Merc A180 - Parking Brake error (2nd day after car collection, 2nd hand car)

Noobtopro

Hi everyone,

Need some help & advise here, feeling quite lost now and definitely appreciate some input from you guys.

Just collected my A180 from dealer on Tue night, it's a less than 3 years old car with 35k mileage, fully maintained by C&C and still left with 3 more months of C&C warranty. Test drive everything feels okay, but mistake is that did not send for inspection.

A day later, was out for supper and when heading back, I started the engine and about to drive off. Disengaged parking brake and changed gear to "D". Drove off for just 2 seconds and immediately there's an error saying "Parking brake, see owner's manual". There's also a lot of lights on the dashboard, including ABS and check engine light. The steering wheel became hard to steer and i stopped the car immediately.

IMG_8682_zpsnbwo5huo.jpg

E017E255-AAC6-4355-A1FC-D94A2B565B2C_zpsecdvi7b7.jpg

Tried to off the engine, rested for 10 mins and on again. Error message was gone and most dashboard lights off except for check engine light (not blinking). Thought can at least drive home, but just 5 seconds later the same error message came out and dashboard lights on again.

Was 2am, called my dealer and was extremely pissed off. 2nd day of getting the car and this happen... Dealer was responsive, rushed all the way down and get tow vehicle to go back C&C workshop. Today is PH, so only Friday can get it checked up. Dealer agent kept reassuring that it's just sensor spoil and nothing serious because low mileage car + fully C&C maintained.

Now, question is that I'm already feeling insecure & paranoid over the car because problem came up just on 2nd day. Dealer agreed to hold on to the ownership transfer till this is resolved.
Does anyone experience similar error message before? Is it really just sensor fault or this could be a warning to something more serious eg. gearbox faulty? Any advice for me - I can try to ask for an exchange to another A180 with similar spec (test drove both, but was more comfortable with this condition and hence bought this). If C&C checked and fixed it, can I still continue with this car?

Will appreciate any form of opinion & advice. First time buying 2nd hand car, and really feeling lost now.

Cheers guys!

EJB

Buy conti is like this de.

My friend buy new VW. 5.5 years old, go in to workshop more than driving the car home.

This spoilt, that spoilt, somemore once spoilt, the ECU lock down the car, you cannot drive at all. He go in and out of VW and sibeh gao lun.

hachi

Buy conti is like this de.

My friend buy new VW. 5.5 years old, go in to workshop more than driving the car home.

This spoilt, that spoilt, somemore once spoilt, the ECU lock down the car, you cannot drive at all. He go in and out of VW and sibeh gao lun.
My neighbour told is part of the ownership experiences with VW. I looked at him, I don't enjoy in and out workshop. I only go there when I need to. But you know high loan and even push in need to pay back. So suck thumb. He can keep enjoying the ownership experience.

tankgunner

Mentor
Most likely the ABS module gone case liao.
Is the speedometer still working?

EJB

Buy Altis is best. Most reliable toyota. 100K for standard. No gadgets, no frills, nothing, no need scared breakdown.

myviowner

Hi everyone,

Need some help & advise here, feeling quite lost now and definitely appreciate some input from you guys.

Just collected my A180 from dealer on Tue night, it's a less than 3 years old car with 35k mileage, fully maintained by C&C and still left with 3 more months of C&C warranty. Test drive everything feels okay, but mistake is that did not send for inspection.

A day later, was out for supper and when heading back, I started the engine and about to drive off. Disengaged parking brake and changed gear to "D". Drove off for just 2 seconds and immediately there's an error saying "Parking brake, see owner's manual". There's also a lot of lights on the dashboard, including ABS and check engine light. The steering wheel became hard to steer and i stopped the car immediately.

IMG_8682_zpsnbwo5huo.jpg

E017E255-AAC6-4355-A1FC-D94A2B565B2C_zpsecdvi7b7.jpg

Tried to off the engine, rested for 10 mins and on again. Error message was gone and most dashboard lights off except for check engine light (not blinking). Thought can at least drive home, but just 5 seconds later the same error message came out and dashboard lights on again.

Was 2am, called my dealer and was extremely pissed off. 2nd day of getting the car and this happen... Dealer was responsive, rushed all the way down and get tow vehicle to go back C&C workshop. Today is PH, so only Friday can get it checked up. Dealer agent kept reassuring that it's just sensor spoil and nothing serious because low mileage car + fully C&C maintained.

Now, question is that I'm already feeling insecure & paranoid over the car because problem came up just on 2nd day. Dealer agreed to hold on to the ownership transfer till this is resolved.
Does anyone experience similar error message before? Is it really just sensor fault or this could be a warning to something more serious eg. gearbox faulty? Any advice for me - I can try to ask for an exchange to another A180 with similar spec (test drove both, but was more comfortable with this condition and hence bought this). If C&C checked and fixed it, can I still continue with this car?

Will appreciate any form of opinion & advice. First time buying 2nd hand car, and really feeling lost now.

Cheers guys!

