MediShield Life (end 2015)

lzydata

So 13k annual value apply to 5 room flat and below? Any public list to check the annual value for each type of housing?

3. How to check the Annual Value (AV) of any property?

To check the current AV of your property, you need to log in to myTax.iras.gov.sg with your SingPass > View Property Portfolio/ Change Mailing Address (left-hand menu). The Annual Value shown here is as at today. To see if there is any change to the Annual Value after today, you can check from the last Valuation Notice sent to you under “View Correspondence/Notices”. The last Valuation Notice will indicate the latest Annual Value and the effective date of change to the Annual Value.

- IRAS: How is Annual Value determined

But for the purposes of just Medishield Life, the premium calculator has estimates based on the type of flat:

Report : Premium Calculator | MediShield Life

HDB 5 room flats are estimated as having AV $13,001 to $21,000.

knightdreamer

Don't do that. The coverage is not as comprehensive as an integrated shield plan. There will still be out of pocket payments even with Medishield Life. They also don't cover for pre and post hospitalization benefits.

i see. but does that mean that we have to double pay? medisheld life and ISP?

or there will be some revision on ISP?

bslow27

if there's B1 private shield like what they say. I'll definitely downgrade to it. Currently on the highest ISP.

lzydata

i see. but does that mean that we have to double pay? medisheld life and ISP?

or there will be some revision on ISP?

There will certainly be some changes to integrated shield plans because of the changes to Medishield, but like Medishield now, the integrated shield plans will include Medishield Life as the basic part and the private insurer's additional benefits on top of it. Just like now you don't pay Medishield premiums - you only pay your integrated shield premiums, and the insurer works out the claims and premiums with the CPF Board.

knightdreamer

There will certainly be some changes to integrated shield plans because of the changes to Medishield, but like Medishield now, the integrated shield plans will include Medishield Life as the basic part and the private insurer's additional benefits on top of it. Just like now you don't pay Medishield premiums - you only pay your integrated shield premiums, and the insurer works out the claims and premiums with the CPF Board.

Thanks for your clarification. Just hope that there will not be any big increase. :(

RoLanTo

Thanks for your clarification. Just hope that there will not be any big increase. :(

sure got big change 1 lor.. the existing premium for 31-40 is 105, the new one is 310.. a freaking 205 dollar increase..

the existing IHP = medishield (A) + private/upgraded ward benefits (B)

now "A" increase so much liao.. the premium is Up gao gao :S :S :(:(

lzydata

sure got big change 1 lor.. the existing premium for 31-40 is 105, the new one is 310.. a freaking 205 dollar increase..

the existing IHP = medishield (A) + private/upgraded ward benefits (B)

now "A" increase so much liao.. the premium is Up gao gao :S :S :(:(

In theory the increase in integrated shield plans should not be so high because they "top up" Medishield. For example, Medishield used to cover $450 per day of daily ward and treatment charges (normal ward). An Integrated Shield may cover $1,000 per day of the same. Now Medishield Life is covering $700 per day, so the private insurer should be covering less, $300 instead of $550.

But frankly I am also quite surprised at how high the committee's premiums are. According to the benefits table, Medishield Life is comparable to the current NTUC IncomeShield Plans B to C. They have policy limits of $100k per year and no lifetime limit, no maximum coverage age, $2k or less deductible (for ages 80 and below), and co-insurance of 10% or less.

And yet, the yearly premiums for Plans B and C are only $121 to $167 for ages 31-40, about half of $310.

I thought it might be because of the age smoothing thing where they are trying to have people pay more in their younger, wage-earning years and less in their retirement years, but not really, premiums for advanced ages are also higher than the Plan B-C's (before subsidies).

If I have to point to anything, then it is the people with pre-existing conditions and/or who have exhausted their Medishield due to high expenses. But they have also said that there aren't that many such people.

The only reprieves are that subsidies will reduce this for many people, the increase will be spread out over 5 years, and there is an additional 1% employer contribution to Medisave starting next year. But I am definitely concerned about whether the premiums are higher than they should be and whether the private insurers will take the chance to pad their profits.

bslow27

wait till the new one come out incorporating the medishield life. Prudential don't have B1 Plan for now too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.