Light & proximity sensor error after screen replacement.

TCDC73

First post here... Pardon me if got discuss before hor.

My Oppo Reno 4Pro screen got line come out, so send to some repair shop to change lcd screen.
Cheap type, $100+ only. Go Oppo do about double the price, maybe more.

Now come back, the light sensor n proximity sensor failed diagnostic test leh. Auto brightness doesn't work, screen remain dim all the time.
Bring back shop, they say is normal after changing this 3rd party screen. As if saying this new screen, light sensor don't work one.
Really meh?

TCDC73

As mentioned, went back same shop for checks.
Staff say lcd screen working, it's normal that screen goes dim outdoor when it's bright, when set Auto brightness. (Huh??? Something new to me!) Nothing wrong. Then he disable Auto brightness n adjust brightness, which I know works, and say normal. "Screen is 3rd party, ls like that."

I'm very sure the screen doesn't respond to light when set to Auto Brightness, so is light sensor part of a phone screen? Or I really kena smoked Jia latt Jia latt...

EuroR_CL7

Half the price half the functions, Effectively they solved your issue for a screen though. As long as it functions fine, u can see, touch, type and use as intended.
There's no wrong in their response.

progene

Hmm.. then use another few months, then change to a new phone if still can't get use to it.

TCDC73

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
Ya lor, I'm OK with what I got for that price, only trying to know if the shop is being honest or just covering own backside for technician oversight.
It's a quite famous shop with branches, and my previous repair on another phone also not very well done.

TCDC73

Er, you work there ah? 😅

Like what they say lor, we get what we pay for... want cheap then must accept the result la.

ra[g]e

Er, you work there ah? 😅

Like what they say lor, we get what we pay for... want cheap then must accept the result la.
I don't think its acceptable. If third party screen affects features like auto brightness, etc, they must say upfront. Auto brightness is an important feature, having to manually change brightness every time you move around is troublesome and irritating.

My guess is they screwed up something during the replacement. If its Mister.... something, their service recovery is usually very good. Just bang table a bit. Good luck.

TCDC73

Indeed, their customer service was very good. Dats why even though they didn't do a good job with my 1st repair on another phone, I still go back to them for the lcd screen replacement.

I also felt customers ought to be informed about the possible issues before they did the replacement, but it can be argued that I myself should have done my research, given the low cost of replacement.

Yes, a smartphone is not much a smartphone without Auto Brightness feature nowadays.
Problem is, I already book appointment & gone back to show them. After the staff look see and test test, told me nothing is wrong. I tried to explain the issue, he say it's normal*. There and then I know it's a dead end, no point waste saliva liao. No matter how customer friendly they are (or seem), my phone won't be fixed.

*Friendly staff explained to me the screen never brighten outdoors because Auto Brightness means screen will darken under sun... I on the spot snooked, my mind go blank. All my life I thot earth was round.
Thus the reason for this thread: want to know for a fact whether some lcd screen don't support Light & Proximity sensors.

ra[g]e

Indeed, their customer service was very good. Dats why even though they didn't do a good job with my 1st repair on another phone, I still go back to them for the lcd screen replacement.

I also felt customers ought to be informed about the possible issues before they did the replacement, but it can be argued that I myself should have done my research, given the low cost of replacement.

Yes, a smartphone is not much a smartphone without Auto Brightness feature nowadays.
Problem is, I already book appointment & gone back to show them. After the staff look see and test test, told me nothing is wrong. I tried to explain the issue, he say it's normal*. There and then I know it's a dead end, no point waste saliva liao. No matter how customer friendly they are (or seem), my phone won't be fixed.

*Friendly staff explained to me the screen never brighten outdoors because Auto Brightness means screen will darken under sun... I on the spot snooked, my mind go blank. All my life I thot earth was round.
Thus the reason for this thread: want to know for a fact whether some lcd screen don't support Light & Proximity sensors.
Send them email, threaten them 1-star review. The guy definitely smoking you, ridiculous.

Email will get you a better response.

TCDC73

Customer service was no question sibey steady, response to e-mail & WhatsApp always good.
I did e-mail them, was asked to send a video via WhatsApp to get further assistance.
So must go find another phone to video the screen problem, send to their WhatsApp. Then, send liao they reply cannot view. Send a few more times, send one to my own WhatsApp too, OK leh... Still reply me say cannot see the video.
Text the problem instead, reply say he/she's only the customer service, such tech stuffs require technicians to explain. That, I can understand & don't blame him/her.

Give up already la. It's my time I'm wasting all this while, so better suah la, I no energy liao. Phone can use then mia hiam already.

ra[g]e

Customer service was no question sibey steady, response to e-mail & WhatsApp always good.
I did e-mail them, was asked to send a video via WhatsApp to get further assistance.
So must go find another phone to video the screen problem, send to their WhatsApp. Then, send liao they reply cannot view. Send a few more times, send one to my own WhatsApp too, OK leh... Still reply me say cannot see the video.
Text the problem instead, reply say he/she's only the customer service, such tech stuffs require technicians to explain. That, I can understand & don't blame him/her.

Give up already la. It's my time I'm wasting all this while, so better suah la, I no energy liao. Phone can use then mia hiam already.
Time for the 1-star review. Or upload to a YouTube set to unlisted. They cannot pretend.

TCDC73

Well, just hope others looking at replacing their phone screen learn something from this, be it at the yellow shop or elsewhere.
Screen fixed? Yes.
Sensor problem? What sensor problem... it's normal.

The real issue is not so much the Light sensor, that's only an inconvenience.
Biggest problem is Proximity sensor. Without it, each time we talk on the phone, we run the risk of our face activating something on the screen. Happened few times liao, some funny functions running after i finish a call. :oops:

Be warned.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.