The death of Singapore’s Pasar Malam culture: From Kampong spirit to corporate cash grab

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Do you think Singapore's Pasar Malam is overtaken by corporate greed and lost it's shine

• Total cash grab. It’s overpriced, copy-paste food, and the nostalgic vibe is completely dead.

Votes: 139 74.7%
  • Prices are high, but I’ll still visit once in a while just for a Ramly burger or a quick snack.

Votes: 24 12.9%
  • I stopped going entirely. It’s way better (and cheaper) to just eat at the kopitiams / Hawker

Votes: 71 38.2%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Ethan_

they ask ppl IN the pasar malam whether they will visit pasar malam?

anyway, the mother looks good sia
As always. One way of getting the results they want without appearing too obvious to the mostly non the wiser. Like the many so called surveys perhaps. :s22:

Apparatus

Long time no visit liao since so few stalls selling Chinese food

Not interested in fried, oily, spicy and high cholesterol food

Ethan_

Nope. No incentive.

If they are nearby my house, the most, I would go there to see if they have the $1 tea eggs for sale. Otherwise, nothing else are worth their price tag.
Think this kind of large scale one if near house or along the way still can go in look see. Got many things to see. But buy or not is another question liao. Most probably not. As nowadays these places tend are chop-carrot place. See see can liao.

But if neighbourhood those smaller scale one, think not much mood to go in see even. Expensive and nothing much to see. :s22:

mcylo

Haven step into local pasar malam for like 10 years. Not worth it.

I only go JB pasar malam. Infact, their pasar pagi is most worth it

DynamiteZerg

Nowadays always got pasar malam at HDB estates until nothing new liao. Always selling the same stuff that's unhealthy and now getting very expensive.

Last time go pasar malam is because it's cheap. Now more ex than hawker centre.

viethai

Thosedays YES cause its cheap cheap cheap
Thesedays, anything interesting ?

3G SAINT

overpriced and lousy food
Normally 夜市 the food seldom can find in normal food stall then such 夜市 will be different...;)

In the past we called fun fair:)

Mr.Chibaboom

Pasar malam these days no longer have the nostalgia like last time. Nowadays it’s catered to more towards the gen z unlike last time whereby there’s something for everyone.

( miss those days where pasar malam had those tikam tikam stalls , sold CDs VCDs and they play all the oldies , those stalls that do t shirt printing for $10 a shirt and the koyok man selling koyoks and those chinese 铁打酒)

Yuen123

Why

After my last time which was 2 or 3 or even more years ago?
I had severe food poisoning
So bad I thought of calling ambulance

Never went to any again

Could be food from other places but who's kidding who
Exactly the same reason why I stopped going to pasar malam.
Expensive food and later need to spend more to see doctor.
With the stall owners paying so much for the few days' rental, how can the food be cheap?
https://dollarsandsense.sg/business/pasar-malam-price-guide-how-much-does-it-cost-to-rent-a-stall/
Have to cut corners to stay profitable.
Become worse for them if it rains and nobody come.

Mr Totoro 38

pasar malam has lost it original purpose....
they are having ripoff price now...

what for going...and waste time there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.