Just nao 958 had a discussion on the OCBC customers who were scammed 8 million...

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

addict951

They analysed that these scammers seem to know & are familiar with how our banks work, etc and they are obviously overseas. Then they stopped there.

So nao I’m thinking these scammers are familiar becos they very likely had been here or lived here b4 so they knew about OTP all these. WORST: they might have worked in the banks b4??? Which is why they are familiar with bank operations and the loopholes and this is how they devised their ploys to scam sinkies???
So nao the next kwestian is who allowed these crooks to come infiltrate Sg? My “meaning shallow shallow” y’all know huat I mean hor? :look:

ricohflex

Can you just say ceca. Instead of going on a trip around the world, to hint.
That may or may not be true. (that the culprits are indians from india)

Russians and mainland Chinese are also good at scamming.
If OCBC is a local bank with Chinese roots, the scammers may be mainland Chinese, Taiwan Chinese or Malaysian Chinese.
Some level of cultural and language affinity is required to carry out the social engineering aspect of Scam on Target Victims.

LemonSalmon

Don't listen to 958 weekday morning segment, very toxic and nonsensical huan. Also filled with cringey propaganda which the DJs would shamelessly support and air it.

chongquan82

One of the dj super power leh

Say olympig take much money from China

Cannot anyhow ban this ban that

The other dj realized step on land mine and quickly cut her off

🤪🤪🤪

stupidog

u know hor, i think they have access to customer's bank accounts.

those more than 20k in bank wan they call and scam,

but how come my nephew and nieces with less than 1k in bank never receive such links/sms or call before ?

tokiya

They analysed that these scammers seem to know & are familiar with how our banks work, etc and they are obviously overseas. Then they stopped there.

So nao I’m thinking these scammers are familiar becos they very likely had been here or lived here b4 so they knew about OTP all these. WORST: they might have worked in the banks b4??? Which is why they are familiar with bank operations and the loopholes and this is how they devised their ploys to scam sinkies???
So nao the next kwestian is who allowed these crooks to come infiltrate Sg? My “meaning shallow shallow” y’all know huat I mean hor? :look:

Means these are done by foreigners who are ex-employees of our local banks?

PrinceY

Stir ah stir.. not saying totally impossible,

but then a Chinese saying 没吃过猪肉,也见过猪跑.. OCBC also not say some secret force, society or org where only they themselves know what the procedures are like and the rest of the world don’t know.. banks processes more or less same one, if want to scam of course will do some homework what (even the U** bank app interface also similar to the D** bank app interface)

Maybe they just happened to strike jackpot by mass send, or maybe there’s really a leak somewhere.. oh well, End of the day not u not me will know one

Like the pretend to be SPF cop one.. u also see after some attempts, he look more and more professional (correct uniform or hat whatever, simi chest hair cover up etc)

rachdanon

My only question is can they hack the OTP and hence withdraw money without me knowing. I.e the OTP sent to them instead of to my phone.

Platinumstartvf

When you call your bank for queries, who picks up your phone calls? :rolleyes:

Ambergris

My only question is can they hack the OTP and hence withdraw money without me knowing. I.e the OTP sent to them instead of to my phone.
possible, some phones have been cloned before, whatever human design and create, there will be a way.

addict951

The 958 leescussion had a victim's pa came on to relate the sexperience
The scammee is 16yo xmm
she leeceived the sms (wif fake/scam url) at midnite
Then she logged on to peform the "check"
then later she logged on again and saw only $30+ left
The scammer(s) transferred away $7500
Then leeport poodle force
Sexperience left xmm traumatised :look:

addict951

When you call your bank for queries, who picks up your phone calls? :rolleyes:
Nao I very wary alrdy
Dun call bangs/cso to check anything about bang a/c balances, etc
cos they do verification check after that they can see your bang balances and details. Wah lao, what if I'm like BW got millions in the bang a/c then ppl see my bang balance and salivate? :s31:
Nao the kwestian is whether these ppl can be trusted not to become greedy to you know, "cheat"
Sian sia, we rely on the banks but nao dun know whether they got hire the "right" ppl anot :look:
So nao really maybe keep inside biscuit tins at home safer :o

lampano

the problem now is customer data.
all this scums they have all access to YOUR personal info freely
they can just make out any scams to suit anyone

Nvr join any lucky draw or simi whatever who requires yr info /address etc
setup passwords also be weary also..to seperate many

plexxor

Won't be a surprise to me if bank insider took part in the scams

Smarty22

In my opinion bank should be held responsible to allow security lapses to occur . Banks are custodians of customers’ funds and if it is not safe to put our hard earned money with them might as well put under our pillow, which is safer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.