Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

byfun

I was doing some quick maths and realise the effort to keep the stupid bottles and finding the stupid machine is not worth it at all unless you return like 20-30 bottles at a time.

Let's say you return 10 bottles at a time and your nearest return station is 5 minutes from your house. You get 1 dollar for 10mins of effort. Means your effective pay is a derisory $6 per hour.

In reality, most people aren't going to be returning so many at a time, so the hourly rate is realistically less.

This whole thing is a joke and is literally making life worse for people who were already recycling before this scheme for no good reason.

Here's my personal struggle:
I work in a restricted area with no brcs return points. Last time I buy drink from vending machine, I just throw it in the recycling bin when I'm done. Now if I do the same, I am throwing 10 cents away. If I want my 10cents back, I have to hold on to the drink till the end of the day, bring it with me all the way to the carpark (a 15min walk btw), drive home, and walk to the nearest return point near my home, then walk back home. All that for 10 cents.

Last week I got a new idea to let the bottles accumulate first before returning together. But yesterday when I saw the amount of empty bottles sitting in my car I decided that I've had enough of this nonsense. It's just not worth it.

It mean the scheme is working ... to make it difficult for average joe who still need to work and juggle with family life ..etc. A non return mean a additional income to the gov. 😂.

This only suitable for boomers and retirees with a lot of time to burn and nothing to do.

Nuclear Boy

Get your own bottle, fill with your own drink. Settled. :)

Don't have to worry about this stupid scheme anymore.

Travis_Touchdown

moi juz see whether moi wanna limz or notch... if wanna limz then juz return to get back moi $ rohz... sho simpurz... :s22::frown:

NightGhost

It like a scam
Can imagine if buy 10 kena charge 1 dollar bo tai bo chi lost money. 1 month can lose how many sia just to pay extra.
If wan they supposed not charge extra but as a incentive to give.

Prof. Utonium

Till date, the cans I had purchased are not eligible for the refund yet I am still charged for it.

The_Davis

I was doing some quick maths and realise the effort to keep the stupid bottles and finding the stupid machine is not worth it at all unless you return like 20-30 bottles at a time.

Let's say you return 10 bottles at a time and your nearest return station is 5 minutes from your house. You get 1 dollar for 10mins of effort. Means your effective pay is a derisory $6 per hour.

In reality, most people aren't going to be returning so many at a time, so the hourly rate is realistically less.

This whole thing is a joke and is literally making life worse for people who were already recycling before this scheme for no good reason.

I work in a restricted area with no brcs return points. Last time I buy drink from vending machine, I just throw it in the recycling bin when I'm done. Now if I do the same, I am throwing 10 cents away. If I want my 10cents back, I have to hold on to the drink till the end of the day, bring it with me all the way to the carpark (a 15min walk btw), drive home, and walk to the nearest return point near my home, then walk back home. All that for 10 cents.

Last week I got a new idea to let the bottles accumulate first before returning together. But yesterday when I saw the amount of empty bottles sitting in my car I decided that I've had enough of this nonsense. It's just not worth it.
Hey, you forgot about the part
- need to wash
- dry

then can put in the machine

lifeafter41

Use car to do bcrs………
Your time, petrol and parking cost even more.
Tsk tsk tsk………….

The_Davis

That when jealous people take your photos with your 10,000 bottles/cans and put up online.

bcrs-recycling-containers.jpg
How they get so many bottles/cans?

TLCTLC88

Thank god I prefer my drinking bottle. No such nonsense to deal with as i already have too many on my plate.

Whimsica

We know most people will at some point treat the 10 cents as extra costs.

Like the 5 cents supermarket plastic bag.

Like the 20-50 cents tabao container charges.

NintendoSwitch

Your towgay thanks you for funding new GCBs cum sportscars cum siao san. Keep on sarpok.
269228c7-5104-4deb-a0de-15d5a168d873_ed2458dc.jpg

Aion99

If enough people boycott this, they might eventually cancel this stupid BCRS. We still need more videos from netizens to promote the anti-BCRS movement. The cost of continuing BCRS is simply too high for the public, manufacturers, and retailers.

Asphodeli

T

TS why u nv transfer to thermos flask then bring the flask to your site? like that you can keep your bottles at home then you can return?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.