last time sg, the rich didnt purposely flaunt their rolls royce now buy second to show off!

tokong

Inb4 professionals need more cars my wife drive 1 I drive 1

😢
Depends on who you are (or what ses status you are) when you hear it. It is a fair comment.
Rich people buy car is like buy new aircon system 4. Mundane ppl buy new aircon system 4 need to think for one whole year.
If you get easily offended by such remarks then it means you buay zai.

Kaylin

coz now there are more entrepreneurs than professionals, so need to use it to help them 装逼 :(

hellhole

no one will take a glance at this podcast or whatever you call it if they dont point out the negative things...

Vinda99

Depends on who you are (or what ses status you are) when you hear it. It is a fair comment.
Rich people buy car is like buy new aircon system 4. Mundane ppl buy new aircon system 4 need to think for one whole year.
I think the key takeaway is the person who said it originally is supposed to be working for a lot of the very people you deemed buay zai.

Whether his remark is honest or tone-deaf is subjective, just like your definition of rich and zai. I don't think anyone is really offended by the comment, rather more are amused by it. It is only when people start to stir by dividing the zai and buay zai that people get gaslit into taking offence.

😢

cosmothecat

It's true

Everything is relative

To a low-SES person, a bowl of Japanese Ramen at S$18 is too expensive

But to a mid-SES person, they regularly eat S$18 bowl of Japanese Ramen.

Spike

It's true

Everything is relative

Eating $18 ramen daily is mid ses? 😲

Okie. I admit that I'm low ses. :(

cosmothecat

Eating $18 ramen daily is mid ses? 😲

Okie. I admit that I'm low ses. :(
It's true

Rich people is go hotel restaurant or higher end restaurants eat, those places their noodles one bowl is S$28 to S$40

I go to this hotel fancy restaurant eat often, and I saw this high profile elite person ate there twice

CanIsayNo

last time people dont flaunt meh? real or not? those old enough will remember people used to flash their brick handphones around.. drive their conti cars around. where got never flaunt?

cyke69sg

It's true

Everything is relative

Yeah like maid from Myanmar eat $7 Bak chor mee from tai Wah.

Ubi-Warrior

What's the point of being rich if you can't show off? Very few rich people jerk off to the idea of unlimited cai png for the next 3 generations.

Agree , similar to being in power in a Govt or Company.

If cannot exploit then what is the point?

cosmothecat

Yeah like maid from Myanmar eat $7 Bak chor mee from tai Wah.
I only saw the thread title, didn't read the thread. Then the thread got deleted, wasted. Someone mentioned quite interesting thread to read.

Anyway, $7 noodles is not that expensive. Yong Tau Foo (YTF) nowadays each item is $1 and the minimum order required is 6 items plus one noodle/rice (additional $1). Total, also $7. Pretty much market price for a noodle meal at a food court.

NintendoSwitch

Last time got Maria Hertogh Riot, Hock Lee Bus Riot. The lich knew better than to flaunt lest they becum targets. Nao bo riots liao so can in your face.
iu

meekiatah

From a female 温州 tiktoker..

有钱,就好像有穿内裤,
你不必逢人,就必须证明你有穿。。。

😂

daveteo88

Last time everybody carry their baby. Only angmo can afford to buy pram. You dun see local pushing pram not because they dun want to show off. Is because they cannot afford. Last time less ppl drive expensive car but now Singapore got so many millionaires. Is not that last time ppl more humble dun show off. Is they dun hv so many millionaires

Evil_Boss

Last time everybody carry their baby. Only angmo can afford to buy pram. You dun see local pushing pram not because they dun want to show off. Is because they cannot afford. Last time less ppl drive expensive car but now Singapore got so many millionaires. Is not that last time ppl more humble dun show off. Is they dun hv so many millionaires

you'll be surprised at how many "old money" familes are out there. look at the latest great eastern shareholders, families have millions but dun wanna sell the shares.

and some have just spare GCB's just sitting there empty...

mickey88

Knn..mountain turtle..my previous boss dun buy sports car..he just buy yacht ..those show off is just not rich enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.