that, because of delay in joining ship, ship not availabl, no company want to hire you etc. thats the reality , it doesn't mean your internship you will definitely get a shipboard placement and company the soonest, i know of some classmates who are unlucky that company got sold, not making enough profits, just decided not to have any cadets for this year or whatever reason. they have to start looking for company, your lecturers can help you so much. some took 3months, some took half a year to find a company. so please don't take it for granted, because in real life nobody can guarantee you a job, your future. Do a search there's many of other cadets around the world eyeing for shipboard placement as well. i hope it won't deter you guys from joining the course. and please don't think it's those 'wanderlust' type of life. you may be disappointed dear.
Mine was pretty smooth, so our generallyclass of 2013 expected to end course 2016 dec. which if you count properly it is 4 years... wow

also there is another way to join Nautical studies, smou tnta under wave link( correct me pls)
  • At least GCE ‘N’/ ‘O’ levels with passes in English, Maths and Physics/ Chemistry
  • hysically fit with No color/ night blindness
    Willing to work shifts for long periods out at sea, including weekends and public holidays (Average 3-6 months on board ship)
    Do not have heavy financial burdens and commitment
    Willing to commit to and undergo 31 months of full time training and accept an allowance of $1,200 - $1,400 during traineeship
    Completed National Service (applicable for males)

Just quoting them only ^

Check out Wavelink Maritime Institute Facebook, they have 3 more session aug 15, 19, 22 2015 guysss.

But average DNS SMA students earning is like $700/month for their 12 month cadet ship some earning as low as $500/month. sigh (My batch mates ) it's 2015 man...

Also for those who can't bear to leave their family or loved one behind for whatever reason,
there's a thing call Special Limit COC where (I'm not really sure, from what I hear from my lecturers is that they sail closer to sg , what a way to describe it,, I fail in life roar okay, maintain) like around singapore malaysia indonesia? Have shorter and more flexible voyage and "vacation" period.
Because the government is trying to attract people singapore worker in the habour craft sector. asinine new (aiya try google it out, keyword there.

Theres also this programme the-place-n-train programme initiated by map , wda, e2i , ska etc where the course is fully funded, on top of that you get allowance for phase 1 and phase 2 , there are 4 phases.
eligibility requirement: Singaporean and singaporean pr with at least GCE N level pass in english, maths science or workplace literacy 5.
go share with friends, relative , dad or what Ifeel its quite good leh,life long learning :,) I'm not sure whats the website, I downloaded it in pdf form on my phone some time back, reckon it's under wda website.

peeps in special limits do share too :)

I know little about marine engineer and maritime business. Both are important, and have lucrative prospect as well.
But what most peeps with dip in marine engineer don't know is that curet batch of Dmr students will do their 6 month sea time during the 3 year in school. or they can choose ship yard if I'm not mistaken.

So ppl before you make the decision please do your homework, and join because you choose it, because not everyone can survive it and be happy :,)

Omg i still have ns to go, any advice seniors? how to cope 2 years doing stuff unrelated to my future career. take part time job in marine? beg to join navy :,) (highly doubt can,nvm be optimistic, ) or police coast guard, or just make the best out of the situation .

Mogan23

Omg, Bro!!!
I have been looking for someone like you to share their experience!
I'm currently in ITE Nitec in electronics 2nd year. Graduations thine December

You mentioned the courses which require money, will the school or internship company pay for those or do we have to pay ourselves?? And how much total is it??

Anyone in your batch took up navy/SPF sponsoship and signed on??

