HDB - Sell or rent?

HMAN

TLDR :

option -1
300k sell now but don't know how to invest is trading off the housing asset capital appreciation opportunity. therefore this is not a good option.

keep the house with rental income and wait for market housing boom to better benefit from there.
=> stream of revenue coming yet better than CPF life. why kill this cash cow that offer better opportunity.

shorter lease left does not affect rental.

SBC

Where got calculate yield based on purchase price haha

Then my condo gross yield 7%+ based on purchased price but in fact nett nett yield based on current market price only 2% :poop:

If yr flat still relatively young <20yo still can continue to milk it till condition cui then decide to reno or sell. At the same time price still can potentially appreciate 1-3% annually.

If left less than bal 60year lease, i would sell liao since hdb market still so hot now…..Once resale market soften, old flats vy hard to get rid

Also your age? Let say u are 50yo now and yr flat left 50yr bal lease…..so what…..do u still want to handle rental when u are 70yo? By that time flat bal lease 30years near impossible to sell….Also yr kids most likely cannot inherit yr flat as well……and they goto dump/sell it….

Whereas if u hold a young 99LH condo or FH condo, yr kids can inherit them without absd.
Time will provide all answers.
we can do a check-in every 5 years.

DevilPlate

Time will provide all answers.
we can do a check-in every 5 years.
Time tell simi?
u mean 20years later…..30yr bal lease still can fetch the same price today or higher?

imo all depends on yr own situation and as someone pointed out if u are clueless what to invest and no kids, perhaps can continue to rent out till death.

However bear in mind whether u still have the energy or mental capacity to handle tenancy arrangements when u are much older since no kids or someone trustworthy to handle for u.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.