HDB Fully paid up ?

RMCWMR

The market value has increased ~2300%, to be precise. You've got an extra zero in there. It will fall to zero eventually (99 year leasehold), by the way.

Would you like another example? Yes, of course you would. ;)

People who invested US$25,000 in mid 1975 in a low cost U.S. S&P 500 stock index fund, and who ticked the "reinvest dividends" checkbox, would have approximately US$2.7 million on a pre-tax basis today. Tax pulled that down somewhat (unless in a tax free or tax deferred retirement account), but tax also pulls down real estate -- along with upkeep, which a stock index fund doesn't require.

And we should also adjust for currency, so let's try this again in Singapore dollar terms. Let's take S$25,000 on July 1, 1975. Back then that was worth about US$10,500, so that's our principal in this exercise. Today that would be worth about S$1.56 million on a reinvested dividend pre-tax basis.

I do too.

Correct, especially when you've picked the most impressive boom in real estate...and it still wasn't that impressive. ;)

"Just saying." To repeat, I'm not opposed to real estate! I just don't think you should overweight that particular sector or any other, except as a primary owner-occupied residence.
Let's be honest here BBCWatcher. Are you one of those "Join my share investment class and be rich so that you can retire at 30" kind of deal you are running?

Coz all your arguments seem lopsided on shares.

Toni90

Talk about properties profit recently. Can take an example of Normanton Park. I know one guy bought it ~500K at 2006 (not at the bottom). Only have to pay 50K first. Rent it out for 12 years. Monthly rental enough to pay the bank. Fast forward 2018, enbloc (not at the top, other place enbloc even higher after this). Pay back the bank, add up still got 1.5M. 3000% in 12 years. Good or not?

Toni90

One more thing. This guy actually bought 2 flats there. He gave no sh*t to these diversification things.

Mecisteus

Coz all your arguments seem lopsided on shares.

I don't think you understand BBC well.

If you notice, he is quite conservative and he advocates complete diversification in a little of everything from properties to shares (local and overseas), REITs, bonds and cash.

If you are a Singaporean and holding 1 or 2 local properties plus STI ETF shares, there is a good chance this person portfolio is heavily concentrated in the real estate.

JuniorLion

I like how some of you think that you have an eye for spotting hundred-bagger property developments.

Cherry-picking examples to support your argument. Hurray.

whyliddat

Here are some fun historical facts....

The first condo in the United States dates to 1958, in Puerto Rico (a U.S. territory). Within the 50 U.S. states, 1960 (Utah). New York City didn't have any until 1965.

Canada's first condo was built in 1967, in Edmonton.

Sweden's first condo was built in 2009, although that country has/had bostadsrättslägenheter (housing cooperatives) earlier.

In Hungary they're pretty old but still still less than a century: 1924.

The U.K. really doesn't have many condos as such since commonholds, the equivalent, were introduced only in 2004.

Beverly Mai, completed in 1974, is widely considered to be Singapore's first condo development -- yes, only 45 years ago. In terms of public housing, the Singapore Improvement Trust was founded in 1927 but didn't do much. (Block 55 in Tiong Bahru, the first SIT public housing, wasn't opened until the end of 1936. And public housing back then was rented.) The HDB took over from SIT in 1960, and the HDB leasehold then emerged. But I don't think it was as long as 99 years at the beginning, and maybe somebody else knows the exact number.

Shares of company stock were issued at least as early as 1602 when the Dutch East India Company was established. There was a public stock flotation that closed in September, 1602. And stockholders were well rewarded for the first 94 years, or more than double the age of Singapore's oldest condo, with a steady stream of variable (and high) dividends. The company survived the tulip craze and a big swing in its share price, although the share price remained well above its 1602 IPO price at all times amidst that crazy ride. The company dissolved in 1800 after nearly 200 years in business. There are no more dividends, but the surviving share certificates now have increasing value as collectibles. In short, history's first stock IPO was a big total return winner.

Until recently (2006) Kongo Gumi was probably the world's oldest privately owned company. (Kongo Gumi had shareholders, but its stock was not publicly traded.) Kongo Gumi was (and is -- more on this in a moment) in the temple building business in Japan, an excellent core business and locale since the company was in business for "only" 1,428 years. Takamatsu, a larger and more generalized construction company, acquired Kongo Gumi in 2006, and it's now a subsidiary of that larger company.

