How come Thailand BTS trains can be colder during peak hour than SG MRT trains?

HushiePuppies

I recently take the Thailand BTS trains during peak hour. KNN sibei crowded and have to be stuck between couple of siam bus and uncles but the aircon blast down the train like super cold and no one complain hot / sweating.

Yet Singapore MRT trains machiam no money to spend on aircons. Not even fully peak yet the train hot, smelly, and lack of air ventilation. Almost gonna faint liao. Can LTA do something about it?

N4E.SI

Gahment trying to let sinkies heat accustomization. Their master plan is for 20M population & turn SG into 100% concrete jungle. Next time minimum will be 45C avg daily temp. So now must learn to adapt to hot & smelly & crowded MRT first... gahment doing a good job by letting sinkie slowly get used to living in a furnance like environment

cheesybites1

sg air con in public transport not allowed to turn on so cold, need to save the world

sseasea

And surprisingly need LTA to step in when is manage by private company

Otokiru

ya lor, mrt hot af... still dare up price... pui...

JonWeak

I recently take the Thailand BTS trains during peak hour. KNN sibei crowded and have to be stuck between couple of siam bus and uncles but the aircon blast down the train like super cold and no one complain hot / sweating.

Yet Singapore MRT trains machiam no money to spend on aircons. Not even fully peak yet the train hot, smelly, and lack of air ventilation. Almost gonna faint liao. Can LTA do something about it?
Now is raining season right? I see some street food livestreamers almost every night raining.

Anyway, yeah I was there in April and now that you mention it their BTS is more cold compared to ours

divineone

Simple. Ivory tower dwellers don't take MRT so they don't know how uncomfortable it is

IAmChiobu12M

Wah so is not me who find their aircon very cold. I usually not scared cold. Yes some older lines not cold, like red line. New lines all quite cold I feel.

madcampus

Save money lo
This. Colder aircon = higher operating cost. Last time I went to 24hours NTUC at 2am, aircon was as good as non-existent. Very stuffy. Now at least better, I think many ppl complain. TS should just write in feedback to complain. It's not about comfort, but proper ventilation. A stuffy poorly ventilated train can easily spread airborne virus too, especially in a crowded carriage.

simon_84

This. Colder aircon = higher operating cost. Last time I went to 24hours NTUC at 2am, aircon was as good as non-existent. Very stuffy. Now at least better, I think many ppl complain. TS should just write in feedback to complain. It's not about comfort, but proper ventilation. A stuffy poorly ventilated train can easily spread airborne virus too, especially in a crowded carriage.
Tbh retail places with low sales figures will try to reduce electricity bills by switching off at least some sections of their air con system during off peak or close to end of the retail hours.

PAP4ever

save $ on elec..

setting aircon temp to 25 instead of 21... saves alot of $$$ for SMRT lehs

the_dog

Everywhere in Thailand especially in malls aircon macam free electricity. Where got like our tree hugging set-at-24-deg-to-save-polar-bears nonsense.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.