In between JB and malacca

pew

Will be driving up to malacca this sat morning, abit sick of Johor Bahru,
Anywhere interesting to visit or any good food to recommend on the way to malacca?
Will be going with my wife and 5 year old son.

koolaid

can take pagoh exit n go muar for food. otah, bak kut teh, cze char... cheap n good.

beanstalk6

Make the exit for Yong Peng south for food and small town charms, then return to the toll-way via the Yong Peng north gantry. Another possibility is to visit Ayer Hitam, now better known for its ceramics. In fact you can exit at Simpang Rengam and visit both towns before returning to the highway at Yong Peng north. Both the highway and the old trunk road run parallel and are visible from each other along much of the stretch.
I consider Muar a long detour from the highway.

koolaid

Make the exit for Yong Peng south for food and small town charms, then return to the toll-way via the Yong Peng north gantry. Another possibility is to visit Ayer Hitam, now better known for its ceramics. In fact you can exit at Simpang Rengam and visit both towns before returning to the highway at Yong Peng north. Both the highway and the old trunk road run parallel and are visible from each other along much of the stretch.
I consider Muar a long detour from the highway.

i think the traveling distance isnt that different. ie ns hwy - pagoh - muar - small lebuh - melaka, and ns hwy - ayer keroh - melaka. I've been using that smaller hwy between muar and melaka for years and i find that traffic is usually very light. and dont need to pay toll on the smaller hwy.

unless ur idea of detour is to exit pagoh to muar and then from muar, drive back to pagoh then to ns hwy then to ayer keroh to melaka town, its gonna take another hour or so to reach melaka town. and similar to exiting ns hwy to visit ayer hitam or yong peng, u will need to pay toll twice when reentering ns hwy. my 2 cents.

pew

Any specific stall I can visit?

Cuz will be leaving sg in the wee hours of the morning, and won’t be able to check into malacca hotel till after 2 or 3
Don’t want to wonder aimlessly around especially with a 5 year old kid

timsum

can stop by restoran do do do in tangkak for beef noodle..less than 5 min from tangkak toll

koolaid

clear customs at 630am.

then drive to restoran abmh for some roti canai, thosai, nasi goreng, kopi teh tarik...

leave at 8am and drive towards pagoh exit to muar. u will probably reach muar town before 1130am depending on how fast u drive n how many stops u make. for me, no stops from jb usually about 2 hours.

at muar, u can try shee yan restoran for some cze char. since just 2 adults n a kid, may be just order 4 or 5 dishes n a bowl of rice. sambal prawns with patai, deep fried dragon fish, otak, foo yong eggs, sotong, bamboo clams, asam fish... muar asam fish is not the spicy type. most of my kaki like it. i rem one guy ate 3 bowls of rice bcos he like the sourish taste of the sauce.

for shee yan, the queue will be long if u reach there after 1130am. if u can't wait, then go try popeye bak kut tay.

after makan, u can either visit wetex mall for an hour or start a nice drive to melaka. takes about an hour to reach melaka town.

i don't have the address of these places.
Google for them. have a safe trip.

pew

clear customs at 630am.

then drive to restoran abmh for some roti canai, thosai, nasi goreng, kopi teh tarik...

leave at 8am and drive towards pagoh exit to muar. u will probably reach muar town before 1130am depending on how fast u drive n how many stops u make. for me, no stops from jb usually about 2 hours.

at muar, u can try shee yan restoran for some cze char. since just 2 adults n a kid, may be just order 4 or 5 dishes n a bowl of rice. sambal prawns with patai, deep fried dragon fish, otak, foo yong eggs, sotong, bamboo clams, asam fish... muar asam fish is not the spicy type. most of my kaki like it. i rem one guy ate 3 bowls of rice bcos he like the sourish taste of the sauce.

for shee yan, the queue will be long if u reach there after 1130am. if u can't wait, then go try popeye bak kut tay.

after makan, u can either visit wetex mall for an hour or start a nice drive to melaka. takes about an hour to reach melaka town.

i don't have the address of these places.
Google for them. have a safe trip.

Thanks....

For abmh, if you happen to be there at night, try their mutton satay....very nice.
Also can try their seafood fried rice and Maggie tomyam goreng....shiok.

koolaid

Thanks....

For abmh, if you happen to be there at night, try their mutton satay....very nice.
Also can try their seafood fried rice and Maggie tomyam goreng....shiok.

wah didnt know they sell satay lei... nice... never try their satay before, will try if have chance... the briyani is quite good too. i used to makan there twice a month. so the people there know us... i usually help myself with their curry. sometimes they dont charge me for second round. lol... their wifi is quite slow, iirc the password is 77777777. theres a money changer beside this place. the rates can be quite good at times.

btw what time u reaching woodlands custom? sat the jam usually starts at 530am. :( lol...

pew

wah didnt know they sell satay lei... nice... never try their satay before, will try if have chance... the briyani is quite good too. i used to makan there twice a month. so the people there know us... i usually help myself with their curry. sometimes they dont charge me for second round. lol... their wifi is quite slow, iirc the password is 77777777. theres a money changer beside this place. the rates can be quite good at times.

btw what time u reaching woodlands custom? sat the jam usually starts at 530am. :( lol...

Satay is only at night
Prob cross customs by 5 or 6 I guess....but depend on whether can giao my son up anot

questionman26

Going to drive to Malacca from Tuas checkpoint, what is the latest total toll fees to Ayer Keroh exit? What is the exit into NS highway from Tuas Checkpoint? TIA.

sunsetbay

shld be RM24.80~ top up RM100 will be sufficient to & fro~ use gps, won't go wrong~ :s22:

my visit to malacca on last nov~
Toll-Malacca.png

questionman26

shld be RM24.80~ top up RM100 will be sufficient to & fro~ use gps, won't go wrong~ :s22:

my visit to malacca on last nov~
Toll-Malacca.png

Thanks Bro, just wonder what is Kempas charges? is it a compulsory route to pass by? other i understand

Wonder any different if using Tuas checkpoint?:s22: anyway i will just top up RM100

sunsetbay

Thanks Bro, just wonder what is Kempas charges? is it a compulsory route to pass by? other i understand

Wonder any different if using Tuas checkpoint?:s22: anyway i will just top up RM100

ya, i drove up from woodlands chkpt~ from tuas to NSHW will not pass by~ :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.