Enquiry on infraction

fsg316

Hi Admin/Mods,

I would like to make an enquiry on this:

Hisashiburi said:
Dear fsg316,

You have received an infraction at www.hardwarezone.com.sg.

Reason: Posting Racist/Discriminatory Comments
-------
This is quite a racist comment.
Will get you fired too if you posted it in a company email in the USA( as you well know) so dont do it here.
-------

This infraction is worth 3 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.

Original Post:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...ated-5462756-post103704725.html#post103704725
i try to hang out with others in my new found land ~

but everyone calls me chinkie and siam me

:sad:

:(

That's because chiu look and act like a typical *********** chinkie. :(

All the best,
www.hardwarezone.com.sg

I am a Chinese and so is Nyvrem, so no racism here. This comment was directed at him in jest like we always do to each other.

I have confirmed with Nyvrem that he did not report me and he even feels that this is silly.

nyvrem said:
wtf no

LMAO

who report u sia

PLease look into this.

fsg316

Another enquiry that I want to make:

Hisashiburi said:
Dear fsg316,

You have received an infraction at www.hardwarezone.com.sg.

Reason: Inappropriate Language / Insulted Other (s)
-------
Pls dont post insulting posts.

tks
-------

This infraction is worth 3 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.

Original Post:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...ated-5462756-post103704702.html#post103704702
Your summary really jin ho ****

Very accurate

Many use cheap food as example. Thats because they eat those dishes during their teenage years

But when u become adult, u sure u want to spend ur whole life eating only hawker/food court?

Amdk country got wholefoods, organic, meat and fish very fresh, fruits also jin song, veg also extra big and nice. Cheaper than COMPARABLE items in sg

Why u think amdk mostly fit and/or strong? Chiu all can continue eat ur hawker food.. Not cheap if u know what the INGREDIENTS are..

Ok mah, sinkies love their carb and sugar rich hawker food. Like pigs and swill. :s22:

All the best,
www.hardwarezone.com.sg

This is an analogy, not directed to the poster personally.

How is this inappropriate language???

Hisashiburi

As mentioned before, Racist language of any sort is not tolerated at all.

Insulting language, comparing one group of people to another is also very inappropriate.

If you want to joke with each other, do it via your PM and not in a public forum for the world to see.

This is not your first offense and often your posts are borderline insulting. Please refrain from such posts.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Read through the whole thread and understand the context.

Infractions reversed as no malice found were found throughout the whole thread.

But do take note of your choice of words moving forward.

fsg316

Read through the whole thread and understand the context.

Infractions reversed as no malice found were found throughout the whole thread.

But do take note of your choice of words moving forward.

Thanks for your time Boss.

fsg316

As mentioned before, Racist language of any sort is not tolerated at all.

I am sure you are moderating in good faith. Therefore I will address your post seriously so that we can move on from here.

Based on your comment in your infraction:

This is quite a racist comment.
Will get you fired too if you posted it in a company email in the USA( as you well know) so dont do it here.

As Boss has advised, I'll watch my choice of words.

But my two cents to you:

1. EDMW is not a company email server. If that was the case, you can shut down EDMW because I can tell you that 99% of the content is not appropriate or professional to be sent over through email to a colleague

2. I understand that you live in Seattle. Good for you. I live in the Midwest. I'm sure you know the difference between American social norms and Singaporean social norms. Just a friendly reminder that this is a Singaporean forum full of mostly Singaporeans. My expectation is that the standard of Singaporean social norms be applied.

Because if you are applying the American Political Correctness (PC) standard, I would like to remind you that words like "Jap", "Oriental", "Chinaman" are racist in the US, but not SIngapore. There are other parts of the AMerican PC standard that completely contradict the official policy of the SIngapore government.

Even in the US, if a black (even this term is considered inappropriate by some) person were to refer to himself or another black as "******", it's considered rude but not racist. I believe you should know this.

Our culture is more relaxed compared to the American PC standard, as long as there is no malice or crossing boundaries of insulting a religion or inciting racial hatred.

Insulting language, comparing one group of people to another is also very inappropriate.

If you want to joke with each other, do it via your PM and not in a public forum for the world to see.

Comparing people with pigs is pretty common in the English language. It can be used as an analogy for laziness or plain messiness, or disgusting behavior. Nothing insulting or with malice here.

Now if I were to stir a thread about religions that consider pigs dirty and I use pigs, I agree that would be more inappropriate.

This is not your first offense
Agreed. I agree with the infraction I received months ago, that's why I didn't bother to challenge it or complain.

and often your posts are borderline insulting. Please refrain from such posts.

Boss has drawn a very clear line in the sand about what is insulting. I read this feedback forum occasionally to get an idea.

To me, if you are a moderator, I understand that you have to decide if something is insulting or not insulting.

"Borderline insulting" essentially == Not insulting but I feel offended and feelings are hurt.

I'm sure this is not personal and you don't mean it this way, but this is the impression I get from your statement.

If the speed limit is 70km/h and I am driving right at 70km/h, am I borderline speeding or not? It's either speeding or not speeding.

Have a nice day!:s22::)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.