How does SEZ Johor benefit us??

hachi

Yes.. I find more opportunities if we can leverage on it. I don't mind have a role that covers 2 locations. As long I got good package..

Dudick

If jhk is willing to stay in JB and earn ringgit, we will have such heavy jam as causeway. So jhk also don’t benefit much. Jhk want sgd, not ringgit

Spike

Actually I know a few F&B bosses want to shift operation to Malaysia. They planning to set up factory there and take advantage of the cheap utilities, rental and employment expenses. They will keep their Singapore office to import from major countries like US, Brazil etc and then send over the raw materials to Malaysia to do processing. After that the finished products can either go worldwide or back to SG for sales.
Tough la.. AVA got requirements for imported food, and quota as well.. not happy happy set up in Malaysia and bring over to Singapore.

For example, for food security, and to diversity food sources, there are country quota restrictions on certain basic necessities such as eggs and poultry..

hachi

If jhk is willing to stay in JB and earn ringgit, we will have such heavy jam as causeway. So jhk also don’t benefit much. Jhk want sgd, not ringgit
They are many like us... Don't want the hardship so we take the jobs to their country... Lesser jam as well... We go there as management...

mooseolly

Tough la.. AVA got requirements for imported food, and quota as well.. not happy happy set up in Malaysia and bring over to Singapore.

For example, for food security, and to diversity food sources, there are country quota restrictions on certain basic necessities such as eggs and poultry..
Yes there are existing restrictions but that can also change with the new SEZ.

Dudick

They are many like us... Don't want the hardship so we take the jobs to their country... Lesser jam as well... We go there as management...

My point is jhk will still look for jobs in SG that pays SGD, so those factories in the SEZ will not be attractive to them unless they get to earn SGD, they will be willing to cross the bridge to earn 3x so the jam will still remain

hachi

My point is jhk will still look for jobs in SG that pays SGD, so those factories in the SEZ will not be attractive to them unless they get to earn SGD, they will be willing to cross the bridge to earn 3x so the jam will still remain
Not all jhk... There are still many untapped human resources in jb. Especially lower tier workers.

Eliwood

Not really. Orchard is the better place in SG, but everything will be more expensive. So I prefer to stay at a cheaper place, rather than better.

Haha ya i suspected the metric to be price. The context of the qn is why ang mo expats, who typically are quite well paid, will prefer SG to JB.

artncraft

JS-SEZ forum to be held in Chinese

A forum on the Johor-Singapore Special Economic Zone (JS-SEZ) will be held entirely in Chinese for the first time to draw more investors from Singapore and China.

Event organising chairman Joe Chong said the Chinese language forum was aimed at giving potential investors a clearer understanding of the JS-SEZ.

The event is set for May 27 and 28, from 10am to 9.30pm, at Austin International Convention Centre in Johor Baru.

https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/me...sez-forum-to-be-held-in-chinese#goog_rewarded

Itsthatguy

1) Singaporean owned farms were established in the SEZ already before launch for example A Little Wild and Aliyah Rizq which is making a huge expansion now. Archisen is the technological one entering partnership there late last year.

2) The setup of CleanTech district, Punggol Digital District. Razing old factories all over Singapore and farmland in Chua Chu Kang. For AI, global tech HQs are now in Singapore with their database centres already or in building phase in the SEZ.

3) importing of highly skilled foreign workers in Singapore are already widely known and the numbers are out there. Factories already set up in SEZ from Korean, China, etc MNCs recently and they are working towards 70% Johorean/Malaysian workers, while the rest should be foreigners like lower level managerial Singaporean since Singapore government do have a stake in the SEZ. The Johor royalty have already pushed educators exchange program between his state and Singapore too.

4) by looking at above, this is common sense then.

Hard data and KPIs please.

Godeau

'Us' means who exactly? Definitely does not include sinkie employees

pmetpmet

Purpose of SEZ is to achieve 2 goals:

1. They get the manufacturing that they want from us
2. We get the labor we need from them

This is why RTS is so crucial in this planning. We need to house them in JB while allowing them to commute daily to work in SG :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Visor9999

Retire in SEZ, COL problem solved since it depends on Jb govt

Shion

Senior Mentor
history will judge sg decision on rts, sez and hsr with the harshest condemnation

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.