Reddit ineedtoventlah - Used to earn 20k a month as a VP. Now working night shift at a warehouse for 2k.

PaprikaSG

20K per month, CPF oredi ba ba liao.

Dun tell me no saving at all.

Also, there are other job pays more than 2K and working during the day e.g. MCD / NTUC.

Why resort to 2K night shift job? Does not make sense.

dereth

Kindly explain to me, anyone... I just don't have a good brain for these sorts of things.

Why are there folks who opted to take maybe 25 or 30 years to payoff their HDB loan?

I had my BTO at about 35 and picked 4.5 years to pay off the rest. I kinda calculated and found out that if it takes really long, there's a bunch of interest that comes along with it.

I love the feeling of being pretty much debt-free when I was retrenched at 40 years old, but with a roof over my head.

Isn't it nicer to free up the money for other stuff? So.... why?

Edit: I just realized, is it something to do with CPF?

junlove

Kindly explain to me, anyone... I just don't have a good brain for these sorts of things.

Why are there folks who opted to take maybe 25 or 30 years to payoff their HDB loan?

I had my BTO at about 35 and picked 4.5 years to pay off the rest. I kinda calculated and found out that if it takes really long, there's a bunch of interest that comes along with it.

I love the feeling of being pretty much debt-free when I was retrenched at 40 years old, but with a roof over my head.

Isn't it nicer to free up the money for other stuff? So.... why?

Edit: I just realized, is it something to do with CPF?
there are few types of ppl. those who bo pian have to drag. or those know how to invest.

if u drag, CPF use to invest, 1x economy cycle can earn back many times the interest delta.... in 20/30 yrs, how many cycles u've seen.

the feeling is not impt leh

dereth

there are few types of ppl. those who bo pian have to drag. or those know how to invest.

if u drag, CPF use to invest, 1x economy cycle can earn back many times the interest delta.... in 20/30 yrs, how many cycles u've seen.

the feeling is not impt leh

Thanks, I think I have some idea of it now.

CasperTheGhost

Hard to believe, with 20k salary could probably saved a lot and invested. U don’t even need much salary just profit from the investment can riao.

Lchlch

44 years old still haven't finish paying housing loan. Don't bluff lar.
I am about to say that too.
Earning $20k per month still paying housing loan??
Hard to believe.

Everything is impermanent.
He shd know this by hard.
No matter what u do, it will be history one day.

Yowe55 mini

Dear all,

Life is tough and every one circumstance is different.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

televisione

Sounds like CSB to me. He mentioned that he didn’t have a driver’s license, so he didn’t spend any money on owning a car back then. If he truly sacrificed his weekends, birthdays, and sleep, I doubt he had any time left to spend money anyway. Personally, I’ve been through a period of working more than 100 hours a week, I barely had time to do anything, so I invested 100% of my income.

I_m_limpeh

44 years old still haven't finish paying housing loan. Don't bluff lar.

Should have joined gahmen service long ago. Won't have to worry about retrenchment. Can even publish memoirs after retirement from gahmen service

28cMostlyCloudy

utter-nonsense.gif

I rate this story telling a 2/10.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.