DIY PC with 3k budget

kurui_

X99 + i7 6800k:

Intel Boxed Core i7 6800K Processor for S$428 http://carousell.com/p/82607750

Better check with him, not sure how he got it at $428.

ASRock X99 Taichi (Intel® X99 Chipset) for S$420
http://carousell.com/p/66569326

If true, total cost for x99 will be $848.

Z270 + i7 7700k:

ASUS Z270 E Gaming + i7-7700K. 3 Years Local Warranty. "Rogue ONE Rebels New Year 23-25 Jan 2017 Crazy Sales. last day 25 JAN" Hurry !!" for S$856
http://carousell.com/p/86053647

Total cost: $856

singupingu

Your gpu cannot fit the case FYI. Lol. 325mm length while the case have 315mm clearance with front fan mounted. Even lesser after mounting the aio cooler radiator at the front. An alternative to that gpu is Palit Super Jetstream GTX1070. Despite only 2 fans, I read somewhere (can't recall) that it still cool very very well and won't lose to the zotac amp extreme (which uses inferior thermal paste).

Speaking of aio cooler radiator, it's recommended to front mount more than top mount. You can find on YouTube regarding this. Raising only about 1-2 deg C overall temp, your cpu temp will be 5-10 deg C cooler setting up this way.

Your system will have 4 fans. 2 from the case, 2 from the aio cooler. 2 in 2 out is enough imo. So I don't think you will need extra airflow fans.

Sent from Overpowered Phone Mark III using GAGT

kensou

X99 + i7 6800k:

Intel Boxed Core i7 6800K Processor for S$428 http://carousell.com/p/82607750

Better check with him, not sure how he got it at $428.

ASRock X99 Taichi (Intel® X99 Chipset) for S$420
http://carousell.com/p/66569326

If true, total cost for x99 will be $848.

Z270 + i7 7700k:

ASUS Z270 E Gaming + i7-7700K. 3 Years Local Warranty. "Rogue ONE Rebels New Year 23-25 Jan 2017 Crazy Sales. last day 25 JAN" Hurry !!" for S$856
http://carousell.com/p/86053647

Total cost: $856

Hmm, carousell ah.. I not too sure leh, got once kena scam I very scared alr. Most likely I will go to PCThemes to settle everything once and for all.. easier and safer and maybe they will give me additional recommendation/suggestion

Your gpu cannot fit the case FYI. Lol. 325mm length while the case have 315mm clearance with front fan mounted. Even lesser after mounting the aio cooler radiator at the front. An alternative to that gpu is Palit Super Jetstream GTX1070. Despite only 2 fans, I read somewhere (can't recall) that it still cool very very well and won't lose to the zotac amp extreme (which uses inferior thermal paste).

Speaking of aio cooler radiator, it's recommended to front mount more than top mount. You can find on YouTube regarding this. Raising only about 1-2 deg C overall temp, your cpu temp will be 5-10 deg C cooler setting up this way.

Your system will have 4 fans. 2 from the case, 2 from the aio cooler. 2 in 2 out is enough imo. So I don't think you will need extra airflow fans.

Which aio cooler radiator would you recommend? The one currently I have on the list? Thanks for telling me it won't fit! I didn't think of the size hahaha!

kurui_

Hmm, carousell ah.. I not too sure leh, got once kena scam I very scared alr. Most likely I will go to PCThemes to settle everything once and for all.. easier and safer and maybe they will give me additional recommendation/suggestion

Which aio cooler radiator would you recommend? The one currently I have on the list? Thanks for telling me it won't fit! I didn't think of the size hahaha!

Okie man, pctheme more reputable and they give advice for newbie builders like you and me :s13:

What happened? How they scam you man?
So far my experience still ok, but still check things when meet up to make sure. Ok than pay

kensou

Okie man, pctheme more reputable and they give advice for newbie builders like you and me :s13:

What happened? How they scam you man?
So far my experience still ok, but still check things when meet up to make sure. Ok than pay

haha, i was purchasing ram off the person and I decided to trust him and transfer him the money and ask him to mail me instead. That's how I got scam.

shadow84

Qoo10 sellers that i trust and would usually self collect in SLS: Video pro, Cybermind, VII Gamer Shop, Case Specialist, Fuwell, Asus Official Computer.

