First timer driving into JB

PaulLevesque

Hey guys, my friend and I intent to drive into JB for the first time. Are there any useful advices that I can get fro the old birds here, who frequently drive to JB? What are the things to bring, things to take note of and the dos and don't when driving in.

Are we able to drive a rented Hyundai GetZ or a Vios into msia? I heard its safer to drive korean/japanese car in than to drive an intercontinental car. Any advices on this also? Thanks alot !!

OKCANN

Hey guys, my friend and I intent to drive into JB for the first time. Are there any useful advices that I can get fro the old birds here, who frequently drive to JB? What are the things to bring, things to take note of and the dos and don't when driving in.

Are we able to drive a rented Hyundai GetZ or a Vios into msia? I heard its safer to drive korean/japanese car in than to drive an intercontinental car. Any advices on this also? Thanks alot !!

If you going rent a car and drive into JB you have to pay them much more. If you lose the car, ho seh liao. Best to park at shopping centres not on main road unless you can see your car from where you are. Get the malaysia cash card too. If dont have go to first lane at malaysia checkpoint to purchase one.

EightTales

wear more lok kok. no kidding. just wear and dress how the typical malaysian does.. maybe a polo t or tee shirt with berms and slippers or sneakers since you guys are driving.

park head in, steering sar ka liao to either direction. makes it harder for the thieves to tow your car

must declare to rental company if you guys are going across the border. try to rent from the more reputable companies. pay more nevermind. at least they will be honest if **** happens while you guys are overseas (touch wood)

croc1977

wear more lok kok. no kidding. just wear and dress how the typical malaysian does.. maybe a polo t or tee shirt with berms and slippers or sneakers since you guys are driving.

park head in, steering sar ka liao to either direction. makes it harder for the thieves to tow your car

must declare to rental company if you guys are going across the border. try to rent from the more reputable companies. pay more nevermind. at least they will be honest if **** happens while you guys are overseas (touch wood)
Singapore Seen | Wallet and $200 device stolen after S'pore car gets broken into at KSL City Mall in JB

don't be tupid leave wallet in the car...u are asking for trouble

croc1977

when kanna cut lane from my cars....accept it...don't show middle finger and high beam....that's not your country....

superman

Plan your route in advance, better have a gps, malaysian roads are sometimes without proper road signs and you can get lost. Get ready for long Traffic Jams at the causeway especially after they tighten the security after the 4 customs incident.

EightTales

Yup, passport too. Carry it on your person.

Even GPS system also. If its those add-on type that you have to stick onto the windscreen, keep it out of sight when you are gonna leave the car.

Don't just keep the GPS itself, keep the stand also if not its a giveaway that there's a GPS system in your car

when kanna cut lane from my cars....accept it...don't show middle finger and high beam....that's not your country....

This too. Happened to my dad when he was younger. My parents drove in and this car cut in front of my dad's car so my dad horned.

The other car saw that it was a SG-registered car that horned him, and since it was CNY, he started throwing mandarin oranges that he just bought at it :s13:

Thankfully the windscreen didn't break so they remained relatively safe.

So just suck it up and move on when other cars cut into your lane or what..

gentoro

Go giant buy a hook handle lock, $10+ only. Also i let my car becme very dirty b4 gg in. :D they have 2nd thought when come to target my car.

WestGuy

My advice is.....don't even start going in. Way too many robberies, car thefts etc

kendoarts

Plan your route in advance, better have a gps, malaysian roads are sometimes without proper road signs and you can get lost. Get ready for long Traffic Jams at the causeway especially after they tighten the security after the 4 customs incident.

And remember to keep your GPS after your park. Keep your belongings all inside the car boot.

mypillowtalks

You will need a "touch n go" card to pay the toll located at every counter after stamping your passport.

If you do not have one, you can buy one at most of the "counter 10" of the passport stamping counter. Look out for the word "tambah nilai & taxi" or sth. There will be one person sitting inside the booth selling the card

Total cost is RM25(RM15 for card n RM10 value or vice versa).

If going in by woodlands, when exiting the custom building, keep on keeping right to go to the "shell petrol station", if u keep left u will end up going to expressway. That way is good if u want to skip a few traffic lights when going to places like tampoi, kota tinggi, and link to other places.

After reaching the shell petrol kiosk, u can go jb by following middle-left lane, it will lead u to a junction below the expressway bridge, keep middle lane and turn right to go places like taman sentosa, shun li hua yuan, KSL etc. The rightest lane is for uturn

the famous bakutteh is at taman sentosa. From junction turn right, then keep go straight. There will be a junction to do a right turn, spot a shop name tian tein lai restaurant on the opposite side of shophouses. That is where u turn in. After turing in, turn left and go straight, u will pass a very small bridge which a long kang underneath. From there look on ur left for the bak kut teh restoran.

From the junction near the shell station turn left can go city square, the jalan wong ah fook or sth.

Panzerf

You need to be able to 1 fight 10, if not better dun go in. Wait get robbed and gang raped then how?

PaulLevesque

Wow it seems like there are many thing I have to take note of ! Do i need to lock my steering wheel? And if i need to stop for petrol/toilet break/misc, what are the things i need to take note of? And can someone explain the kopi money thing to me? I heard they will do funny things to ask you for it

LameEntertainer

No need everything so scare lah. Just treat it like SG, just that u need to exercise more precaution.

Hardest car to steal is probably those merc and bmw, so u wanna drive those conti cars in? Jap and korean car very easy to steal.

Those who drive in there regularly will realise jb isnt that jia lat lah...

dreamer_toons

I drive a Korean sedan and these are the precautions I take when I drive in.

1. Keep my valuables; cashcard, touch n go card, gps including the mounting and bags out of sight after parking the car. I always bring my passport along with me wherever I go.

2. Remove the ERP cover so that it is a plain view that there is no cashcard inserted.

3. If I want to keep your bags/valuables in the boot, I do so even before I reach my destination and park. In other words, I don't transfer my bags/valuables from the back seat to the boot after I have parked and leave the car. Doing so is like telling others that I have valuables in my car boot. You never know people may be in the vicinity looking out for such things.

4. If possible, park at well-lit area with human traffic or you have a view from where you are, this may not be always possible.

5. Be vary of people around your car when you are approaching/boarding.

6. I will lock the car doors immediately after I board the car. My car windows are always up while on the move. I had heard about how a bag could be snatched from the car seat because the car was held at the traffic junction with the windows down, the snatch thieves stopped beside the car and snatched the bag from the back seat through the open window and off they go.

Some of my friends invest in the steering locks.

I have also heard of people locking their cars manually instead of using remote because they are worry about the signals being intercepted and duplicated.

Most important, ensure your rental company allows you to drive the rental car across the border so that you have a valid insurance.

My advice is need not be overly-paranoid. Use your good sense and remain humble in your driving and you should be fine.

Enjoy your road trip.

PaulLevesque

Alright, thanks for all the help. If there are any more
Advices, I'd love to hearthem. And brw what's with the kopi money? And why are intercontinental cars harder to steal? Shouldnt it be valuable compared to korea/jap cars?

ceecookie

Remember to pump petrol until the brim and shake ur car to squeeze even more inside. Max ur savings on cheap petrol

biodraft

my #1 advice is, if you scared this scared that, DONT GO IN, singapore is alot safer.

rest of the stuff, the rest already mentioned. lastly, when you eat/see cheap stuff, dont say things like "wah knn sibei cheap leh!! buy more!!!". dont spoil our own market, if not next time they gonna up price.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.