Because like you, I hope to join navy or PCG in ns, have thought of signing on navy but I'm still contemplating :s22:

Sup Guys,

Where the lads aim to graduate with COC3 & Diploma.
I'm currently sailing, doing my second phase of nautical studies, as a deck cadet. The lowest life form on board LOL.
okay, since national exam will be starting soon, ppl will ask how to get into DNS, what is it about etc..
i might as well share, others please come share your experience and knowledge, this young cadet also want to learn as well :,)
Well in my experience, and to my best of memory, for those chaps who want to apply for nautical studies after their national exams, you guys will still have to apply for your jae for the other 12 course, and DAE for Nautical Studies as well. You will have to attend the interview session where there you will be interviewed by at least 4-5 ppl from different people in the maritime industry.
Also there are those from ite post NS no worries it possible :)

Then there may be opportunities for study scholarship for Tripartite Maritime Scholarship and port singapore authority (Habour Pilot route) . Or MaritimeOne schorlarship, ( which act somewhat like a bursary) and a few more some with bond some without, i may get back to this topic another time.
or you can do what majority didn't get or choose to , which go on as normal. Which also unfortunately is that there will a lot of extra courses that are compulsory to attend which requires lot of money, straight cold cash. Some of which can be quite pricey for those who aren't well off. e.g. fire fighting, advance fire fighting, designated security, correspondence course, uniform etc etc. Which is why it is good to prepare, so you won't be so shocked if the news came at short notice. anyway moving on, average they take around 60 plus students two class . each class around 30 students.
oct batch have?idk.

So ppl before you make the decision please do your homework, and join because you choose it, because not everyone can survive it and be happy :,)

Omg i still have ns to go, any advice seniors? how to cope 2 years doing stuff unrelated to my future career. take part time job in marine? beg to join navy :,) (highly doubt can,nvm be optimistic, ) or police coast guard, or just make the best out of the situation .

nauticalsky

Omg, Bro!!!
I have been looking for someone like you to share their experience!
I'm currently in ITE Nitec in electronics 2nd year. Graduations thine December

You mentioned the courses which require money, will the school or internship company pay for those or do we have to pay ourselves?? And how much total is it??

Anyone in your batch took up navy/SPF sponsoship and signed on??

Because like you, I hope to join navy or PCG in ns, have thought of signing on navy but I'm still contemplating :s22:
:)
Im assuming you're asking for SMA, unfortunately those without any scholarship or sponsorship will have to bare this expenses. and you can't use the, ( i forgot what its call) study fund thingy the government one... ya we can't use that hard old cash. There are plenty of scholarship, but you really have to work hard during because they come during your studies, if your grades are not there too bad. you choose it ,
i have some friends from pcg, where they join after their ns, not signing on whatsoever. i Cant comment on the navy part, i don't know **** about it, or know anyone that I'm close with that got to join the navy :,) you know i know hahahaha. anyway i don't think signing on will entitle you to have a placing in , nautical studies. but i do have an engineer who was from navy, on support vessel. he didn't enjoy it, the pay was crap as compared to private sector as well.

i just found out one of my classmates past away onboard. I am sad :((((

nauticalsky

alamak a lot of typos.. and missing words. sorry :(( wifi quit laggy at the moment too. even whatsaap at times take quite a while to load..
grad from nitec then to ns or higher nitec then ns?? ah mogan 23, can share? so we can roughly know what are the options. there also entry requirement for DNS at their website, can help copy paste here or not .. i cannot load their website :(

Kyoji83

In layman term, COC mean licence for deck officer or marine engineer & your Diploma will be useless. COC only last 5 years & if you are not working in this industry, you will not be able to renewal your COC because lack of experience as per requirement.

