Homecooked Combination Platter 拼盘/ 冷盘 for Chap Gor Meh 元宵

desiresale

Started the prep for the jellyfish the day before. Becoz the jellyfish need to be wash and soak for hours to get rid of the excessive saltiness.

After soaking, need a quick blanch in boiling water and thereafter soak in ice water.

After that, cut the jellyfish into strips and split into 2 portions. One portion add in the seasoning to make the salad. Then kept in fridge overnite to let it absorb the flavor from the seasoning.

The other portion, I left it plain to use for the yusheng.

dtLZPrD.jpeg

sky00sky

海蜇头, you mean the thicker, firmer and more chewy part? The one I bought has it also.

Not sure abt the weight of the abalone coz din weigh. But the abalone seems bigger than the 8-10g ones.
yah those, they have a nice crunch to it.

As for abalone most 15g to 18g per piece the avg sizing about 6-7cm x 4-4.5cm thereabout ,
for 12g take about 10-15% off the measurement.

this year CNY got more "creative" weights and permutations also ..

desiresale

yah those, they have a nice crunch to it.

As for abalone most 15g to 18g per piece the avg sizing about 6-7cm x 4-4.5cm thereabout ,
for 12g take about 10-15% off the measurement.

this year CNY got more "creative" weights and permutations also ..
My sis told me she was still hesitating to buy the jellyfish coz it was very big. Then the old auntie told her just take and she will juz charge her $10. I din weigh the whole thing. But I suspect it could be even more than 1.5kg. Coz the current leftover one is already more than 800g. I had used up 1/2 of the amt for 2 nights yusheng and 冷盘

I tried quite a few cans of those small abalone. The 1st 2 bottles were quite big and tender. Even bigger than the ones in the yusheng pic above. Now I forgot which are the 2 brands liao. The one in the pic, still not as tender. All these are gifts from friends. This yr I myself din buy any abalone at all.

desiresale

Next dish is Ngor Hiang. Usu restaurant would use Hae Zhor (Prawn Roll). But becoz I'm allergic to prawn, I dun do Hae Zhor.

My family Ngor Hiang dun hv prawns. But flavorful enough with minced pork, dried shitake mushrooms, water chestnuts and spring onions. Texture oso not the same as those sold outside.

AfVeVnw.jpeg

desiresale

Next is the Century Eggs. Obviously I din made them :ROFLMAO:

The century eggs I used are from Yung Kee Restaurant (鏞記酒家) in HK. Their century eggs are nice. With runny center and flavor is not as 呛 as the cheap ones.

But then it still lose out to the century eggs from Taiwan.

j2ruy22.jpeg

desiresale

And the last dish for the 拼盘 will be the Osmanthus Egg 桂花翅

Ingredients used were tanghoon, mushroom, big onion, carrot, big chilli, crabstick, spring onion, eggs and chicken broth.

Ud2ymmH.jpeg

desiresale

I forgot to soak the red beans overnight. But I still manage to cook a nice red bean soup within 45 to 50mins. Using this new method, the red bean's skin were not broken yet can still have soft fluffy interior. No long hours of simmering required. The red beans look nicer since it remain whole with the skin intact.

The tang yuan are those traditional plain type in red and white color. But I made them in mini sizes instead.

rCTIdME.jpeg

PVtD0be.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.