Marc Nixon - Japan's new Prime Minister says she'd rather let the population shrink than flood the country with low-skilled immigration

cal127

Those lines will go into history books as the PM that send the Japanese race deeper to their graves... She is probably very smart to know the consequences but going ahead regardless to solidify her shaky political career. Good luck. 🙏 And Singapore is blessed with much smarter people in the government who choose to do the right thing not to sacrifice the country's future for populist votes.🙏 and a strong voter base that enables that gov to do the right thing.🙏

I think you should read again, research her policies more before you start making stuff up. Her approach of not completely shutting the door, implementing stricter controls, focusing on economic realism and visa enforcement, points to her emphasis of leaning towards targeting low skilled labor. Combined with policies that favor business investment and skilled contributions suggest she may be amenable to selective, economically beneficial immigration. How are they dissimilar to our approach? This aligns with Japan’s existing trend which I myself have observed the country has long been cautious about mass immigration but has made exceptions for higher skilled engineers, researchers, and business managers. In fact if you ask me, SIngapore is actually more open to low skilled labor than Japan. :s13:

kimsix

Really??! Bad,bad coyote

yes, old forums gpgt the proof of his jhk origins, even planing to migrate to australia after leeach here.

not sure now if he is spr or new citizens

but we not xenophobic, we welcome FT ok!

the issue we have is how purposefully loop-sided his post history is, pro-pap immigrations and pro-CCP nonsense. to the point of trolling.. :o

Kanko San

hate Japan is just a slogan.

a lot of Tiong go work in Japan, can never go back to Tiong Land. Salary difference is 3-4 times, and Japan's salary is not really high.

and those with families, felt that the education is good for their kids, the environment is good for them to live, and they felt safe with the system and the food.

Agreed.

Only old Ah Tiong

Young Ah Tiong go Japan, lick their balls n earn their YEN.

speedsonic

And also increase in real estate prices (and in turn other COLs due to the "Pass down to consumers" syndrome due to overdemand.

Also, mass immigration at a pace that might be too fast can often lead to over-burden of the public infrastructures and amenities.

There is a possibility that our train breakdowns being more frequent these few years, due to the increase in passenger load as a result of our ever-increasing population size (6.11 Million now).

Actually is so obvious this that I'm surprised you bothered to type it out. Have use meh? bird Sing songpore.

parchiao

I asked Google Gemini

Metric (Most Recent Available Data)SingaporeJapan
Total PopulationApprox. 6.04 million (Jun 2024)Approx. 124.3 million (Jan 2025)
Total Foreign WorkforceApprox. 1.58 million (Dec 2024)Approx. 2.3 million (Oct 2024)
Non-Resident Population (includes workers, students, dependents)Approx. 1.86 million (Jun 2024)Approx. 3.77 million (Dec 2024)
Foreign-Born/Non-Resident Percentage of Total PopulationApprox. 31% (1.86M out of 6.04M)Approx. 3% (3.77M out of 124.3M)
Foreign Workforce as a Percentage of Total EmploymentNearly 40% (Roughly 1.6M out of a total employment of approx. 4M)Approx. 3.4% (2.3M out of 69M employed)

Non-Resident Population = Total Foreign Workforce + Dependants + Students + Other Long-Term Pass Holders

mewmew

I asked Google Gemini

Metric (Most Recent Available Data)SingaporeJapan
Total PopulationApprox. 6.04 million (Jun 2024)Approx. 124.3 million (Jan 2025)
Total Foreign WorkforceApprox. 1.58 million (Dec 2024)Approx. 2.3 million (Oct 2024)
Non-Resident Population (includes workers, students, dependents)Approx. 1.86 million (Jun 2024)Approx. 3.77 million (Dec 2024)
Foreign-Born/Non-Resident Percentage of Total PopulationApprox. 31% (1.86M out of 6.04M)Approx. 3% (3.77M out of 124.3M)
Foreign Workforce as a Percentage of Total EmploymentNearly 40% (Roughly 1.6M out of a total employment of approx. 4M)Approx. 3.4% (2.3M out of 69M employed)

Non-Resident Population = Total Foreign Workforce + Dependants + Students + Other Long-Term Pass Holders

ask to present in terms of % ish clearer

cal127

It's actually very sad to hear all these from member here. ☹️

Before you go for another victory lap you do know we've long relied on the low-skilled for our HDB, shipyard, marine, cleaning, sanitation and domestic help etc. In fact we have recently expanded our non traditional sources list further to include even more backward countries like Bhutan and Laos this year. Does "doing the right thing" mean accepting the need for low-skilled labor while managing social impact through quotas and levies. as opposed to Japan, under the new leadership, which leans toward cultural preservation and automation, accepting demographic decline over large-scale low-skilled immigration. Help me better understand the wisdom. Is it just about keeping the economy going or is there a balance? :s13:

Lance321

She's right.

