NAS for small business

peterchan75

Which NAS that do the following -
1. Wake up during office hour and standby during after office hour.
2. Supports RIAD
3. Perform regular back up of folders per users' instruction.
4. Easy data recovery when the NAS system(box) fail.

Thanks in advance.

midreef

Why don't you consider setting a NAS solution with one of your older PC if there are any that is lying around.

THE RAID volumes are configurable through software RAID.

Which NAS that do the following -
1. Wake up during office hour and standby during after office hour.
2. Supports RIAD
3. Perform regular back up of folders per users' instruction.
4. Easy data recovery when the NAS system(box) fail.

Thanks in advance.

peterchan75

The boss is not a computer expert. The chap who supports her on IT stuffs warn her about NAS box failure horror story. Currently, she is using a WD usb drive to backup the office data. This drive is dying .. sometimes cannot detect.

davidktw

The boss is not a computer expert. The chap who supports her on IT stuffs warn her about NAS box failure horror story. Currently, she is using a WD usb drive to backup the office data. This drive is dying .. sometimes cannot detect.

No equipment is infallible no matter how expensive the equipment is. 3 steps will ensure data reliability

1) redundancy
2) backup
3) disaster recovery SOP

Even if a solution cost 1 billion, it still works on the above 3 mandate philosophy.

For Businesses, Synology, QNAP will serve as required in different tiers solution.

davidktw

Cloud storage is the best
<br />

Even with cloud storage, you still require local storage for immediate restoration, should your systems are not in the same cloud provider. An example is AWS storage gateway solution.

It would be quite unusual for a serious business entity to store frequently used data in the cloud only, since the latency would inhibit productivity

peterchan75

No equipment is infallible no matter how expensive the equipment is. 3 steps will ensure data reliability

1) redundancy
2) backup
3) disaster recovery SOP

Even if a solution cost 1 billion, it still works on the above 3 mandate philosophy.

For Businesses, Synology, QNAP will serve as required in different tiers solution.

Hi David,
Thanks for the tips. "Auntie boss" might not understand the philosophy. They only value backup when Quickbook crashed during file saving. :s22:
Will feedback to them on your suggestion.. Synology and QNAP.

Mclairs83

1) how much power does a NAS consume? Please la. By powering off and on the drive also will cause wear and tear.

its a small thingy little box we are talking here leh.

2) Most NAS supports RAID. the only thing is, for business. Its either QNAP or Synology. Don't get those cheapo NAS like D-Link, WD Live etc.

3) Setup user home drive in NAS. But you must teach user to save their stuffs on NAS, if not, back to square one. Usually i will tell my customers, u save in own PC. ur PC died, dun kpkb ur data lost u want to recover.

4) Plug another USB3.0 External drive on ur NAS and schedule a backup every night, IIRC external drive can setup NTFS. so if ur NAS fails, u can retrieve from the external drive.

peterchan75

Thanks. Will take note of 4. She can claim under SIP but I don't want to recommend something that she will have a hard time maintaining it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.