Lazada sellers that i trust and delivery should not be an issue: convergent, corbell, pc theme, tech dynamic

kurui_

haha, i was purchasing ram off the person and I decided to trust him and transfer him the money and ask him to mail me instead. That's how I got scam.

Ohh, sucks man.. some of them do have physical shops. Can go down check liao than pay.

But than need to run a few places rather than buy all in one place.

singupingu

The one at your list is fine since you don't do very heavy oc. (unless you wanna do the mainstream kabylake oc to 5ghz @ 1.42vcore)

Personally think corsair is fine since they are reputable, but some users who prefer silent pc says the fans and pump noisy. So it's personal preference and how sensitive you are to pc noise.

Personal favorite is NZXT X52 or X62. Super nice looking (looks > performance, but this cooler is really good as well according to reviews) at a price.

kensou

The one at your list is fine since you don't do very heavy oc. (unless you wanna do the mainstream kabylake oc to 5ghz @ 1.42vcore)

Personally think corsair is fine since they are reputable, but some users who prefer silent pc says the fans and pump noisy. So it's personal preference and how sensitive you are to pc noise.

Personal favorite is NZXT X52 or X62. Super nice looking (looks > performance, but this cooler is really good as well according to reviews) at a price.

Oh my NZXT X52/X62 so pretty!! But I check PCThemes pricelist dun have leh.. :(

singupingu

Oh my NZXT X52/X62 so pretty!! But I check PCThemes pricelist dun have leh.. :(
Your second best bet would be corsair h100i v2 liao if you really wanna get from pc theme. Rgb also though :) otherwise you need to go buy from t258jgn before heading to pc theme.

P. S. Don't check out G.Skill Trident Z RGB ram :s13:

kensou

Current updates with suggestion. Will make the purchase after my RAM is here, so I can have ample time to sit and think about it

CPU
Asus Z270E Gaming + i7-7700k - $871 (I chose this to do some O.C, but not to the extremity)

RAM
CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2400MHZ CL14 ( 16GBx2pcs ) - $270 (From Amazon) Purchase done! (Delivered btwn Feb17-Mar1). Oh gosh!

GPU
PALIT GTX 1070 8GB SUPER JETSTREAM - $688 (Keeping this within budget)

SSD HDD
Samsung EVO 850 M.2 500GB SSD - $259 (I will still go with this, thanks for @ethan89 suggestion)
Toshiba 4TB 7200RPM x2 - $190 ($380)

PSU
SF LEADEX 750w GOLD F.MOD - $179 (At least 2 ppl suggested this brand, i think i will go with the 750W, was intending 850w in case I want do some crazy sh*t, but i think this should be good enough)

COOLER
SST-TD02-Lite - $120 (I have 0 clues on Coolers, so I just take the suggestion of @Pellegrino) (Cheap and good, although I would want NZXT Kraken X52 T_T)

CASING
FRACTAL DESIGN DEFINE C WINDOWS - $149 (Oh my this 1 look nice, thanks @singupingu suggestion, my CPU space max 19" cant fit Define S)

OTHERS
Cooler Fan (probably about 2) - $30-60
NZXT 120MM/140MM Airflow Fan

kensou

Hey bros ask you all, what do you all think of ID COOLING FROSTFLOW 240G?

If I use this, I have to unscrew my GPU fan to fix in the frostflow liquid cooling??

kensou

Meant for reference design card ley. Means founder edition card. After market cooler almost all are custom design pcb and may not be compatible

Oh... okay, I shall stick with td02-lite.. I went to do some research and comparing, seems like alot of good reviews on this. I shall keep it as it is, thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.