No point mass import and with poor enforcement. Red dot is a good example.
Red dot is not a good example because due to shortages, sg uses low skilled workers from overseas for jobs like construction, domestic service, manufacturing, etc..., and there is proper regulation unlike some countries where there are undocumented migrants doing such jobs. These are jobs that most s'poreans don't like to do themselves. Would you want to be a construction worker or a maid?

sg-united

Due to high cost of living, no Singaporeans can afford to work as a construction worker, cleaner, maid, and those low wage jobs. Imagine your take home pay is less than $1,200. Can you survive yourself and those with children?

All the bosses will not pay $5,000 or more for a construction worker. That's why Singapore has to import foreign laborers who are willing to work for less than SGD1,200. By doing so, it helps the bosses to save billions and increase their profits. This is how CDL, CapitaLand and so forth to make billions from property developments.

On the contrary, Australia's construction worker's gross annual salary is AUD77,722 while Singapore's equivalent is SGD46,428. However, the actual wage for construction worker is much lower for lower grades. Foreign workers will work no matter how much it takes because jobs are scarce in their own countries. Another reason they came to Singapore to work is because of strong SGD. Many maids went to back to their own countries to build their own houses, buy cars, etc after working in Singapore for 5-10 years.

Given this backdrop, no Singaporeans will work in this industry due to low paying as they can't survive in Singapore due to high cost of living.

The issue here is not about importing foreign labor of such nature. These workers are working in specific industries, and they will leave Singapore once they have made enough monies. They won't become PRs or Citizens.

The real threat from foreigners are those who are working as PMETs. They are the ones forcing many Singaporeans out of well paid jobs. When China companies set up shop in Singapore, their priorities are to recruit their own kind to work in Singapore. They will apply for EPs since there are no quotas well as giving priorities to those PRCs who have obtained PRs or Citizenships. That's why in many PRC companies, you will realise that 70% of the workforce are PRCs by birth.

johnsonheng

japan got many large mncs. sinkapore got nothing import so many. just pray one day dun kenna 1997 kind of downturn. ppl running road would be drastic.
I saw one article there is so many job available but unable to find young people. Because the people know low Chance of promotion . As the old people keep on sitting on the top post

jericho75

I saw one article there is so many job available but unable to find young people. Because the people know low Chance of promotion . As the old people keep on sitting on the top post

I also dunno but young ppl one job 100 applications. How they find I dunno

parchiao

Red dot is not a good example because due to shortages, sg uses low skilled workers from overseas for jobs like construction, domestic service, manufacturing, etc..., and there is proper regulation unlike some countries where there are undocumented migrants doing such jobs. These are jobs that most s'poreans don't like to do themselves. Would you want to be a construction worker or a maid?

I believe it is more of some jobs cannot make a living because the PAP decided so.

sg-united

Why Singapore has no talents? Every year we have people obtaining President, PSC, SAF Scholarships and all other of scholarships to study overseas. Aren't these people talents?

If Singapore has no talents, we will be conquered in no time to come.

Yes, some fields we do not have talents such as sports. But this is due to economic interests over sports.

If you have the means, don't stay in Singapore, move to overseas, you will realise that life is not about buying house and car. Singapore is meant for the elites, ultra-rich to stay.

johnsonheng

the education in sg while good is train to think within the box and not think outside the box,

rule base, not like japan, china and usa, all think outside of the box.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Never follow their issues closely. But probably they are moving in the same direction as per world trend on protectionism, anti-globalism, anti-globalization.

matrix05

Nothing wrong with that. Wanton immigration is like cheap steel dumping. After a while local steel industry dies, then the foreign company takes control. Similarly, we see the same in SG for many jobs sector. Once the low cost manpower dumping eliminate the locals, locals avoid that job sectors, and companies starts to complain unable to find locals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.