General PSA: you can change your nick/display name for PayNow

Perisher

I know many of you already know but I just realise my name is displayed to the sender when someone paynow me by hp number few days back.
So I went to check if it's possible to change. Yes, you can change it easily using whichever bank you link paynow with online.
So go do it. Change it to a unique nick/display name instead of your full name.

PayNow was introduced in response to the increased demand from customers to make funds transfer more convenient and efficient. From time to time, government may also disburse payouts through PayNow. Therefore, it is important to register your NRIC on PayNow to receive funds immediately and effortlessly.

2 examples below,
https://singapore-bank.net/edit-paynow-standard-chartered/
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/bank-ssb-paynow-amend-profile.html

danny8x8

Dunno. But I remember reading a thread saying that your real name is still displayed. The nick is hor lu song nia. Dunno true or not cos I don't use pay now.

Perisher

Dunno. But I remember reading a thread saying that your real name is still displayed. The nick is hor lu song nia. Dunno true or not cos I don't use pay now.

is it?!
i don't think so bah.
I don't use it but others wanna use it to pay me then bohbian.

cavver777

Ts wols.

receiving party : yes sender can see ur customised name.

sender : no, receiving party see your full bank acct name.

Acetone

Any validations ?... like can i change it to "Ramesh" or "Piyush" ?

Razor

For sender, real name will be displayed to recipient

For recipient, your nick will be seen by sender. In other words, the nick is useful only if you are receiving funds. That applies to Asia's safest bank. Haven't tried with Stanchart

broomkiss

There is nick, and there is your real full name.

When someone wants to send you money, they see a recipient nick ( this, you can change)

When you send someone money, your real Full Name will be revealed to the recipient. This, cannot be changed

Recipient can always see full name of sender. It has been like this since day 1.

Perisher

There is nick, and there is your real full name.

When someone wants to send you money, they see a recipient nick ( this, you can change)

When you send someone money, your real Full Name will be revealed to the recipient. This, cannot be changed

Recipient can always see full name of sender. It has been like this since day 1.
jialat... any reason why sender's name must be made known?

singapurablue

I know many of you already know but I just realise my name is displayed to the sender when someone paynow me by hp number few days back.
So I went to check if it's possible to change. Yes, you can change it easily using whichever bank you link paynow with online.
So go do it. Change it to a unique nick/display name instead of your full name.

PayNow was introduced in response to the increased demand from customers to make funds transfer more convenient and efficient. From time to time, government may also disburse payouts through PayNow. Therefore, it is important to register your NRIC on PayNow to receive funds immediately and effortlessly.

2 examples below,
https://singapore-bank.net/edit-paynow-standard-chartered/
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/support/bank-ssb-paynow-amend-profile.html
When you link a PayNow Proxy to your bank account, you will be asked to enter a PayNow nickname as well. You are encouraged to choose a nickname that can help others identify who you are. This is because when a sender wishes to transfer money to you via PayNow, he/she will enter your PayNow Proxy and perform a lookup. The lookup will return your Nickname, and will allow the sender to verify that he/she is indeed transferring money to the right person.

Perisher

When you link a PayNow Proxy to your bank account, you will be asked to enter a PayNow nickname as well. You are encouraged to choose a nickname that can help others identify who you are. This is because when a sender wishes to transfer money to you via PayNow, he/she will enter your PayNow Proxy and perform a lookup. The lookup will return your Nickname, and will allow the sender to verify that he/she is indeed transferring money to the right person.
I'm just wondering why the other way isn't also using a nick.

That is, the sender of the money, the information is in full view to the receiver, why? (according to many here)

kumokumo

So change liao ppl who know ur hp.no cannot use paynow to sexpose your identity?

bladez87

I'm just wondering why the other way isn't also using a nick.

That is, the sender of the money, the information is in full view to the receiver, why? (according to many here)
because you are sending money out from your bank account, which is registered under your legal name.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.