Lawyer Recommendation

alvin316

Hi my uncle passed away without a will, my auntie and cousin needs to find a lawyer to get a letter of administration but have been quoted 2500 - 3000. Anyone who is familiar can advice or recommend a reliable and less expensive lawyer for the service?

henrylbh

If estate less than 50k turn to public trustee. Assets under joint names will not be part of estate e.g. hdb flat and cpf with nomination.

alvin316

They have tried the public trustees as well as legal aid but got rejected.

Thanks to the kind bros who PM me thank you very much.

arctician

2.5-3 are market rates, i doubt u can get any lawyer below that..in fact some charge 5k and X% of ur estate..so urs is ok liao

abkt99

Hi,anyone has any recommendations for a personal injury lawyer?Someone i know got into a traffic accident.She was a pedestrian and got hit by a car.Any advice would be appreciated.Thanks

1982-1994

I changed my name at vexus' and I paid only $50 for the deed poll while others paid 100+-$200+.
can try asking the lawyer for a quote.

Shepherd Boy

So is it better to have a will in all cases to save the charges on letter of administration?

Letter of admin (died without a will) or grant of probate (died with a will) in many cases you still need to engage a lawyer and really there is no much charges you can save (died with or without a will).

I think the key thing here is to understand what is the implication when a person dies without a will.

According to Singapore’s Intestate Succession Act (Cap. 146), meaning in the absence of a will; the rules of Distribution is as follows:
(1) Spouse, children (2) Parents (3) Siblings (4) Grandparents (5) Aunts and Uncles. (6) Our Chenghu... no choice.. reluctantly they will take.

https://www.mlaw.gov.sg/content/pto...nformation-for-next-of-kin-estate-monies.html

abkt99

Hi,may i find out if anyone has any recommendations for a personal injury lawyer?Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.