Even in Singapore, public stock trading is older than Singapore's oldest condo and just about as old as HDB. Public stock trading began on May 9, 1960, on the Malayan Stock Exchange in Kuala Lumpur. (This was pre-independence. The Singapore Stockbrokers' Association was founded even earlier, in 1930, and handled private sales of securities before the public exchange opened.) In 1961 a stock trading floor was established in Singapore, and the two floors were linked via telephone circuits to form one virtual exchange. That single virtual exchange was named the Stock Exchange of Malaysia and Singapore when Singapore became independent in 1964, and then the exchange split into two in 1973 when the currencies decoupled (albeit with cross-listing, infamously as it turned out later).

Anyway, my point here is that company shares are hardly new. Publicly traded shares are over four centuries old, privately much older than that. It's the condo inventions -- the fanciful, wild, "bizarre" notion that it's possible to carve up a single building into walled/partitioned units (in all three dimensions) that are separately titled and private market traded -- that are much, much newer. Dare I say that condos are "exotic derivatives" in comparison? ;) To a mid-20th century observer, yes, I suppose they were. They're still utterly novel in places like Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Condos aren't the last word in "exotic" real estate products. For example, how about timeshares, where you add in another dimension to the product mix beyond 3D coordinates and various covenants: time?

....Study up on this stuff, basically. If shares of company stock, and stock funds, are new to you, OK, fair enough, then crack open a book -- Shiny Things has one -- and study up. You "only" have 400+ years of financial history you've missed. ;)

interested in some TRUE historical fact? The first real estate was the first cave primitive man found. Whatever prime real estate back then probably was close to livelihood, offered great shelter and provided comfort to his family. It even let them doodle on it. This is hard-coded into our DNA. The longevity of shares and even gold don't even come close. Get the best shelter you can fight for (afford in modern terms) and everything else comes after.

Then you are probably going to say a HDB is good enough. True that but I wish to enlarge my pool of attractive mates I can attract

skizzer

@BBCWatcher U must be amazed at Asians' love for real estate... I wonder how u sharing ur very reasonably sound thoughts will get smacked here... :s22:

The interest rate backdrop + Singapore stability in SEA region definitely helped alot on the SG multi-decade property bull market, and prob more so than the local stock market.

Btw, I think the very recent happening on the financial market in Argentina showcase the detriments of being overly concentrated in one's own home country market for investment purpose.

doody_

I like how some of you think that you have an eye for spotting hundred-bagger property developments.

Cherry-picking examples to support your argument. Hurray.

Same way some people think they have an eye for spotting hundred-bagger stocks. If it's so easy, I wonder why they still have a day job that they hate.

JuniorLion

Same way some people think they have an eye for spotting hundred-bagger stocks. If it's so easy, I wonder why they still have a day job that they hate.

Who thinks they can pick hundred bagger stocks? Must have a good laugh at this guy.

BBCWatcher

@BBCWatcher U must be amazed at Asians' love for real estate... I wonder how u sharing ur very reasonably sound thoughts will get smacked here... :s22:
No, not really. First of all, Asia is a big, diverse place, with diverse interests and predilections, including investment interests and predilections. Some people are "gold bugs," some love commodities, etc. I just don't think you should be "monogamous" when it comes to investing, that's all. (To your spouse, yes, definitely.) I don't have a problem with real estate, for example, except when overdosing on it, particularly if it's only in one country or territory. Indeed, I invest to some degree in the stuff.

I also happen to believe/forecast that HDB BTOs are still great deals (high probability).

The interest rate backdrop + Singapore stability in SEA region definitely helped alot on the SG multi-decade property bull market, and prob more so than the local stock market.
Sure, but that's nothing special. Dutch tulips enjoyed a fabulous boom. Beanie Babies, Internet domain names, collateralized debt obligations (CDOs), baseball cards, cowry shells, cryptocurrencies (a few), spices, silk, pet rocks.... It's a long list.

Btw, I think the very recent happening on the financial market in Argentina showcase the detriments of being overly concentrated in one's own home country market for investment purpose.
True. I suppose we can quibble about what the "correct" percentage is, but surely 0% global diversification is the wrong answer...right? (Assuming material assets to invest. If total household assets to invest are relatively low or lower, CPF is likely *the* answer, for example.)

