In Singapore - is mental health really a "thing"?

hardwriter

Usually asian parents will just say "just snap out of it" and it is all resolved. And somehow it is not an issue since 50 plus years ago, why is it only gaining traction now? Because asians are growing weak? Affecting employers?

cyke69sg

Usually asian parents will just say "just snap out of it" and it is all resolved. And somehow it is not an issue since 50 plus years ago, why is it only gaining traction now? Because asians are growing weak? Affecting employers?
Did people really snap out of it? Or they just committed suicide?

hardwriter

Did people really snap out of it? Or they just committed suicide?
Somehow in the past always understood as asians no mental illnesses de. It's something created by amdk to avoid work.

If asians got suspected mental illnesses, the way to go is to just work harder and earn more money or study harder. Or something along these lines.

cyke69sg

Somehow in the past always understood as asians no mental illnesses de. It's something created by amdk to avoid work.

If asians got suspected mental illnesses, the way to go is to just work harder and earn more money or study harder. Or something along these lines.
I tell you why the switch.

It has to do with people. Service industry.

Dealing with difficult people a holes karens wears people down. Complaints. Expectations.

In the past the work is in manufacturing. Construction. Farming. Deal with process. Procedure. Less to do with people.

People feel tired after work but not get their emotions toyed with and self respect torn down by customers and clients.

Yes got the bad supervisor but is just one person.

Depression is more those people who Kena destroyed their soul by another human. Might be spouse or boss or customers.

cyke69sg

A lot of mental health has roots in trauma.
People traumatized by childhood abuse. Sexual abuse. Abuse of all kinds.
In older days we accepted abuse as being normal. Even love.
Now we call it abuse.
Hence also the mind records this as abuse in different parts of brain. Hence mental health more.

If parents beat kids up. father beat wife up. Is it love?

semiret

High COL plays a very important parts to such problem. Imagine in mid 40s you're being retrenched yet can't get a job to support your family?
For young chap after graduated can't secured job after 9-12mths the pressure is too huge for most of people to take it. On top of that guys still spends 2yrs for NS. This generation of kids are pampered by their parents. As it's quite common they only had 1 and only kid. Those kids when grown up can't took setbacks. That's the reason a lots of young chaps commits suicides nowadays.
I just coded this 2 groups of people as examples. Other stages of life also have all sorts of challenges.
Just my thought.

hardwriter

High COL plays a very important parts to such problem. Imagine in mid 40s you're being retrenched yet can't get a job to support your family?
For young chap after graduated can't secured job after 9-12mths the pressure is too huge for most of people to take it. On top of that guys still spends 2yrs for NS. This generation of kids are pampered by their parents. As it's quite common they only had 1 and only kid. Those kids when grown up can't took setbacks. That's the reason a lots of young chaps commits suicides nowadays.
I just coded this 2 groups of people as examples. Other stages of life also have all sorts of challenges.
Just my thought.
High COL, Retrenchment and graduate underemployment is not a recent thing as at today......

Been around for many many years le....

kreja

Ppl really will commit suicide one. Need to be more educated and treat it more seriously.

A Better Tomorrow

Let go of people and things that cause the mental health.

Come to terms that there are things beyond your control and know that great things are on the way.

li9ht5peed

mental illness is just a tool to control humans. they want to label you "crazy" not to help you, but to disqualify you from politics, to discredit you, to silence you and to forcibly imprison you in an institution eg imh. of course there are some who are obviously crazy. but many aren't. some call themselves depressed or crazy to escape severe sentences

ageism is another political tool. they can label you as demented and forcibly lock you up in old folks home or geriatric wards in hospitals, denying you of your voting rights again. that's why there are so many hospitals. hospital doctors have great powers. it's not just the mc. if they diagnose you as crazy or demented, there are consequences. ever wondered why you need id access? last time no need. it's a "prison". you can be locked up under hospital orders. you need permission to leave. can't simply walk out after admission. thus i find it puzzling why people like to get themselves in there or pay so much insurance for it

Vinda99

It is not that there wasn't mental illness / mental health issues

Just that there was no proper diagnosis of them

Last time

Schizo/psycho = siao

Depression = sad, emo

Autism = gong

Klepto = thief

OCD = low level siao, weirdo

Voyeurism = tikopeh

Dementia= old hutu

etc, and there were no proper avenues to seek help. With time, there is greater awareness from more information and studies, that's how we are able to diagnose and manage these now.

😢

li9ht5peed

It takes time and a great deal of effort to learn and come to terms with it.

no amount of treatment can cure a man who believes that his perception is the reality he lives in
rulers throughout history and even today are able to accomplish things like uniting china, russia or america because there's some craziness in them. craziness is the kind of passion that allows you to excel in music, sports, arts and academics. you need crazy people to accomplish great things. that's why pap is so fearful of crazy people. so they want normal people. normal people have no ambition. they are easily satisfied with cdc vouchers. they are happy doing food delivery, phv or be hawkers. but crazy people are a different animal. let's put aside those really crazy types eg stripping naked in public, talking to themselves, cursing others in public randomly, lying flat on busy walkways. the crazy type who can accomplish great things are what the government is after. call them crazy, lock them up, silence them. our population is growing. more and more new citizens every year. the government needs to tool to control people. and it's the "xiao lang" campaign. they are going to stigmatize it. not de-stigmatize. so don't be mistaken. it's not about your mental health. they don't care about your mental health

weiess

according to pm wong... YES!

maxresdefault.jpg

leonaheidern

according to pm wong... YES!
maxresdefault.jpg

yep more with the brain washing to see other peoples perspectives. it's probably because you took in too much of other people's perspectives and point of view that turned you crazy in the first place.

humans inherently are selfish creatures. as long as you keep doing what they want you are a 'good worker'

herzberg

Of course mental health is a thing la, that's why gahmen built hougang chalet so siaolang can recover mental health

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.