Do hospitals deduct money from credit card ...with just

feeltherain

an interim bill and not a final bill?

my sis was hospitalised and had a day surgery done.

interim bill emailed to her after 2nd day of discharge.

she did not make payment first as it is not the final bill (with medisave /medishield/ insurance) deduction. however, her card was deducted an amount different from the interim bill in the afternoon after she called to ask for the final bill in the morning yesterday.

in the beginning, my sis has set a limit to the bank deduction of $1000. As the bill is above the limit, the hospital called to tell her a deduction cannot be made.

my sis then reset the deduction limit. hospital fast hand fast leg deducted money from her credit card with no final bill and receipt.

is this correct? seeking opinions and advice.

theMKR

moi mom when to hospital as she no insurance, need to put deposit of 20+k b4 can do anything lor

kuti-kuti

moi mom when to hospital as she no insurance, need to put deposit of 20+k b4 can do anything lor
Huh? But got medisave mah? Usually so far i know, hospital, at least gov ones they dun discuss payment one mah. Help patients recover 1st.

RetroActive

so far is wait for the final bill come then make payment for outpatient...
for inpatient shd be also until final bill is out after it is sent to the insurer...

PsyClick

it’s Sop

scared later hard to retrieve money from you have to use legal Ah long
Don’t wry abt it

danny8x8

got liddat one meh? My previous experience was that I had to sign and undertake to pay the bill if her medisave is insufficient.

kuti-kuti

Last time on discharge day they just hand me the bill, say will deduct rom medisave. Went to pharmacy collect meds, they give the med bill u can dun pay also never mind one. Walk out they will mail u a reminder

EDMW-Hates-Me

it’s Sop

scared later hard to retrieve money from you have to use legal Ah long
Don’t wry abt it
I didn't pay a single cent before the surgery. Only got bill estimate. A few weeks after the surgery then they sent me the final bill.

feeltherain

so far is wait for the final bill come then make payment for outpatient...
for inpatient shd be also until final bill is out after it is sent to the insurer...
The thing is, when you get admitted, you need to give them the card details /payment details so they can deduct the deposit first

ctan84

Huh? But got medisave mah? Usually so far i know, hospital, at least gov ones they dun discuss payment one mah. Help patients recover 1st.
This isn't true. Prior to any procedure / warding even in a gahmen hospital, there's usually a financial counselling session which is to inform you of the estimated costs and what it entails.

kuti-kuti

This isn't true. Prior to any procedure / warding even in a gahmen hospital, there's usually a financial counselling session which is to inform you of the estimated costs and what it entails.
But they will still do surgery 1st even if got financial problem right? Sg is dun hold treatment if no money

ctan84

But they will still do surgery 1st even if got financial problem right? Sg is dun hold treatment if no money
Yes, they will save lives first. There's a medical social worker department in every gahmen hospital in sg to help with payment issues if you can't afford it after that.

888blancgmail

I think depend on the surgery cost, medisave, medishield, citizen, insurance etc.

They hv their own assessment. Maybe afraid of these few years of Covid-19, may hv bad debts.

They may require a deposit.

My ex-neighbour went for a big op few year ago.

His son had to pay a deposit 1st.

Final bill came n the bill was so complex.

I had to call their billing center to confirm no payment required as per my calculations.

The officer confirmed no need payment n excess will refund to Uncle bank acct.

I just feedback to the officer why dont indicate her statement in the final bill too so that I dont hv to call to confirm n wasted both our time. Lol...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.