Drill wall or 3M tape wall?

ksapple

If drill wall, next time can plaster and paint, small area.
Pro:
Can hold heavier weight

Con:
wall gt hole

If 3M tape it
Pro:
No hole (but paint still may peel)

Con:
max 2Kg

which is better leh?

BaChorMee

Depends how heavy is the object you want to hang. If have drill, best is to drill. Stronger and definitely cheaper than 3M strong tape

EveMuffins

last time I use 3M tape then when I peel off..the plaster and paint came off :s27:

Phases

If drill wall, next time can plaster and paint, small area.
Pro:
Can hold heavier weight
Con:
wall gt hole
If 3M tape it
Pro:
No hole (but paint still may peel)
Con:
max 2Kg
which is better leh?

3m command

ksapple

depends on what u put

Depends how heavy is the object you want to hang. If have drill, best is to drill. Stronger and definitely cheaper than 3M strong tape

Still dunno wat to put lol, it is to cover us a hole that a double sided tape caused. Most likely put some toys / painting/photos and action figure

i use liquid nails

This is destructive wor worst than drill, i try it on my cctv and GG, now i dun even noe how to remove it. too strong liao

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Still dunno wat to put lol, it is to cover us a hole that a double sided tape caused. Most likely put some toys / painting/photos and action figure
then i think u want to put things then decide

leonaheidern

for my blinds motor that need to lift a 2.6 m long blind and the wall just happens to be a metal structural beam I drill just below the beam and put it 3m vhb tape over the hole then screw in the holder to the wall

seems to be holding steady that way

glarerder

This is destructive wor worst than drill, i try it on my cctv and GG, now i dun even noe how to remove it. too strong liao
afterall its for permanent fixture. good for fixing cracks also. if want something which can be removed, then shouldn't stick anything heavy on the wall. just use pedestal and put in front of the wall can riao.

for electronics, stick the brackets instead of sticking the cctv to the wall directly. spoil riao still can take out from the bracket and replace with new cctv

ksapple

looks like i am drilling my wall.

Any shop recommend for floating shelf? or can getting a plank of solid wood ??

45-60 cm (L) x 15-25 cm (w)

testerjp

If you use those tape that can hold super well, like epoxy, VHB, or whatever.
When you remove, there's a high chance that the plaster, or coats of wall peeling off and cause ugly marks.
Then clean adhesive off with alcohol may also rub away the paint.
Even if you manage to remove without damaging the wall, the paint may look different because that covered part is not exposed to oxidation or UV as much, most likely will create a patch and you will need to repaint.

So I will definitely recommend to just drill.
When you no longer need that hole, you just cover back with putty and file off.
Only problem is must paint back.
But you can also reuse the hole for other purpose or cover it with other fixtures. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.