My advice to nauticalsky is suck thumb to finish your Poly course & sign on with RSN as officer or get a degree in another major after NS.

nauticalsky

Oh I think I gave off a wrong impression in my first post. Thank you Kyojie83 :)
Ill keep that in mind. :)
Honestly I have no intention of signing on for navy or PCG, what i was wondering if whether joining the navy or pcg for ns would help me like clock sea time. and well its something relevant to what i study in poly maybe help in something.
But just recently, my mates in whatsapp group told me that very high chances are that you won't be able to clock sea time while doing ns, we may be wrong. so i thought can kill two birds with one stone... hahah dayuum . I shall suck thumb all the way :,) But i'll keep my options open, continue sailing get class 1 or jump over to habour pilot. :)

Kyoji83

Even if you can clock sea time during NSF, the most you can only renewal your licence (COC) one time to last for another 5 years before it expires again. If you are not in this industry, it is useless. Same apply to COC class 1 (Very easy to get COC class 1 but not easy to become a Chief Officer/Ship Captain. The most you can be promoted after this COC is Second Officer & wait until you die to be promoted to next level). If can, try get mpa powerboat license which last your lifetime that allow you to sail for hobbles but not for jobs.

In this case, just get a degree in another major after NS because very unlikely Polytechnic will allow you to change course (My friend kena before).

Oh I think I gave off a wrong impression in my first post. Thank you Kyojie83 :)
Ill keep that in mind. :)
Honestly I have no intention of signing on for navy or PCG, what i was wondering if whether joining the navy or pcg for ns would help me like clock sea time. and well its something relevant to what i study in poly maybe help in something.
But just recently, my mates in whatsapp group told me that very high chances are that you won't be able to clock sea time while doing ns, we may be wrong. so i thought can kill two birds with one stone... hahah dayuum . I shall suck thumb all the way :,) But i'll keep my options open, continue sailing get class 1 or jump over to habour pilot. :)

Mogan23

:)
Im assuming you're asking for SMA, unfortunately those without any scholarship or sponsorship will have to bare this expenses. and you can't use the, ( i forgot what its call) study fund thingy the government one... ya we can't use that hard old cash. There are plenty of scholarship, but you really have to work hard during because they come during your studies, if your grades are not there too bad. you choose it ,
i have some friends from pcg, where they join after their ns, not signing on whatsoever. i Cant comment on the navy part, i don't know **** about it, or know anyone that I'm close with that got to join the navy :,) you know i know hahahaha. anyway i don't think signing on will entitle you to have a placing in , nautical studies. but i do have an engineer who was from navy, on support vessel. he didn't enjoy it, the pay was crap as compared to private sector as well.

i just found out one of my classmates past away onboard. I am sad :((((

alamak a lot of typos.. and missing words. sorry :(( wifi quit laggy at the moment too. even whatsaap at times take quite a while to load..
grad from nitec then to ns or higher nitec then ns?? ah mogan 23, can share? so we can roughly know what are the options. there also entry requirement for DNS at their website, can help copy paste here or not .. i cannot load their website :(

In layman term, COC mean licence for deck officer or marine engineer & your Diploma will be useless. COC only last 5 years & if you are not working in this industry, you will not be able to renewal your COC because lack of experience as per requirement.

My advice to nauticalsky is suck thumb to finish your Poly course & sign on with RSN as officer or get a degree in another major after NS.
I'm sorry to hear that bro, that's one of the risks you have to face in this line of work.

From SP website the entry requirements are:

GCE 'O' Level / SPM / UEC Qualifications

Applicants must obtain the following GCE 'O' Level grades at not more than two sittings.

SUBJECT GRADE
i) English Language (as 1st Language) 1 - 7*
ii) Mathematics (Elementary / Additional) 1 - 6
iii)Any two other subjects 1 - 6
In order to be eligible for admission, an applicant must have also sat for one of the following subjects:

Additional Combined Science
Additional Science
Biology
Biotechnology
Chemistry
Combined Science
Computer Studies
Creative 3D Animation
Design & Technology
Engineering Science
Food & Nutrition
Fundamentals of Electronics
General Science
Human & Social Biology
Integrated Science
Physical Science
Physics
Science (Chemistry, Biology)
Science (Physics, Biology)
Science (Physics, Chemistry)
Science (Physics, Chemistry, Biology)
* Applicants offering SPM / UEC qualifications must attain a minimum grade A+ to C / 1 to 6 for their Bahasa Inggeris (1119) / English Language. SPM Grades A+ to C are equivalent to GCE 'O' Level Grades 1 to 6.

