Having issues with RAM.

hiimajerk

I just purchase a kingston DDR3 1333mhz 8gb Ram to replace my kingston DDR3 1333mhz 4gb RAM as my computer is almost at full capacity when i open a game client and chrome tgt.

The issue is that the computer doesn't seem the recognise the new RAM. (No signal to the monitor)

I know that the motherboard can support 8GB and i'm very puzzled as well as frustrated with the whole issue.

Any experts can give me insight as how i can go about solving this issue?

royfrosty

What is your OS that you are running?

Windows 7 32bit or 64bit?

jtjt00

Your mobo may not support single piece 8gb ram.
The 8gb may refer to 2x 4gb.

shadow84

Did u try on different slots? Just that 1 stick. Try cleaning the gold contactors with eraser and mount it again.

localITguy

I just purchase a kingston DDR3 1333mhz 8gb Ram to replace my kingston DDR3 1333mhz 4gb RAM as my computer is almost at full capacity when i open a game client and chrome tgt.

The issue is that the computer doesn't seem the recognise the new RAM. (No signal to the monitor)

I know that the motherboard can support 8GB and i'm very puzzled as well as frustrated with the whole issue.

Any experts can give me insight as how i can go about solving this issue?

Hi, does your Old RAM works if you try to boot with the Old RAMs?

if so there is a very low chance that your Mbo is faulty but your NEW RAMs might not be suitable for your mbo. did you check if your NEW RAM is in the Supported RAM Lists for your mbo .

but there is a very low chance that Kingston RAMs is not suitable. they work well with almost any mbo . You might want to check

hiimajerk

Hi, does your Old RAM works if you try to boot with the Old RAMs?

if so there is a very low chance that your Mbo is faulty but your NEW RAMs might not be suitable for your mbo. did you check if your NEW RAM is in the Supported RAM Lists for your mbo .

may i know where can i find such a list? :s11:

localITguy

DDR3 1333 8GB Kingston KVR1333D3N9H/8G Elpida DS v 2pcs

This one matches with the 8gb one that I have with me.

However as mentioned earlier, one of my RAM slots already faulty. It's currently running on single channel.

go ahead and RMA it , with avertek:s8:

localITguy

I dunno leh... This hasnt been the first case...

My mobo also rejected 2x4GB Gskill DDR3 1333mhz RAM stick.

I think it's the mobo issue but cant pinpoint it.

just go and RMA and see how lor. dun waste time to pin point:D

hiimajerk

just go and RMA and see how lor. dun waste time to pin point:D

mobo already past warranty date liao ._.

It's a 3 year old unit but I really dont have the resources to get a new mobo atm since i just replaced my gfx card.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.