Flickering fluorescent lights

randomph

Sian, my bedroom light is playing an April fool’s joke on me. Now when I switch it on it’s flickering non stop. Yesterday still ok.
Wondering if it’s the fluorescent light tube or the ballast that needs replacing. Thinking just changing to LED sua. Any expert edmwer can advise how to DIY

KPO_SAHM

I am a home maker and I do most of the repair works in my house.
Ur case Very simple just dismental the other tubing from another room to try on the flicking housing , if tube flickers , meaning ballast is faulty lor.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
check to see if there's a burnt end at either side of the fl lamp
if there is, replace w/a new one

if not, change a new starter
rather u cont to use a fl lamp than a led

latter quite mafan to change it, the next time round

Krabs.

Sian, my bedroom light is playing an April fool’s joke on me. Now when I switch it on it’s flickering non stop. Yesterday still ok.
Wondering if it’s the fluorescent light tube or the ballast that needs replacing. Thinking just changing to LED sua. Any expert edmwer can advise how to DIY
if your casing is those circular type
buy the 36 to 40watt LED kit with magnet attachment .... online is about $5 for better quality ... $3 for bad quality ...... same thing on neighbourhood retail shop is 17.90

don't get lower wattage 20-24watt because LED frequent use every night will visible dim about 10-15% per year ... u need a bigger headroom for it to lower downwards

off the power , wear gloves , get a plyer to unscrew and tear out the plastic and thin metal pieces
put the magnet kit up and connect 2 wires .... i forgot which color is which
use the traditional wire attachment thing with 4 screws .... don't use the new type with push clip ... that one can loosen and mistaken as lamp spoil , mine loosen in 1 week

for my own installation I always remove the magnet and the transparent plastic light-spreader because I think that plastic layer trap heat dissipation
removal of the plastic means the magnet holder will need something to reattach for the new difference in thickness , like slide in a toothpick or cut a plastic o-ring washer or just let the screw loose fit ... this is simple modification that isn't critical or safety related ..... the whole thing is lightweight you can easily modify the magnet attachment
sometimes the magnet holder is metallic and clip onto the transparent plastic layer ... I guess it's using the plastic as insulator so the led aluminium plate doesn't contact the metal casing of the ceiling light .... then I take the time to cut plastic make O-ring make up for the thickness ..... lazy method like thick double sided tape can work as O-ring insulator material

wongminmin

don't think is starter, starter just to ignite the fluorescent. if spoil, totally cannot light up
ballast is hard to spoil
fluorescent got 1 black ring, most likely spoilt

Alternative, u can interchange the fluorescent to find the root.

starter u need to go hardware shop or shopee to buy.

weiess

More than half of the lighting shops don't carry this anymore.
rast time i bought a whole box.. keep as spare...
go those abc shop or neighbourhood provision shop.. should have..

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
fl lamp more direct replacement & easy remedy if faulty
led lamp when changing it, really can give u the neck cramps :s22:

yuri2

look at the FL tube near the ends, if got black ring, means need to change. It's EOL

You can convert FL light to LED, sort of. You just rip out everything and put a E27 socket, then a LED. I did this for my fan light.

coern

LED when spoil also will flicker one...

wongkc

I am a home maker and I do most of the repair works in my house.
Ur case Very simple just dismental the other tubing from another room to try on the flicking housing , if tube flickers , meaning ballast is faulty lor.

Why not take this flickering tube to test on another working housing to try instead?

If ballast is faulty… there is a chance that every new tube you put in will spoil also… so dun waste a good tube to test for a suspected faulty ballast…

PikaPika33

take the tube out and scold
than say keep flickering will give it a chop

LoneTraveller

if your casing is those circular type
buy the 36 to 40watt LED kit with magnet attachment .... online is about $5 for better quality ... $3 for bad quality ...... same thing on neighbourhood retail shop is 17.90

don't get lower wattage 20-24watt because LED frequent use every night will visible dim about 10-15% per year ... u need a bigger headroom for it to lower downwards

off the power , wear gloves , get a plyer to unscrew and tear out the plastic and thin metal pieces
put the magnet kit up and connect 2 wires .... i forgot which color is which
use the traditional wire attachment thing with 4 screws .... don't use the new type with push clip ... that one can loosen and mistaken as lamp spoil , mine loosen in 1 week

for my own installation I always remove the magnet and the transparent plastic light-spreader because I think that plastic layer trap heat dissipation
removal of the plastic means the magnet holder will need something to reattach for the new difference in thickness , like slide in a toothpick or cut a plastic o-ring washer or just let the screw loose fit ... this is simple modification that isn't critical or safety related ..... the whole thing is lightweight you can easily modify the magnet attachment
If get the high wattage type, might as well use back fluorescent light as there's no energy savings. In fact, if buy from reputable brand from Philips, a 18 to 20 watts led lamp have the same brightness as a 36w flourescent lamp and it does not dim as time goes by as per my own experience with this brand of led lights.

FT PRIDE

Have u check if it is really the tube issue or something else there

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.