Higher Nitec Qualification

Higher Nitec holders must have a minimum Grade Point Average of 2.0.

RELEVANT HIGHER NITEC DURATION
Accounting 3
Advanced Manufacturing 3
Aerospace Engineering 3
Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration Engineering 3
Banking Services 3
Business-Information Technology /
E-Commerce 3
Business Studies (Administration) /
Business Studies (Secretarial) 3
Business Studies (Sport Management) 3
Community Sport & Recreation Management 3
Civil & Structural Engineering Design 3
E-Business Programming 3
Electrical Engineering 3
Electro-Mechanical Engineering 3
Electronics Engineering /
Industrial Electronics Engineering 3
Facility Management 3
Facility Systems Design 3
Information Systems Quality 3
Information Technology 3
Integrated Logistics Management /
Logistics 3
Manufacturing Engineering 3
Marine Engineering 3
Marine & Offshore Technology /
Marine Offshore Engineering 3
Mechanical & Electrical Drafting & Design /
Mechanical & Electrical Engineering Design 3
Mechanical Engineering 3
Mechanical Engineering Drawing & Design 3
Mechatronics Engineering 3
Mobile Unified Communications 3
Network Security Technology 3
Offshore & Marine Engineering Design 3
Passenger Services 3
Performance Production 3
Process Plant Design 3
Shipping & Operations Services 3
Visual Merchandising 3
Wireless Technology 3
Nitec Qualification

RELEVANT NITEC MINIMUM GPA
Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration /
Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology /
Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration Mechanics 3.5
Attractions Operations 3.5
Automotive Mechanics (Construction Equipment) /
Automotive Technology (Heavy Vehicles) /
Automotive Technology (Construction Equipment) 3.5
Automotive Technology (Light Vehicles) /
Automotive Mechanics (Light Vehicles) /
Motor Vehicle Mechanics /
Diesel Engine Mechanics 3.5
Chemical Process Technology 3.5
Electrical Technology /
Electrical Technology (Installation & Servicing) /
Electrical Installation & Servicing /
Electrical Fitting & Installation 3.5
Electrical Technology (Lighting & Sound) 3.5
Electrical Technology (Power & Control) /
Electrical Technology (Power & Machines) /
Electrical Power & Machines 3.5
Electronics /
Electronics Servicing 3.5
Facility Technology (Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration) /
Building Services Technology /
Building Services Technology (Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration) /
Building Services Technology (Mechanical & Electrical Services) /
Building Servicing 3.5
Facility Technology (Mechanical & Electrical Services) 3.5
Facility Technology (Vertical Transportation) 3.5
Info-Communications Technology 3.5
Info-Communications Technology (Cloud Computing) 3.5
Interactive Media Design 3.5
Marine Mechanics /
Marine Technology 3.5
Mechanical-Electrical Drafting 3.5
Mechanical Technology /
Maintenance Fitting /
Mechanical Servicing 3.5
Mechatronics /
Electro-Mechanical Servicing 3.5
Mobile Systems & Services 3.5
Multimedia Technology 3.5
Precision Engineering (Aerospace) 3.5
Precision Engineering (Machining) /
Precision Machining 3.5
Rapid Transit Technology 3.5
Semiconductor Technology 3.5
Social Media & Web Development 3.5
Visual Communication 3.5
Visual Effects 3.5

For me, Nitec, I need to get minimum 3.5 GPA to apply for poly. Right now my cumulative is 3.8 excluding CCA which is 0.2. final exam this December then grad.

Of course I plan to go to poly first then ns. But if cannot get in poly then go higher Nitec marine engineering then see if can defer for poly after that. For higher Nitec to DNS need GPA 3.0.