Nobody like to go thru what you had went thru, on the bright side, the dealer was responsive even at that wee hour. Heads up for that.
Buying pre-owned unit is a gamble. 50/50 chances. Heng/ suay de.
Get C&C to have a detail checks.
Nobody can advise you whether should continue with this car or not. Is entire up to you bro.

Beepok

Can u tell me who is the salesman and which company is it? I would like to buy a car from him

yrh0413

Conti cars are known to have faults here and there after warranty is over, that’s why many people offload them when their factory warranty is due. You need to be prepared to spend on above average repairs.

Your experience is similar to mine. I got a preown VW as my first car (comes with 1 month warranty left), experienced the infamous juddering issue few days before warranty ends. Sent it in for replacement as part of warranty claim, then it occurs again a year later and another warranty claim (VW gives 5 years warranty for gearbox).

When the car crossed it’s 5 year mark repairs get more frequent, and when I sold it off when it hit 7 years mainly due to fear of paying expensive repairs for the remaining 2-3 years of ownership.

I now own a Honda. Will I consider a conti again? Yes definitely, the ride and drivability of a conti is still superior to Jap makes. I’ll get a preown conti as my second car for occasional thrills with a jap as my daily driver.

You need to have different expectation when you get a conti.

wira

Can u tell me who is the salesman and which company is it? I would like to buy a car from him
Yeah quite impressed with the after sales service from your dealer.

Noobtopro

Hi everyone

Appreciate everyone's comments. Really good insights and it's indeed frustrating + worrying to experience what I've went through. I got this car together with my wife and she's also super worried now, especially since this is just the 2nd day. This is also the first time we got a used car together....
If this is just a minor problem, I'm happy to get it fixed and move on from there. But worried that this is a sign of a bigger problem that'll come soon....

Anyway, agree that my dealer has been very responsive & proactive. Good to note that maybe it's because the ownership of the car not transferred yet due to PH today. It'll only be effective tomorrow. We already told him not to transfer first and he gladly obliged (with black & white) stating that he will only do the ownership transfer once all settled.

Now just thinking of whether to change to another A180 or not. They have another similar A180 with their company, also left 7 years and same color, except condition seems poorer than this one & higher mileage.

Do appreciate more insights & advice.

tankgunner

Mentor
Yes, the speedometer is still working. There is also a check engine light on... so i was worried about gearbox too.

If the problem is with the ABS module, you will also lose the speedo reading and fuel level reading. And also no ABS. On top of what you are facing now.
One problem will lead to another one.

takeshi_umuro

Tbh i dun even think cnc or anyone can guarantee its a small or big problem. The key is whether are you alright to change to another new ride even if u can return this car. The reason u chose this car shld have been that u took a liking to it for watever reason. If u can overcome that reason and ur gut feel tells u to change, do change it else things happen along the way and its not easy to predict unfortunately.

Sent from HUAWEI BLA-L29 using GAGT

trento

Yr used car dealer take call at 2am...even better than AD!

Anyway just to be sure, can always seek second opinion. Ask workshop to screenshot obd scanner error or best be present to see it. Don’t let warranty bother u

trento

Just remember for used car, interior n bodywork condition r least important compared to engine components

Hi everyone

Appreciate everyone's comments. Really good insights and it's indeed frustrating + worrying to experience what I've went through. I got this car together with my wife and she's also super worried now, especially since this is just the 2nd day. This is also the first time we got a used car together....
If this is just a minor problem, I'm happy to get it fixed and move on from there. But worried that this is a sign of a bigger problem that'll come soon....

Anyway, agree that my dealer has been very responsive & proactive. Good to note that maybe it's because the ownership of the car not transferred yet due to PH today. It'll only be effective tomorrow. We already told him not to transfer first and he gladly obliged (with black & white) stating that he will only do the ownership transfer once all settled.

Now just thinking of whether to change to another A180 or not. They have another similar A180 with their company, also left 7 years and same color, except condition seems poorer than this one & higher mileage.

Do appreciate more insights & advice.

TopGun

It could be just a wheel sensor issue. Besides, it still has 3 months C&C warranty.

Wheel sensors on Contis are known to go kaput. At least for VAG cars is just 100ish per replacement.

Noobtopro

If the problem is with the ABS module, you will also lose the speedo reading and fuel level reading. And also no ABS. On top of what you are facing now.
One problem will lead to another one.

Ahh I see, so probably not ABS module right? Since the speedo and fuel level reading was okay.

Noobtopro

It could be just a wheel sensor issue. Besides, it still has 3 months C&C warranty.

Wheel sensors on Contis are known to go kaput. At least for VAG cars is just 100ish per replacement.

If it's just sensor, then I tihnk I'll keep the car. Just hope it's not any major issue!

tankgunner

Mentor
Ahh I see, so probably not ABS module right? Since the speedo and fuel level reading was okay.

the problems don't come altogether at once.
it will start with the ABS check light.
if you keep ignoring it, you will see more Xmas tree lights on the dashboard. :D

do a ODB check. it will pinpoint the exact problem.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.