I notice almost 80%-90% of elderly who I came across can do all 6 ADL before they passed away.

Joe Maya

Only when they hospitalised before they RIP then they cannot perform.
Who came out with this kumgong idea ?

What does ADL mean?

According to the National Cancer Institute, ADL refers to ‘Activities of Daily Living’ or basic self-care tasks, and is a concept of how independent an elderly person is. These are routine activities that people have learned from a young age and usually do on a daily basis without any assistance such as eating, dressing, grooming, and using the toilet.

This term is commonly used amongst professionals who work in elderly care services as it helps them identify which seniors need more support in certain areas. If you work in a nursing facility, or perhaps an elderly home care service agency, it is essential to familiarise yourself with these terms as you go along.

Many of these activities of daily living may seem like simple and mundane tasks for most people. However, given the increasing ageing population in different societies, there may be elderly people who are unable to function like they used to and need assistive care with basic ADLs.

857575_Graphics-on-ADLs_Blog_102720-844x571.png

Wilberttt

If cannot do anyone of them means very jialat already.

In fact, there should be 1 more activity added to the list. Knowing the day of the week.

Dementia patients often have short termed memory and cannot discern day and date. These persons need assistance in their daily living because they forget what medications they have taken, what time of the day it is, whether they have taken their meals or not etc. They need to be prompted often and repeatedly over the course of the day.

nyvrem

most are like that i think ?

my 80+ yo grand aunt v active everyday havoc go out etc

1 day she woke up slip and fell while walking down stairs at home, jitao go hospital check up, doctor hospitalize her, 3 days later uplorry

Joe Maya

If cannot do anyone of them means very jialat already.

In fact, there should be 1 more activity added to the list. Knowing the day of the week.

Dementia patients often have short termed memory and cannot discern day and date. These persons need assistance in their daily living because they forget what medications they have taken, what time of the day it is, whether they have taken their meals or not etc. They need to be prompted often and repeatedly over the course of the day.

I thought dementia cover 3 or 4 out of those 6 ?

Joe Maya

most are like that i think ?

my 80+ yo grand aunt v active everyday havoc go out etc

1 day she woke up slip and fell while walking down stairs at home, jitao go hospital check up, doctor hospitalize her, 3 days later uplorry

Exactly.

All those elderly RIP i visit can do all 6 ADL, only when they hospitalised then they cannot.

BosoPeta

What does ADL mean?

According to the National Cancer Institute, ADL refers to ‘Activities of Daily Living’ or basic self-care tasks, and is a concept of how independent an elderly person is. These are routine activities that people have learned from a young age and usually do on a daily basis without any assistance such as eating, dressing, grooming, and using the toilet.

This term is commonly used amongst professionals who work in elderly care services as it helps them identify which seniors need more support in certain areas. If you work in a nursing facility, or perhaps an elderly home care service agency, it is essential to familiarise yourself with these terms as you go along.

Many of these activities of daily living may seem like simple and mundane tasks for most people. However, given the increasing ageing population in different societies, there may be elderly people who are unable to function like they used to and need assistive care with basic ADLs.

giphy.webp

wwenze

This is to make sure uncareshield no need payout

Joe Maya

Best TS simi sai insurance oso don’t buy. :(

i already have so many insurance liao.

AVIVA NS term,GE Supremehealth Plus, NTUC vivo,revo, , i think got 2 rider already, lazy to cancel one

nyvrem

Exactly.

All those elderly RIP i visit can do all 6 ADL, only when they hospitalised then they cannot.

some times i feel if elderly can do all 6 ADL, if got minor injury, just see doc and avoid hospital.

3 of my relatives kenna minor stuff, go hospital, jitao uplorry after getting admitted.

when i say minor, means stuff like minor fall etc. not cancer / some organ failure. they basically can go about their life as per normal.

limpeh456

ownself stupaik then claim can do, of course to claim insurance all say cannot do, doctor check also close one eye wan.
u say cannot do dressing, even if doctor on the ball also cannot dispute u

Lchlch

at one point in time, we will also age and we might be like that too.
how to have a healthy old age ?
i think we need to eat healthy food, eat moderate.
drink plenty of water.
exercises , brisk walk, every day.
walk and walk here and there.
dont sit and stare at the tv whole day, muscle will gone to waste.

PortaPumper

What does ADL mean?

This type of insurance is best not to claim at all.

Moi have few elderly and not old relatives and friends who kenna stroke, heart-attack and dementia but no die. The payout only help to subsidize a small portion of their community hospital and nursing home monthly bills for 6 years (now new on can payout until mati). Even though the payout is low, it really do help and means a lot to the patient's family and loved ones that are coughing out blood money to pay for the expenses. Very cham one, trust moi, better insure yourself for the sake of your family.

Moi no insurance agent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.