More schools shoot down 'helicopter parenting'

blues7

Yes

More and more privileged

Lesson 1/2 way, interrupted by school intercom

Teacher need to stop lesson and answer the call

Usually is general office staff inform teAcher to inform student the tehri parents deliver something e.g. Art bag or lunch money or some worksheets

Students will then need to pick up item from the general office - in case they forget, teacher also scare so will quickly ask them to go and collect immediately - if not, teacher may kena complain why never remind student to collect item when parents took trouble to deliver

Shalomp

J7tznkv.jpg

5qEFQHS.jpg

FQV1H0I.jpg

S3SRi5X.jpg

GIwDFwp.jpg

j7o8wuq.jpg

LijGIzE.jpg

TVk2bWk.jpg

Gabriel_23

I don't quite agree on what constitute helicopter parenting.

If the child has the idea that the parent is able to help out to pass him a book, to avoid punishment, why not? Even as an adult, you forgot to bring a piece of important file and you're meeting an ultra niao fella, you also will beg someone from home to pass it to you. If the teacher is lenient and known to be kind, the child also won't go through the trouble and have mini panic attacks.

I do draw a line in terms of behavioral issues though. Some parents failed to instill respect and courtesy for others. If caught red-handed, then leave the child to face the music on their own. But if its something that the child has already forseen before hand and aims to correct the wrong, why not. Imo, the child is doing everything within its powers to "make things right".

the main agenda of this thread is to bash the younger gen aka strawberries in these old farks eyes, never ending ego stroking journey

ramlee

nowadays see parents fetch teenagers to/fro school and queue and serve them hawker food, see already dunno to laugh or cry.

Mine since P2, ownself take bus, queue food for us while we drink kopi jin song.

wait your child get lost, get bullied by hawkers and other customers how? :(

how can you even swallow your kopi?? :(

ramlee

If parents always bring the things for their children, aren't we breeding more strawberry generations?

then you want your kid to loose out in learning when they don't have the textbook or worksheet?? :(

Chiong

kinda dumb. the kid doesn't learn much about responsibilities by punishing them this way.

i mean if you working adult and left important documents at home/office, you wouldn't want someone to help you bring it over for you?

dark_aLLeY

kinda dumb. the kid doesn't learn much about responsibilities by punishing them this way.

i mean if you working adult and left important documents at home/office, you wouldn't want someone to help you bring it over for you?

LOL

exactly.

Until now, we still have adult guys shotgun pregnant and don't take responsibility of the kid.... turning many females into single mothers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.