Fresh Poly grad salary

Angmoh_TuaKi

Public sector cannot be elite 1.. :o :s8:

Also why so many flamers? i just want to know cause i always thought standard starting pay is 2.5k around there. Bring home 1.6k what can i buy u tell me ? How to save? How to invest ?... Live to work, no life leh. Also need to factor in i go in straight senior position, will get alot of responsibility 1.

if increment really 3.5% idc i ask for more pay increase after 1 year. Thanks:)

https://www.polyges.sg/downloads/GES2016PR.pdf

lovespoo

wah seems u very unhappy abt the pay sia. y not liddat, find a new job with 2.5k or even higher. it seems u r really a high flyer with midas touch

Its not unhappy, its stress cause pay too small lol
I actually really like this job and its almost exactly like what i studied in poly. Just the low pay really sad, cannot buy anything.

oh den y u nv apply?

cannot luh, not my field. Its mostly IT work or 12 hours shift at jurong island lol

lifeishard

i look for job always see 2.5k. you go see on jobstreet.

5-10% is i heard from my friend :(

Yearly increase range from 3%-5%. That is just to beat inflation. Some companies gives more if performance is included. 3%-5% is no need see performance.

Job advertisement is not accurate, they advertise higher pay to attract ppl. Then once they contact you, they push it lower citing this and that excuse.

Poly grad 2.1k I think fair? Below link is outdated but I supposed it wouldn't be too different from 2016?

http://www.np.edu.sg/home/media/release/year2017/jan_jun/Documents/MediaRelease_Poly_GES_2016__20170109.pdf

Not sure if their median/mean got add include employer 17% or not. Saw somewhere that our national statistics board when quoting national median salary, they included the 17%. I stand to be corrected though.

juelim

For info.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...e-for-polytechnic-graduates-up-survey-7558570

TS is not too far off the median pay of ~$2,200. $2,500 is for Singaporean NSmen. It also depends on the industry he/she is in.

Nonetheless, take the opportunity to learn things and build up the CV. Network and build up rapport with the bosses. Prove yourself and aim for a sponsored undergraduate degree and with that, you can then be in a better position to look for another job (after serving the bond), either in the govt or private sector, with a higher salary that commensurate with the mid-career graduate experience.

juelim

From what I know, Govt sector does not entertain requests for pay increase from staff.

The increment is determined by HR for the various pay grades and within each pay grade differentiated by individual performance.

ocs_woodlands

TS. 2.5k? when i was looking for a job 7 years ago, employers were pressing me for 2.5k only, FYI im a NTU grad with 2nd upper hnrs.

increment of 5-10% ? may i know where u get this figures and how do u justify this ?:s11:
Actually the starting pay of graduates (both Uni and Poly) has stagnated badly in he past 20 years of so.

When 1 started work 20 years ago, my first job paid me $2300 + $200 (transport allowance because workplave was at Gul Crescent. I had a second class hons in EE.

Fast forward till now, I believe EE honours degree start at 3.4-3.8k? Even at the high end estimate, it's only 50% more than my time. 20 years to rise by 50% is pathetic to say the least...

Sent from Common Sense using GAGT

lifeishard

Actually the starting pay of graduates (both Uni and Poly) has stagnated badly in he past 20 years of so.

When 1 started work 20 years ago, my first job paid me $2300 + $200 (transport allowance because workplave was at Gul Crescent. I had a second class hons in EE.

Fast forward till now, I believe EE honours degree start at 3.4-3.8k? Even at the high end estimate, it's only 50% more than my time. 20 years to rise by 50% is pathetic to say the least...

Sent from Common Sense using GAGT

What to do? You dun take there's FT lining up to take and we are not talking about blue collar position....this is such a brilliant policy.

windwaver

Hi guys,

I just graduated this year from SP. Been doing contract jobs for the past few months.

Recently got an offer from the public sector which would give me a salary of around 2.1k.. I dunno why i so stupid when they called me to offer the job i so happy i just accept and never nego the salary.. called again the next day to nego they say too late alrdy.. jia lut :s12:

I just want to know if that is too low. They say got yearly increment but if increment 5-10%, no difference to me :( . i calculate minus CPF i like want to cry alrdy leh!!

BTW its a senior position, 'regulatory' field... Any idea to up my salary asap ?

Public sector no need to negotiate, usually it's fixed, congrats but need to get used to those old and outdated people.

Isn’t civil service and army salary all fixed?
Should just focus on your job do it well
2 yrs rise 3 ranks
6 yrs rise 9 ranks
Should be near perm Sec by then salary 6 digits annually

havetheveryfun

Here is my take on the sad state of affairs in the job market. Depressed wages will be a new norm for a long time due to so called globalisation.

Want to study better go for as high an education as you can. Masters or PHD. Bachelors are too common these days.

Alternatively possessing a vocation skill will be more pragmatic as certain skill sets hardly go obsolete. Eg. Electrician, server administrator, computer assembly/repair, mechanic, hairstylist/barber, beautician, etc. Once you are a master in your trade you can easily set up your own business.

Ya.. if u want to study a degree, better study a specialized one and not the general ones.

Also why so many flamers? i just want to know cause i always thought standard starting pay is 2.5k around there. Bring home 1.6k what can i buy u tell me ? How to save? How to invest ?... Live to work, no life leh. Also need to factor in i go in straight senior position, will get alot of responsibility 1.

Many of the older generations in their late 40s-60 grew up earning less than 2k per person, yet still able to pay fully for their flat and raise 2-3 kids. Granted, stocks were super cheap at their time and their flats also only cost less than 200k in total compared to now.

People are not flaming, if you think you deserve more, then just go find a job that pays better than this. Since the HR had already told you there is no room for negotiation anymore (either you screwed it or their policies are like that). as simple as that.

Welcome to the working world where no one gives a sh!t about how much you think you deserve

Shion

Senior Mentor
I am a diploma holder. After NS I started my 1st job. My salary was $1800.

After jumping to my 2nd (current) job, my salary only adjusted once and that was more than 1.5 years ago. And my pay now is around the same as what you have been offered, TS.

Since then I have been trying to find a new job with a better pay, but I know there are existing constraints and hurdles for me, but I am still keeping my hopes high that I will move on by this year.

alyssax

Its not unhappy, its stress cause pay too small lol
I actually really like this job and its almost exactly like what i studied in poly. Just the low pay really sad, cannot buy anything.

cannot luh, not my field. Its mostly IT work or 12 hours shift at jurong island lol

I used to make some 1.8k take home pay - I was really frugal and spent around $500 a month. So you can do it too!

lovespoo

Isn’t civil service and army salary all fixed?
Should just focus on your job do it well
2 yrs rise 3 ranks
6 yrs rise 9 ranks
Should be near perm Sec by then salary 6 digits annually

Ok guys i get it , guess i was naive in poly lol. But thanks all for the advice ! even the harsh ones hahah

I am a diploma holder. After NS I started my 1st job. My salary was $1800.

After jumping to my 2nd (current) job, my salary only adjusted once and that was more than 1.5 years ago. And my pay now is around the same as what you have been offered, TS.

Since then I have been trying to find a new job with a better pay, but I know there are existing constraints and hurdles for me, but I am still keeping my hopes high that I will move on by this year.

All the best ! !

iamveryguailan

2.1k as a diploma grad is actually decent la

Local Uni grads are getting 2.3-2.8 these days.

If you are expecting higher, what do you have to offer? Also, every month of not working is an opportunity cost lost.

You can save a few hundreds also if you Budget properly. 2.1k means take home around 1.6k. Try to save 200-300 a month lor.

I Guess you are still young? 21 this year?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.