Need advice: One of the sellers went bankrupt before completion of sale

bkchng

Hi all,

It's my first time buying a property with my gf and unfortunately I'm already stuck in a sticky situation. Hoping that someone could offer some insights and advice, although I am already seeing my lawyer next Mon to discuss.

In March 2015, we made an offer to purchase a condo (with 2 owners) under my name. In the following months, we did the usual stuff: paid the option to purchase (1%), the other 4% as deposit, and we were going to complete the purchase today.
Unfortunately, our lawyer found out that one of the 2 owners was bankrupt (he was made a bankrupt in mid May, which was after our lawyers had run the initial check back in April, so no one on our side was aware until today). So, the purchase was halted today, which was a huge disappointment. Not only that, I heard from the lawyer that we may not be able to get back the 1% option to purchase fee that we paid initially, as the owner might not be able to pay back. This is a significant sum to us (close to 10K?), and it also kind of sucks that even though we did everything right, we may stand to lose quite a lot of money (plus lawyer's fee as well). We're looking at a potential loss of more than 10K.

The other sticky thing is that currently, only one of the owners have been made a bankrupt; the other owner may or may not be made a bankrupt, although it seems that he is already in the process of filing for bankruptcy.

I'm just puzzled as to why there is nothing in the law to protect us buyers? Does it mean that in the 3 months between buying the option to purchase and completing the sale, we buyers are totally susceptible to this kind of stunt being pulled by the seller? He was made a bankrupt a month ago and did not tell us, so we were just sitting there thinking that all was good. This hiccup could also cost us months of rental income, as we are stuck waiting for the OA (Official Assignor) to come in and decide to sell us the house or not. And the OA may not come in as one of the 2 owners is not a bankrupt yet.

This is kind of a rant but hopefully also serves as a PSA for potential homeowners here who might be as clueless as I am.

Thank you so much for reading and appreciate any insights or advice if you have!

Jumpman23

File for damages thru your lawyer, once their house is sold or repossessed by bank (assuming it's still under loan) you may still able to take back the deposit. Cross your fingers.

SKWSMC

You can sue both the owners to ask back your $$$ if the deal did not went through. As you say the other owner is not a bankrupt so your deposit is quite safe.

bkchng

You can sue both the owners to ask back your $$$ if the deal did not went through. As you say the other owner is not a bankrupt so your deposit is quite safe.

The other owner is in the process of being made a bankrupt..
I do still want the purchase to go through if possible, as the place is a good one and it is currently tenanted.

doody_

Wow, buying a condo with your GF as rental property? Nice...

Bankruptcy is going to be a pain to settle...expect to spend time and effort on it. You might want to consider getting another property and claim back the deposit in the future.

derrickgoh

Hate these irresponsible people! They can't possible NOT have known they are going to be made bankrupt soon, yet they act blur and try to sell their flat.

rippedoff

this is the classic case of "Cashout by Selling House without Actually Selling House" tactic

from my other experience, i have 2 things to raise.

1. the seller is smart. they know their game well. there is a chance this is NOT their first stunt. imagine every now and then they "sell" their house for 10k, then somehow something go haywire, the buyer ownself bailout, seller pocket 10k, moves on..and on..and on..

2. someone lawyer is actually in cahoots with someone else. i dont wan to name names. but isnt it a tat "strange" the timing is soo coincidental? got so zhun miss by a brush literally then everything goes downhill? always look for the benefactors then u will find the culprit(SSSSSS)..

if its the first case, then TS buyer here paid 10k to inexperience.
if its the second case, then TS buyer DOUBLEPAID extra few more Ks on top that 10k to the same party that cahoot play him out on that 1st 10k :s22:

cscs3

What happen to your lawer? He cannot give you any advice?

rippedoff

he will probably quote Disney's Frozen "Let It Go".. maybe becos he is PART of it ;)

10k + say 5k oddsnends, so 15k split seller and agent and lawyer ish 5k each for literally talktalk wavewavepaper then sadsadface?

then once the buyer ownself backout (ask who can tahan risk wait out 6 to 24 mths outcome..for possibly nothing??). find another sarker. game begin again.

this is usually good strategy to churn some money out of a dead asset before the seller boat really sink eventually (the only good news to the buyer is the seller is really going bankrupt but just not yet..) but by then he and gang alrdy cream off how 000s from how many "young couples" ;)

fire

Think you may need to get another lawyer for a second opinion.

When was the acceptance signed date? Once exercised, it should be a binding sales contract. If this was enforced before the owner was made bankrupt, the sales should still be legally binding.

Can made a police report for fraud against the owner if you like...

vinz

from my other experience, i have 2 things to raise.

2. someone lawyer is actually in cahoots with someone else. i dont wan to name names.
i think many of us are curious abt your experience, maybe you can share with us.

And how did you come to the conclusion that buyer's lawyer suddenly get a cut of the money when he is working on buyer 's behalf and most likely have no prior meeting with seller or know their "plans". Buyer or TS already explain bankruptcy check was done twice by his lawyer.

rippedoff

Think you may need to get another lawyer for a second opinion.

this is the one thing that the Buyer should have done..BEFORE he hands over the thick wads of cash..but well. thats why I can get away with what i do (sometimes) :o

pss. i alrdy said i dont wan to name names. but.some.things.in.life.is.not.as.clear.cut.as.it.seems. a lot of times, people especially new entrants to market relied alot on assumptions. and some of those assumptions can lead to hell, not heavens as they expected. then they start to blame everything everyone which i can understand. i lost big before. but i also gain big now. so its a learning curve. how long the curve depends on how much school fees the student wiling and CAN pay. property market is one playground, you can rot and burn and noone will shed a tear for you even when you are buried. ALIVE. everyone think they can be above all the nooks and crannies but sometimes everything is laid in such way, u WILL be screwed from day one. just when you thought you found your dream place, actually the Dream Place found the Perfect Sarker :crazy: i think i alrdy said alot such that the TS should know what i mean if he go back and infer his own experience.

bkchng

What happen to your lawer? He cannot give you any advice?

I am meeting my lawyer on Monday. However, just wanted to get some information from experienced bros in advance here. Thanks for asking.

rippedoff

Interesting Reference

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/you-starving-property-agent-5085039.html

when the going is bad, then all sort of stunts will pop up. a 5k or better 10k pocket can tide their expenses like petrol, carpark, mobile bills over at least a couple months..until the next deal, which if that dont happen, then they will put that same "Dream Home" again back "for sale" by apparently "distinguished" sellers when they also dont know why "the last buyer" back out "voluntarily" lor..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.