Honor x9e aka X80 Pro Max (Turbo 5G will be disowned from family due to its disgraceful battery and CPU)

crandfs

How come nobody talking about this phone? Out for 2 months liao.

11000mAh battery life, SGS 5-Star Certification, IP68, IP69 and IP69K, so it's super rugged like X9D, 3840Hz pwm, peak brightness very high, but poorer camera and CPU. I regard it as an unofficial successor to Honor X9D, good for people who just want a phone that will last super long and withstand a lot of falls, usage in bed when dark, and only play light gaming, occasional camera, and average amount of multi-tasking.
https://www.huaweicentral.com/honor-x80-pro-max-launched/

International (ie US and EU?) version also just out in Aug, called Honor Turbo 5G instead, but battery cut to 8000+, chip also older gen
https://www.huaweicentral.com/honor-turbo-5g-launched-globally-as-rebranded-x80-pro-max/

Honor x9e seems to be the SEA version, looks very similar, got purple, and back camera upgraded to 108MP, battery still 11000 mAh. The rest seems identical so far.
https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1wReN66EkJ/?spm_id_from=333.337.search-card.all.click

crandfs

SiC electrode battery, so it can retain 80% of battery capacity after ~5 yrs,
And best of all, the rugged design and the fact that its screen is not made by Samsung will reduce the chances of AMOLED bright lines problems. FYI if you dun know yet, Samsung is the ****ing culprit responsible for most of the green/white/pink bright lines in most phones with AMOLED screens for the past few years.

zidanetan

11000mAh battery life, SGS 5-Star Certification, IP68, IP69 and IP69K, so it's super rugged like X9D, 3840Hz pwm, peak brightness very high, but poorer camera and CPU. I regard it as an unofficial successor to Honor X9D, good for people who just want a phone that will last super long and withstand a lot of falls, usage in bed when dark, and only play light gaming, occasional camera, and average amount of multi-tasking.

International version also just out in Aug, called Honor Turbo 5G instead, but battery cut to 8000+, chip also older gen
https://www.huaweicentral.com/honor-turbo-5g-launched-globally-as-rebranded-x80-pro-max/
your title should change to Honor X9e Pro for Asia market while China market its called as Honor X80 Pro Max. Pretty soon, will be releasing this month at Malaysia. I do owned X9c, X9d. I can say its good become secondary phone.

crandfs

your title should change to Honor X9e Pro for Asia market while China market its called as Honor X80 Pro Max. Pretty soon, will be releasing this month at Malaysia. I do owned X9c, X9d. I can say its good become secondary phone.

I almost ordered x9d, heng i procrastinated for a day, long enough for me to find out about x80 pro max which cost cheaper instead.

But i don't think x80 pro max is supposed to be x9e, i think got some design convergence, but the ruggedness design is supposed to be different approach, and its global version is already available, called Turbo 5G

crandfs

Ooops, just realized i typed the thread title wrongly, should be x80, not x60. How to change hah?

Anyway, Honor Malaysia keeps teasing with a purple colored phone that is probably x9e. You are right, x9e is probably the global equivalent of x80 pro max , just a locale variant for Asia probably, whereas Europe and USA probably get the crappy Turbo 5G. They'd better provide more than just purple if they want to sell better in Asia.

zidanetan

I do believe X9e Pro battery will be 11000mah and using Snapdragon 6 gen 5 not sure same like Singapore market.

crandfs

I do believe X9e Pro battery will be 11000mah and using Snapdragon 6 gen 5 not sure same like Singapore market.
Then it will be same as X80 Pro max. Wonder if there will be any concrete changes other than color and the ROM.

These few days Honor keep dropping teaser clips on social media but dun reveal the specs

ThinkMe

International version also just out in Aug, called Honor Turbo 5G instead, but battery cut to 8000+, chip also older gen

HWZ Insiders not doing their jobs

crandfs

Comparison table of some durable big battery mid tier phones in 2026 using google AI
I2bDgeu_d.png

sam39sg

Aiyo, the title still heaven change har? :unsure: :spin:
Singkapore honor lousy la why not like our neighbour god NEWs report and Robot at the National day parade? :s13: 🤟

crandfs

Got my oren X80 Pro Max yesterday! So far so good, very solid feel, battery very big, vegan leather feels shiok, but then I immediately covered it with a case liao ahahahaha!

So far runs very cool, warms up noticeably when charging, warms up slightly when transferring files for several minutes.
Con 1: File transfer quite slow due to only USB2.0.

This model also has Bypass charging. If you google, then some websites say yes, some say no. Yes is correct.
Con 2: But you have to enable it manually each time you plug in, which I find a bit pointless. Why not just auto switch to bypass once battery charging reaches 100%? Can still keep the manual switching to bypass mode.

