More than a disability, dementia takes a toll on the whole family - and more young patients are getting it

robie_aibo

Actually china stuff quite ok quality one. I had one but can't remove the handle and go over the toilet. So gotta buy again cos my father is bedridden.

Bro, really hard on you... 😥 I think the means test policy is very stupid. It's penalising the middle class, especially those with parents who have no property. We just have to suck it up. While some can rent out the property, stay with children while collecting gov subsidies. Or some have siblings or relatives to register your parent under, then she can get subsidies. I have no siblings and relatives, and my father has no properties, hence gotta suck it up.
My mother has brothers but none of them are chipping in to help me instead they believe all her lies and think we ill treat their sister. We have a helper to assist but this helper is turning my new flat into a slum. Everything spoil and I have to spend money to replace... I am at wit end, either my mother die or I die

eAtNeAt

journey-sad.gif

Very very tired... this morning my mum call out loudly for me.. waking me up.. end up.. she poop in her diapers but also tio her pants and the bed.. end up spend whole morning cleaning and washing the pants.. clean her up.. etc.. she is wheelchair bound when go out but at home she can walk with assistance from me... I hold her hands she slowly walk but everything else like cleaning up I got to help her.. she got a lot of things unable to do by herself.. everyday got to deal with urine and poop... she is on urine catheter so everyday got to empty the urine bag in time... and every 6 weeks got to bring to hospital to change the tube. Really physically and mentally exhausting... 😭

And yes she got dementia also... but now her psychosis related to dementia is more or less under control...
Jiayou! Things will eventually turn out better. Take care of yourself too so that you can live your life.

BlackWing1977

Got consider putting her with professional dementia day care with missy? Can ask the dr refer can get subsidy after means test
Day Care centre while I go work did not work out well end up I lagi more tired... since I spend more time preparing her for day care centre, and I got to rush to and fro from work cannot work full day as their timing quite short... end up working just to pay the day care centre.. which make no sense since I am so much more tired and worn out...

BlackWing1977

a lot of people say taking care of babies is much harder than take care of elder people with dementia.

i say bu11shit.

my mum used to be a babysitter, and i also help her to take care of babies a bit and now she has dementia and i am taking care of her.

it is so much harder to take care of elder iwht dementia as compare to babies.
Only people who never take care of elders will say such things, babies you can carry them around much easier.. and you can look forward to them getting bigger and more independent... elderly is the other way around.. they will not get better but get worse... :sick:

Unless the babies they talking about are sickly and dependent on medical machine etc..

BlackWing1977

bro, u got find AIC for assistance? I also caregiver for my dementia dad. Hes not that serious, but sometimes the mood is very erratic. Character also change totally opp of his old self. Cant even talk reason at times
Got lar.. already got the Home Caregiving Grant if not cannot tahan with me working part time from home, then with the quarterly Silver Support Scheme, helps also... then medical expenses have to apply for medifund lor... use medisave wherever possible then the rest the card will cover.

kodomo80

Got lar.. already got the Home Caregiving Grant if not cannot tahan with me working part time from home, then with the quarterly Silver Support Scheme, helps also... then medical expenses have to apply for medifund lor... use medisave wherever possible then the rest the card will cover.
Yea bro, understand its not easy especially when they chut stunt every other day and u always have to anticipate for it.. It is actually sometimes more stressful than caregivers for chronic illness patient.

BlackWing1977

This case very sad... it was originally a video of a son joking around and playing around with the old mother that have dementia in order to keep her mind active etc... end up some evil woman took their video cut it and say they are lovers... damn freaking disgusting. :mad:😭

Dracky

There is no cure for dementia. It's a long slow death.

Best to have an advance medical directive to tell family to let go.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.