FIRE (Financial Independence, Retire Early) Movement

radioshack

How many of you are aggressively saving and increasing your investment AUM, so that it reaches a point when your passive recurring income is enough to substain your lifestyle?

jack-320

Reach FI first, RE will come soon

Then again earn more; spend minimial, reinvest the rest

Good luck all

kcarrey

where to invest?

How many of you are aggressively saving and increasing your investment AUM, so that it reaches a point when your passive recurring income is enough to substain your lifestyle?

rstopel

I did when I was in my 30's but then realized that staying home with kids and wife is worse than work soooo...now work to add second home for myself only (man cave).

Posted from PCWX using Mi A3

Wishdom

I did when I was in my 30's but then realized that staying home with kids and wife is worse than work soooo...now work to add second home for myself only (man cave).

What if you weren't married?

Sent from Ilovennp using GAGT

SKenny

Kenny, what’s your AUM? :o ok to share!

Paisleh to share the total amount lah. Let's say I have sufficient to maintain my pre retirement lifestyle all throughout my retirement.

However I gpgt part of it, which is the balance in my CPF. Small amount only hor.

coyote

My passive income surpassed my expenses many years back, then I've gotten married, financial freedom got pushed out by couple of years, then come my first son, then it got push out by 18 years, then come my second son, retirement pushed out by another 2 years, then comes covid-19, then I have to start all over again.

LPPLKPKB

My passive income surpassed my expenses many years back, then I've gotten married, financial freedom got pushed out by couple of years, then come my first son, then it got push out by 18 years, then come my second son, retirement pushed out by another 2 years, then comes covid-19, then I have to start all over again.

It means you never really achieved financial independent in the first place.

rstopel

What if you weren't married?

Sent from Ilovennp using GAGT

That might work better. Each situation has it's pro and cons. I think for me retirement with someone who is fin and most importantly emotionally independent would be best. It's a bonus if you share common interests.
Retire without partner can but a bit lonely for me. Not really the flirtybtype like changing girls like underwear

focus1974

The only way to FIRE is to buy a HDB BTO and then pay it off...
then buy another property and pay it off.

Done.. No need think too much about stocks or other investments.

Most people cannot make money from stocks one..

Chopin

28yo, hoping to hit 100k by end of year, exclude cpf

Sent from your gf phone using GAGT

apriliasiao

i don't believe in fire as it will involve in putting all your investment into either high yielding securities or junk bonds in order to gain enough payout to sustain your lifestyle. Too much risk premium if you ask me.
I prefer having a balanced portfolio investing into different markets and assets.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.