Talk about properties profit recently. Can take an example of Normanton Park. I know one guy bought it ~500K at 2006 (not at the bottom). Only have to pay 50K first.
Yes, a 90% LTV ratio was legal before February 20, 2010, with a willing lender (not necessarily a given). That's now illegal and has been for almost a decade. The maximum LTV is currently 75% (with an HDB exception), and then only for one mortgage. Thus, with 100% confidence, we can predict that today's borrower will not have the same experience that borrowers had in the past. We aren't always able to have such clarity in a financial forecast element, but in this case we do.

Rent it out for 12 years. Monthly rental enough to pay the bank. Fast forward 2018, enbloc (not at the top, other place enbloc even higher after this). Pay back the bank, add up still got 1.5M. 3000% in 12 years. Good or not?
That's not the actual return -- the return net of all costs -- and before deciding whether it's "good" or not, the actual net return must be known. At a minimum you've missed initial outfitting, refurbishing, maintenance and repairs, insurance, condo fees, property tax, and (probably) income tax on the taxable rental income. There are some other typical line items, but that list is a start.

Yes, I know it's fashionable to tell tales of fabulous real estate-fueled riches. B.F.D. Let's not exaggerate -- shouldn't the tale be impressive enough if it's real? -- starting with some basic, at least minimally realistic accounting.

Hillary Clinton (former Arkansas First Lady, former U.S. First Lady, former U.S. Secretary of State, former U.S. Senator from New York, former Democratic Party nominee for President of the United States, popular vote winner in the 2016 U.S. Presidential election) famously turned US$1,000 into US$100,000 within 10 months betting on cattle futures in 1978-1979 -- yes, seriously. All evidence suggests that it was a legitimate, legal result. That's a 100-fold (9900%) pre-tax nominal return within a mere 10 months. Assuming she was in a ~33% income tax bracket, that would have been about +6600% nominal net of all costs. So what? No, you shouldn't bet 80% of your household wealth on cattle futures. Hillary Clinton didn't do that -- it was US$1,000 in late 1978 -- and (wisely, many would agree) she stopped gambling.

I'm also not opposed to a big bet, provided the bet is calculated and well considered, the fallback scenario (i.e. the bet fails) is still a decent or better situation (genuinely already wealthy people have an advantage here), and the bet is not repeated or expanded unless those same two conditions still hold (and probably not even then -- there's certainly no obligation to make a big bet). One not-too-extended family member made a big bet, once, and he happened to win as Forbes defines it. (Important: Forbes really doesn't define winning. For example, I don't know what his "happiness score" was.) Repeating what he did, no, you're definitely not going to win -- even he didn't dare attempt a repeat performance in the same way -- so he'll likely be unique in history. As we all are in our own ways, I hope.

Exactly, and there are plenty of such stories, too. Hillary Clinton's story included -- cattle futures in that case.

The world's worst investments (or "investments") -- casino gambling, for example -- still produce a few statistically long tail, outlier winners. Somebody has to win the poker tournament, once anyway -- along with the house, of course, which always wins.(*) And oh how we (especially the casinos, the property agents, the brokers, the cryptocurrency exchanges, the penny stock pushers, etc.) love to tell the outlier stories.

Anyway, I have no problem with property as such. Just don't over do it, OK?

(*) If you've been paying attention you might have noticed that Warren Buffett has invested significantly in real estate...in the "house," in the casino as it were. Berkshire Hathaway owns the largest residential real estate agency in the United States: HomeServices of America. In 2018 HomeServices of America closed 346,629 home sales, more than any other U.S. real estate broker. He's also expanding internationally and already has real estate agencies in the U.K. and in Germany. I don't think you should copy Buffett (if that were even possible -- it's not), but "isn't that interesting?"

BBCWatcher

Yeah.. so I'm also wondering. If you fully pay up your flat, can you "remortgage" it and use for a condo purchase?

Although you cannot pledge HDB leasehold equity as collateral for a loan, some people can sell their HDB leasehold equity but continue living in their flats via the HDB Lease Buyback Scheme.

archon75

For SG, the current super cycle is property based. Many millionaires are minted every year, if u know how to play in 1980s - 201x

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.