is this pc worth for $650?

limjialok

hi, my friend is selling his pc with the following specs at $650, is this worth it or I can get a better rig for the price? I don't mind used parts for the build you guys suggest.

i7-4790 with atx mobo
16gb ddr3
gtx1060 6gb
128gb basic ssd
2th hdd
coolermaster gx550w bronze psu
a normal atx case

klap_hanz

Better for u to build a new AMD Ryzen 2xxx rig lah, still can enjoy ddr4 rams and 500gb ssd oso quite cheap now

4eva_mark

hi, my friend is selling his pc with the following specs at $650, is this worth it or I can get a better rig for the price? I don't mind used parts for the build you guys suggest.

i7-4790 with atx mobo
16gb ddr3
gtx1060 6gb
128gb basic ssd
2th hdd
a normal atx case

It depends on whether you want a PC now or you can wait another 3 months until enthusiasts start selling their Ryzen 5 2600 for the 3000 series Ryzen. It also depends on what kind of 16 GB DDR3 ram and GPU brand is that. If you are able to check exactly what they are and price it the parts, it will be easier to determine the value and worth etc..

If the dual channel 16GB DDR3 ram your friend is selling you in the bundle is a normal 1333 MHz CL 9 type from Kingston or SK Hynix then it is worth only SGD $110-120. However, if is those super high end G Skill etc running at 1866 MHz CL 10 or 9 then maybe $180-190.

As for the GTX 1060 6GB, those weak ones will be about SGD $200 in the used Market whereas the higher end ones that can run higher sustained clock speeds under 75°c will go around $260 max. Anything more you might as well get new haha.

So if you can find out from your friend roughly what the components are exactly then you will be able to price out individually, add in a bundle discount and see if $650 is worth your time and money or perhaps you can get it at $550 instead etc.

After you have done all of that and determined the estimated price, you can step up to a whole new level of value and peace of mind by asking him how much more discount he can give if you don’t want his old 128 GB SSD and 2 TB HDD. Use that discount off the bundle to buy for yourself a brand new SSD to be used as your primary boot drive.

Hope this helps and all the best!

bobozhang137

I see 2nd hand market. Agar price now is
I7 4790 = 270sgd. (No idea why ppl still buy this sheet. Ryzen better and cheaper. Brand new with warranty 1600 also 250sgd)
Random b85 motherboard =80 to 120 sgd. (Same thing can easily buy b350 boards for that price. Newegg sometimes 80sgd also can find)
16gb ram. =150 sgd. Im just assuming price here. Cause speed and brand unknown. (Ddr4 2666mhz can find around 180 sgd for 16gb on carousell. I think i even saw a 3200mhz gskill tridentz for 220sgd.)
Gtx 1060 6gb. Zotax 200. Other brand max 250. (See what you need. Personally if u light game and stick to 1080p. Its enough)
128gb ssd is like. 25sgd maybe? I see brand new 250gb ssd for 50 to 60
1tb hdd. Dont even wanna talk abt it.
Cooler master psu and case. Max ill pay is 50

Anyway tldr is. Looking at individual prices. Its quite okay. Maybe it will cost you around 750 if u slowly find the parts and build. But take note there is no warranty. And most probably his parts are 3 or more years old. Take that into consideration and i agree 550sgd max

Personally what ill do is buy a ryzen 1600 with mobo on carousell. Most prolly cost me 350 max. Get rams from newegg. Around 160sgd. Get a 500gb sdd for 120. A psu and a tecware nexus. Maybe 85 for both? That will set u back 720. Then get a 2nd hand gpu. One that suits your needs. Thats my advice. Less than 1k. And better performance than the 650 pc.

i7-4790 with atx mobo
16gb ddr3
gtx1060 6gb
128gb basic ssd
2th hdd
a normal atx case

dgenex

4790 no warranty, later spoil need buy new one end up still spend close to 1k.

Id suggest just buying whole thing new, build yourself, probably less than 1k for similar performance. And you have warranty

Sent from Xiaomi MI A1 using GAGT

Godeau

i7-4790 with atx mobo
16gb ddr3
gtx1060 6gb
128gb basic ssd
2th hdd
a normal atx case

Don't bother, skip at that price.

klap_hanz

Look for deals and offers on Shopee/Lazada/Qoo10/Carousell/Amazon Prime/Newegg SG

Overseas got Newegg/Amazon/eBay/Taobao/Aliexpress/Rakuten

I love to visit BuildaPCSales sub-reddit daily too...

Look for the parts below :

- AMD Ryzen 2600/2600X/2700/2700X
- AMD B450/X370 mobos
- 16gb DDR4 ram (2 x 8gb)
- AMD RX570/580/590 graphics card
- 500gb to 1tb ssd
- 550W to 650W PSU

But u oreadi missed all the 11.11, BF and CM deals liao

HolyInnocents

if it's a close friend then there's personal warranty right :s13:

can always find him if there's any issue

but maybe ur friendship may end after this

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.