I didn't know need to renew the CoC every 5 years, and I recently just learnt that after grad from SP, still need to take the MPA exam then will get CoC. So hopefully I can get CoC before enlisting for ns.

Thanks guys and smooth sailing :o

nauticalsky

kyoji83, You have a good point on the part where you may get a coc1("masters" ticket) but you are far from getting a a promotion to the ranks of senior officers on board. Supply demand, experience, plays a part. oh well sigh.
So depends on how bad you want it at the end of the day, whether it's worth the wait.

Mogan 23,
Oh I didn't know that from ite one can straight away go to poly, pardon my ignorance. Well better double check with SMA office if it is possible :) Well is shows them you are really interested in dns * HINT HINT * ;)

Also many of my mates from Hnitec took marine engineering, so may give a slight edge, but really it depends on how well your interview goes about. To prove your worth to get a placing in DNS. Those people interviewing you are experienced ppl in the industry, some have interviewed many cadets in sg and around the region. so want to bull also must do it "properly"
Once you pass the interview then your grades come into play for scholarship, study sponsorship etc.
For now all the best for your final exams, do update on your journey to DNS goes about, fellow Navigator to be .

Mogan23

kyoji83, You have a good point on the part where you may get a coc1("masters" ticket) but you are far from getting a a promotion to the ranks of senior officers on board. Supply demand, experience, plays a part. oh well sigh.
So depends on how bad you want it at the end of the day, whether it's worth the wait.

Mogan 23,
Oh I didn't know that from ite one can straight away go to poly, pardon my ignorance. Well better double check with SMA office if it is possible :) Well is shows them you are really interested in dns * HINT HINT * ;)

Also many of my mates from Hnitec took marine engineering, so may give a slight edge, but really it depends on how well your interview goes about. To prove your worth to get a placing in DNS. Those people interviewing you are experienced ppl in the industry, some have interviewed many cadets in sg and around the region. so want to bull also must do it "properly"
Once you pass the interview then your grades come into play for scholarship, study sponsorship etc.
For now all the best for your final exams, do update on your journey to DNS goes about, fellow Navigator to be .

I see thanks bro.

What company and ship are you sailing on?

I plan to join Maersk on container ships :s12:

nauticalsky

I see thanks bro.

What company and ship are you sailing on?

I plan to join Maersk on container ships :s12:

Ah lol I'm on a roro vessel, roll on roll off. Carries car, truck, other cargo on roll trailer and occasionally containers plus etc etc... aiya the company in time you will know, wa later expose liao LOL..

Ooo Maersk Line, swee, but from what I know the haven't been taking any SMA cadets for quite some time. Don't know about the situation now, unless you have some connection with people there, then anything is possible. Though Mearsk TANKERS accepted a handful of students during my batch. Ok,fyi, maersk have several "division" , maersk Line, maersk offshore, mearsk tanker etc. so if you will be saying that you are interested in maersk at least you know somehow rather the 'proper' terrm to say..
And if you still keen in container line, the typical choices would be APL, PIL, they generally take the bulk of the sma students. These companies usually have sponsorship, for you studies during sma. but it would be wise to talk to the seniors that are under their scholarship to give you their personal opinion before you make any decision :)

There are other container companies that take in sma students, depends on your luck if the are keen to come down to sma on that year.

Mogan23

Ah lol I'm on a roro vessel, roll on roll off. Carries car, truck, other cargo on roll trailer and occasionally containers plus etc etc... aiya the company in time you will know, wa later expose liao LOL..

Ooo Maersk Line, swee, but from what I know the haven't been taking any SMA cadets for quite some time. Don't know about the situation now, unless you have some connection with people there, then anything is possible. Though Mearsk TANKERS accepted a handful of students during my batch. Ok,fyi, maersk have several "division" , maersk Line, maersk offshore, mearsk tanker etc. so if you will be saying that you are interested in maersk at least you know somehow rather the 'proper' terrm to say..
And if you still keen in container line, the typical choices would be APL, PIL, they generally take the bulk of the sma students. These companies usually have sponsorship, for you studies during sma. but it would be wise to talk to the seniors that are under their scholarship to give you their personal opinion before you make any decision :)

There are other container companies that take in sma students, depends on your luck if the are keen to come down to sma on that year.
Nice nice,

Not keen in tankers because they are the most dangerous and have the highest risk.

