First time in phuket...

d3n

Thanks for you reply.

Is September consider low season ?

Should i book from http://www.phukettoursdirect.comhttp:// ??

I read online some said its better to book when u are at phuket. Cheaper if its at low season ..

Anyone book through phuket tour direct before? How's the exp?

did u check out groupon deals for tour?

i go for phgan bay tour for $49 groupon deal. quite good experience.

genie47

Thanks for you reply.

Is September consider low season ?

Should i book from http://www.phukettoursdirect.comhttp:// ??

I read online some said its better to book when u are at phuket. Cheaper if its at low season ..

Anyone book through phuket tour direct before? How's the exp?

Any time of the year outside of Nov-Feb is low for Phuket. That is why the prices are depressed and you see so many offers.

There is rain mostly in Sep. So you better get your wet weather plans up. Usually this involves spending time in the spa for adults and some indoor kids club for the young ones.

mydestiny

anyone tried flying SG- Phuket, take boat/car to Krabi on your own then fly from Krabi back to SG?

If not I'm thinking to stay 2 nights in Patong and 2 nites in other beaches, which is the next nicer beach other then Patong? Thks!

Frederick84

haven seen anyone riding in opposite direction. dun really see ppl drive past red light. just be alert loh.

i didn't have much time to search for petrol stn... i reach airport quite late so quickly settle my car and check in just in case i miss my flight home :s13: but i recall my GPS says nearest petrol stn is 8km away... but not sure accurate or not. u can google for any nearby petrol stn prior to that.

some motorbikes ride on opposite direction because of central divider, lazy to go and u-turn, it is very common.

traffic lights always got follow one. unless, some junction traffic lights only operate in day time, at night they will turn off.

ppl drive slowly there, very friendly and will give way to you when u change lane.

i dun see much jam... usually is traffic light slow (like malaysia).

very easy to find parking... and parking is almost free everywhere except malls.

but alot of up slope and down slope and sharp bends to take note of.

sounds good haha.. I tryin to get quote from avis and hertz.. end up hertz immediately email me and say deal secured lol.. which company better ar ??

you guys got buy the insurance ?? Super Collision Damage Waiver (SCDW) ?? Theft Protection ?? Personal Accident Insurance ??

need to buy ma ?? and also buy ntuc insurance for 4 days 3 nights enough ma ?? haha

d3n

sounds good haha.. I tryin to get quote from avis and hertz.. end up hertz immediately email me and say deal secured lol.. which company better ar ??

you guys got buy the insurance ?? Super Collision Damage Waiver (SCDW) ?? Theft Protection ?? Personal Accident Insurance ??

need to buy ma ?? and also buy ntuc insurance for 4 days 3 nights enough ma ?? haha

i got buy SCDW... so in the event if any accidents, i dun need to pay for any excess.

also bought NTUC insurance so can cover myself up to $1500 on car rental.

i can't rent hertz cos i still p plate haha... actually Avis dun allow p plate also but the person never check :x

genie47

Seems like i have book the worst month of the year to go phuket :(

Not worst month. Depends if you are resourceful or not. Definitely no beach or seagoing action during this time. Phang-Nga Bay is very well sheltered so you can try your luck for some sea canoe tours.

Like I said. Prices are depressed. You can save a bundle if you are not deterred. This includes accommodation, car rentals and even tours. You go during the peak, it is crowded with farangs, high prices on everything.

Lonelyoldman

Not worst month. Depends if you are resourceful or not. Definitely no beach or seagoing action during this time. Phang-Nga Bay is very well sheltered so you can try your luck for some sea canoe tours.

Like I said. Prices are depressed. You can save a bundle if you are not deterred. This includes accommodation, car rentals and even tours. You go during the peak, it is crowded with farangs, high prices on everything.

Thanks for the encouragement .

Nevertheless will enjoy the fullest since i already book the flight tickets . Some more I got a good price .

Anyone have a iterineary for 5 days 4 night ?

d3n

Thanks for the encouragement .

Nevertheless will enjoy the fullest since i already book the flight tickets . Some more I got a good price .

Anyone have a iterineary for 5 days 4 night ?

if u are renting car / bike... u can explore different areas of phuket (patong, karon, etc) but if no transport... i advise u to stick to 1-2 areas cos transportation from one area to another not cheap.

here's roughly my itinerary last june:

day 1 - spend evening at central festival mall (we arrive late in the afternoon)
day 2 - explore scenic sights near cape panwa area, karon, prompthep cape, try mu mor dong seafood
day 3 - explore patong area, visit jungceylon mall, try no6 restaurant
day 4 - island tour at phgan bay
day 5 - explore kamala beach area, visit the tsunami memorial, nua at resort
day 6 - home sweet home

LearnIT

You all got apply this International driving permit Bo?

Also which car rent company deliver to Rawai/Nai Harn area right in front of yr house?

I'm staying at Two Villas Holidays

d3n

You all got apply this International driving permit Bo?

Also which car rent company deliver to Rawai/Nai Harn area right in front of yr house?

I'm staying at Two Villas Holidays

SG driving license can liao.

why not pickup car at airport and return at airport? save the hassle.. :D

there is AVIS/Hertz/Budget counter at the airport.

genie47

Like the d3n said, get the rental at the airport and return the rental at the airport. The taxi there is some kind of mafia. Even the hotels also scared of them. You know lah, all that corruption going on. Even the police cannot do much.

Best rent the car. Make sure got all the insurance spelt out. If kenna bang, let rental company take care. Also make sure you got good travel insurance to cover that as well.

LearnIT

Like the d3n said, get the rental at the airport and return the rental at the airport. The taxi there is some kind of mafia. Even the hotels also scared of them. You know lah, all that corruption going on. Even the police cannot do much.

Best rent the car. Make sure got all the insurance spelt out. If kenna bang, let rental company take care. Also make sure you got good travel insurance to cover that as well.

I also heard of this taxi mafia thing.

I paid for transfer from/to airport aldy so I can't rent at airport :(.

Hope got company that can deliver car to my villa becoz I'll be driving for two days in between my 5 days stays

d3n

I also heard of this taxi mafia thing.

I paid for transfer from/to airport aldy so I can't rent at airport :(.

Hope got company that can deliver car to my villa becoz I'll be driving for two days in between my 5 days stays

very difficult cos most car rental companies have designated pickup and dropoff locations.

unless u go to those small local companies but careful they pattern many.

Lonelyoldman

very difficult cos most car rental companies have designated pickup and dropoff locations.

unless u go to those small local companies but careful they pattern many.

Worth considering to book a car in Phuket .. Est how much per day ?

And for tours , it will definitely be better to book at Phuket !

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.