Hawker QR Code:How Much Does Hawker Pays?

caleb.seah

Hi.

Very curious, how much does hawker pays for every transaction for the SGQR they use to accept payment services especially when people use amex to make payment ?

caleb.seah

Can use AMEX to make payment?
SG-QR-SGQR-code-paynow-Razer-pay-Singapore.jpg

This kind of qr code then can

zoneguard

Hawkers don't pay any merchant fees until 31 Dec 2023 if they sign up under this programme:

To help support hawkers, NETS is giving $3 cash bonus for every 10 NETS transactions to all hawkers as well as canteens, coffee shops, food courts and eating houses when they accept NETS payments until 31 July 2021

The Government will cover transaction fees (i.e. merchant discount rate of 0.5% payable by merchants) until 31 December 2023.

silverbomb

i'm alr seeing especially lately some of my frequent hawkers taking away the code on the wall or pasting a paper over the QR code or written stating cash only. so although when you number of stalls at a hawker centre accepting SGQR seems like long list, the actual num of stall accepting on the ground is much lesser.

AlvinDj

Many traditional hawkers / kopitiam stalls although displaying SGQR, but only still choose to accept cash when asked, stating many excuses even though it's fee-less for now..

My speculation would be either the hassle needing to check and / or due to tax matters? :)

yiron

Honestly, hawkers can just print out their personal paynow QR for payments if they want - zero transaction fee.
While it doesn't earn me any payment rewards as a consumer, it's still much better than fumbling with cash in a hot greasy environment.

But if they are hellbent on leaving no audit trail on their revenue, then I guess they won't break from cash...

andyhtc

silverbomb

Many traditional hawkers / kopitiam stalls although displaying SGQR, but only still choose to accept cash when asked, stating many excuses even though it's fee-less for now..

My speculation would be either the hassle needing to check and / or due to tax matters? :)
for me as long the QR is there i will scan, sometimes even before he/she ask me for payment i alr paid alr so there's no excuses for them. unless like mentioned earlier either they took it off or cover the QR code then bobian. they'll just need to verify payment was received on their SGQR connected phones.

1 auntie that used to accept then told me her phone (btw, the phones are hawker's and not provided by govt/NETS) suddenly cannot connect to the Wireless@SG (probably aft software update) of the hawker centre so she stopped. i told her i try to help fix, but no matter how many time i helped connect/reconnect/forget network and also delete/reinstall Wireless@SG app cannot. She doesn't see the need to pay a new SIM card just for this phone as even her own personal phone uses Wireless@SG for data. many just wants to ensure the QR payment is received cos got bad experiences from others using screenshot to bluff they paid and they accept cos either trust basis or too busy to verify.

a lot of attributing concerns (of cos there's the hawkers just want cash so can underdeclare taxes easier) especially among older hawkers. the acceptance rate of SGQR by younger hawkers are much more receptive is a good sign forward.

reddevil0728

unless they cover it up, u do it they also cannot say anything

AlvinDj

unless they cover it up, u do it they also cannot say anything
Happened once, I just do without asking, then kena blackface and some whining / ranting of excuses lol..

So ever since then, I just respect and ask first also lah.. Don't plan to give them a hard time over just a few dollars..

At the same time went into some thoughts on why they were reluctant to accept etc, which derives to my above posted speculations..

reddevil0728

Happened once, I just do without asking, then kena blackface and some whining / ranting of excuses lol..

So ever since then, I just respect and ask first also lah.. Don't plan to give them a hard time over just a few dollars..
i mean being respectful is ok. just saying if they don't physically cover or not display. ppl do already they also no choice

AlvinDj

i mean being respectful is ok. just saying if they don't physically cover or not display. ppl do already they also no choice
Yes definitely no choice, but if you are a frequent patron of that particular stall, and keep doing it despite them being reluctant or ranted at then I wonder what's gonna happen? LOL

Sometimes I also wonder, since not wanting to accept then why still leave it displayed out to the public? Hmm..

reddevil0728

Yes definitely no choice, but if you are a frequent patron of that particular stall, and keep doing it despite them being reluctant or ranted at then I wonder what's gonna happen? LOL
ya. that's where being respectful comes into play

AlvinDj

End of the day, I just practice asking first out of respect..

Mostly the reluctant ones are usually the older age and self owned business which they have been running for many years, from what I have personally experienced..

reddevil0728

End of the day, I just practice asking first out of respect..

Mostly the reluctant ones are usually the older age and self owned business which they have been running for many years, from what I have personally experienced..
wonder why they don't just hide it

CrashWire

1 auntie that used to accept then told me her phone (btw, the phones are hawker's and not provided by govt/NETS) suddenly cannot connect to the Wireless@SG (probably aft software update) of the hawker centre so she stopped. i told her i try to help fix, but no matter how many time i helped connect/reconnect/forget network and also delete/reinstall Wireless@SG app cannot. She doesn't see the need to pay a new SIM card just for this phone as even her own personal phone uses Wireless@SG for data. many just wants to ensure the QR payment is received cos got bad experiences from others using screenshot to bluff they paid and they accept cos either trust basis or too busy to verify.
Those with the super SGQR (that accepts Amex etc) have a NETS terminal that will make a sound whenever payment is received. No phone required.

silverbomb

Those with the super SGQR (that accepts Amex etc) have a NETS terminal that will make a sound whenever payment is received. No phone required.
Yeap I noticed there's 2 types of terminals hawkers can verify payment. The very first version was the black NETS terminal that prints receipts then subsequently the phone version came along that can custom to ring a bell sound when payment received. So not sure the black terminal one they still ongoing issue anot.

But usually hawkers won't really bother what terminal or change it if it works, until a SGQR (govt) or NETS representative comes down to have words with the hawkers, which is how they onboard and convince hawkers with carrots and benefits of having QR payments

jywy2005

I dun mind using e-payment if we can get points or rebates. Also no need to deal with coins. I also prefer cashless transactions at wet markets too. Dun like getting smelly and wet change. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.