But sailing is already dangerous in itself :s13:

And how did your parents, relatives, gf react when you joined DNS and started sailing?

Mogan23

There was a career fair in school a few weeks ago. I went to the navy booth and asked some questions about rank progression job scope and scholarships etc.

They said DNS isn't one of the coirses they will sponsor. :(
Waiting for them to call me up for inter view so I can clarify this, and see which coirses they will sponsor.

nauticalsky

There was a career fair in school a few weeks ago. I went to the navy booth and asked some questions about rank progression job scope and scholarships etc.

They said DNS isn't one of the coirses they will sponsor. :(
Waiting for them to call me up for inter view so I can clarify this, and see which coirses they will sponsor.

Sorry Mate, been pretty distracted lately. Well i do know for navy they sponsor, for diploma in marine engineering cos a few of my mates are under them. Well one of my engineer that left the navy, was unlucky to be in "coastal" sector so he didn't really go out much. but just petrol singapore water until his bond end, then he went to merchant navy started from the bottom here. He was an engineer though. From what he say he had no choice but be in patrol boat, they can't change, lesser flexibility but more benefits I'm not really sure. He sign off last month so I'm the only sinkie here lol. anyw to address you previous question, lol no gf, butttt if you need you gf approval, well mate. Well done for another level of parental guidance Lel

nauticalsky

its good to clarify with them, scholarship can be boon or bane, better ask around before you make the decision. Well fyi fns has several scholarship as well, but never heard of the navy scholarship for dns.well just fyi if you join marine engine straight to navy, and one day decide to come in merchant navy after a few years, you may have to start as cadet. just like one of my engineer. cool ah navy midshipmen serious their vids.

Mogan23

its good to clarify with them, scholarship can be boon or bane, better ask around before you make the decision. Well fyi fns has several scholarship as well, but never heard of the navy scholarship for dns.well just fyi if you join marine engine straight to navy, and one day decide to come in merchant navy after a few years, you may have to start as cadet. just like one of my engineer. cool ah navy midshipmen serious their vids.

Sorry Mate, been pretty distracted lately. Well i do know for navy they sponsor, for diploma in marine engineering cos a few of my mates are under them. Well one of my engineer that left the navy, was unlucky to be in "coastal" sector so he didn't really go out much. but just petrol singapore water until his bond end, then he went to merchant navy started from the bottom here. He was an engineer though. From what he say he had no choice but be in patrol boat, they can't change, lesser flexibility but more benefits I'm not really sure. He sign off last month so I'm the only sinkie here lol. anyw to address you previous question, lol no gf, butttt if you need you gf approval, well mate. Well done for another level of parental guidance Lel
Thanks, but even after the Engineers finish their course and get CoC, go navy and come out, they start as cadet in merchant shipping??

I know the navy experience might not count but won't they start as junior officer or something because they have civilian CoC?

Kyoji83

CoC is just a licence & having the highest CoC Class 1 Marine Engineer Officer does not mean they should offer you a Chief Engineer or Second Engineer position.

Cadet is for those earning their CoC Class 5 Marine Engineer Officer such as Polytechnic student. Once you get CoC Class 5, you will start as a junior officer (if they don't recognize services in Navy as working experience).

Training Path for Marine Engineer Officer:

http://www.sp.edu.sg/wps/portal/vp-spws/schsma.cse.ftdip.marineengineering

http://www.mpa.gov.sg/sites/pdf/tmss_dmr_training_path.pdf

Thanks, but even after the Engineers finish their course and get CoC, go navy and come out, they start as cadet in merchant shipping??