Phone settings have gotten so much more sophisticated from 3 yrs ago, just the display alone got so many settings for eye comfort and tweaking graphics quality, including something for motion sickness, really is designed as a 老人机。

With regards to installing google on a China set, super smooth and easy for Honor. Just seach their default app market for google play can liao, then the rest of the google apps installation no problem liao. I'm surprised though that fanqie was preinstalled but not qidian, and qidian is not available on their app market, gotta go to qidian website to download, and even then the installation gave me warnings that the app is designed for older Android OS! How can this be, qidian is like the biggest chinese online book portal!

The AI assistant got a whisper mode, so you can just whisper commands to the phone, no need to say 你好Yoyo first. Think it works by recognizing when the audio is very closeup (ie very breathy), + voice recognition, But the AI quite laggy in speech parsing, and very bad at interpreting english app names correctly. So I think I probably won't use this much.

Phone settings got a lot of tweaks for battery charging. Also a lot of tweaks for reducing battery usage, can customize for individual apps too. Today start with 100% now, see if it can last until next Fri.

PS: Ordered on 7 Sept, delivered yesterday, fortuitously only 2 hrs after my old phone finally went haywire (1cm wide vertical strip of dead pixels plus random high frequency triggering of touches all over the screen)
Unfortunately it was very difficult to control the UI to clone my phone in this condition, so I installed everything from scratch on new phone. Really vomit blood with all the authentication processes, much more tedious than 3 yrs ago, Citibank eat **** and die! Weibo and Trust Bank also very ****. Next time have to install Bitwarden in advance liao

I dunno how elderly nowadays deal with the different pw requirements from different organizations, some of them conflict such as must use special char or cannot use special char or special char yes but not @, so different password need to be used, then they make you enable passkey fingerprint for convenience, so I end up forgetting the pw and have to reset, then during reset they say cannot reuse the previous 5 pw or some other restrictions.

chari-men

Got my oren X80 Pro Max yesterday! So far so good, very solid feel, battery very big, vegan leather feels shiok, but then I immediately covered it with a case liao ahahahaha!

So far runs very cool, warms up noticeably when charging, warms up slightly when transferring files for several minutes.
Con 1: File transfer quite slow due to only USB2.0.

This model also has Bypass charging. If you google, then some websites say yes, some say no. Yes is correct.
Con 2: But you have to enable it manually each time you plug in, which I find a bit pointless. Why not just auto switch to bypass once battery charging reaches 100%? Can still keep the manual switching to bypass mode.

Phone settings have gotten so much more sophisticated from 3 yrs ago, just the display alone got so many settings for eye comfort and tweaking graphics quality, including something for motion sickness, really is designed as a 老人机。

With regards to installing google on a China set, super smooth and easy for Honor. Just seach their default app market for google play can liao, then the rest of the google apps installation no problem liao. I'm surprised though that fanqie was preinstalled but not qidian, and qidian is not available on their app market, gotta go to qidian website to download, and even then the installation gave me warnings that the app is designed for older Android OS! How can this be, qidian is like the biggest chinese online book portal!

The AI assistant got a whisper mode, so you can just whisper commands to the phone, no need to say 你好Yoyo first. Think it works by recognizing when the audio is very closeup (ie very breathy), + voice recognition, But the AI quite laggy in speech parsing, and very bad at interpreting english app names correctly. So I think I probably won't use this much.

Phone settings got a lot of tweaks for battery charging. Also a lot of tweaks for reducing battery usage, can customize for individual apps too. Today start with 100% now, see if it can last until next Fri.

PS: Ordered on 7 Sept, delivered yesterday, fortuitously only 2 hrs after my old phone finally went haywire (1cm wide vertical strip of dead pixels plus random high frequency triggering of touches all over the screen)
Unfortunately it was very difficult to control the UI to clone my phone in this condition, so I installed everything from scratch on new phone. Really vomit blood with all the authentication processes, much more tedious than 3 yrs ago, Citibank eat **** and die! Weibo and Trust Bank also very ****. Next time have to install Bitwarden in advance liao

I dunno how elderly nowadays deal with the different pw requirements from different organizations, some of them conflict such as must use special char or cannot use special char or special char yes but not @, so different password need to be used, then they make you enable passkey fingerprint for convenience, so I end up forgetting the pw and have to reset, then during reset they say cannot reuse the previous 5 pw or some other restrictions.
The processor.. cannot accept liao.. good as secondary phone ba.. day to day use I think will be frustratingly slow to my standards..

crandfs

The processor.. cannot accept liao.. good as secondary phone ba.. day to day use I think will be frustratingly slow to my standards..
Means the more recently an app is installed, the more unoptimized and resource demanding it is.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.