I know the navy experience might not count but won't they start as junior officer or something because they have civilian CoC?

nauticalsky

CoC is just a licence & having the highest CoC Class 1 Marine Engineer Officer does not mean they should offer you a Chief Engineer or Second Engineer position.

Cadet is for those earning their CoC Class 5 Marine Engineer Officer such as Polytechnic student. Once you get CoC Class 5, you will start as a junior officer (if they don't recognize services in Navy as working experience).

Training Path for Marine Engineer Officer:

Kyoji is right, well it depends on your whether you can do your jobs well, and if your superior would recommend you for promotion. Thanks for sharing the link Kyoji, well there's significant change as compared to last time.

well the reason why my friend had to serve as a cadet after 5 years of serving in the navy is because he didn't clock the proper sea time on the correct "type" of vessel. mostly his route is coastl sailing, then finish duty go back home at sengkang. well what my friend said its a good thing he started as a cadet then a being a junior engineer cos in the navy he didn't really do much engine job. most or all of the overhaul are done by the shore people at sg, and what he did was cleaning up and fix bait here and there .... . but under the new DMR programme you can choose to sail first or go to shipyard before you graduate. which mean Mogan, if you sign up 4 navy scholarship, ull be joining with class 5. and if you join the correct vessel maybe you can clock the sea time and upgrade class. makes shifting around in the future easier i reckon.

well also something new for those peeps in the engineering sector on land, who want to have a career at sea
pls check Wavelink Maritime Institute Pte Ltd Facebook .. can't post link zz
pushing for more marine engineer.. seriously the pay of 25k for the deck side for captain is really hard to get for us sinkie, usually those white men get those rates and the been working for a really long time.. with dp licence maybe can get.. but i have yet to know any sinkie getting that type of pay.. maybe i don't know enough yet la.........

Kyoji83

Is there any cut off age from inside news? Thinking of joining when my kids are older to fulfill one of my dream jobs.

Kyoji is right, well it depends on your whether you can do your jobs well, and if your superior would recommend you for promotion. Thanks for sharing the link Kyoji, well there's significant change as compared to last time.

well the reason why my friend had to serve as a cadet after 5 years of serving in the navy is because he didn't clock the proper sea time on the correct "type" of vessel. mostly his route is coastl sailing, then finish duty go back home at sengkang. well what my friend said its a good thing he started as a cadet then a being a junior engineer cos in the navy he didn't really do much engine job. most or all of the overhaul are done by the shore people at sg, and what he did was cleaning up and fix bait here and there .... . but under the new DMR programme you can choose to sail first or go to shipyard before you graduate. which mean Mogan, if you sign up 4 navy scholarship, ull be joining with class 5. and if you join the correct vessel maybe you can clock the sea time and upgrade class. makes shifting around in the future easier i reckon.

well also something new for those peeps in the engineering sector on land, who want to have a career at sea
pls check Wavelink Maritime Institute Pte Ltd Facebook .. can't post link zz
pushing for more marine engineer.. seriously the pay of 25k for the deck side for captain is really hard to get for us sinkie, usually those white men get those rates and the been working for a really long time.. with dp licence maybe can get.. but i have yet to know any sinkie getting that type of pay.. maybe i don't know enough yet la.........

nauticalsky

Is there any cut off age from inside news? Thinking of joining when my kids are older to fulfill one of my dream jobs.

Im not really sure oldest in sma that I know of he was around 28 years old. what I know that there are those who are 30 plus that join TNTA, well since most of them jump ship and decide for a career change.So if theres any cut off age, Idk sorry .. So Kyoji you're interested in the deck or engine?
anyway just fyi from what I read there's a lot new initiatives by the gov, to promote more sinkies into the maritime industry allowance, awards, Skill Future credit etc.YEAY:s12:
Quite sad NOL been bought over, once our pride ;')

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.