New 4" iPhone "SE" discussion?

pwnies5600

So... my iphone 5s back camera has stopped working after 3 years and probably thousands of drops. Should I get the SE now to replace? Or should I cheap out and replace the camera at some shop in sim lim (apple store too expensive mai lah). Or maybe wait new one come out?

kenchi

Still no rumor lor of a SEx edition
What's your budget if around 600+
And capacity needs ?

Can go beng shop get a un activated SE to tank too and if. U like SE just kept it

Unles u open to 4.7 iphone lor

So... my iphone 5s back camera has stopped working after 3 years and probably thousands of drops. Should I get the SE now to replace? Or should I cheap out and replace the camera at some shop in sim lim (apple store too expensive mai lah). Or maybe wait new one come out?

pwnies5600

Don't particularly need large capacity storage, 64GB is enough
Budget wise around 500-700$, I don't mind refurb or second hand, just not particularly sure whether to upgrade now or wait.

Btw does anyone know where and how much it will be to just replace the camera of the 5s?

Still no rumor lor of a SEx edition
What's your budget if around 600+
And capacity needs ?

Can go beng shop get a un activated SE to tank too and if. U like SE just kept it

Unles u open to 4.7 iphone lor

Basking123

Is 4" screen SE suitable for elderly users? Share stories if your hipster parents/grandparents using....

kenchi

If they are ok with a smaller screen as old elderly got eyes can't focus on smaller words so most go for plus size.
Even mine parent find the old 5c too small so end change to bigger screen

Is 4" screen SE suitable for elderly users? Share stories if your hipster parents/grandparents using....

Basking123

1. Is it still worth it to sign the SE from telco (dated?)
2. stay with iOS 10(default preloaded OS?), or use iOS11 (slower, less battery life, but more features)
3. What is the default iCloud storage capacity? Additional given for iphone users?

kenchi

I feel it's a matte of time apple wil fix the iOS 11 issue lor so SE and 6s and older model willl it's much better to use

I even feel like getting a SE as spare but this time must be 128 and not 64 as I previously own one

Till hope apple will consider making a iphone x SE hahahhah

1. Is it still worth it to sign the SE from telco (dated?)
2. stay with iOS 10(default preloaded OS?), or use iOS11 (slower, less battery life, but more features)
3. What is the default iCloud storage capacity? Additional given for iphone users?

coloumbiaGames

reserved a sealed unactivated SE, hopefully still in iOS 10.x.

when does it anyway get into an activated state?

also i am wondering, for sealed sets that are unsold on apple official reseller stores... of course their iOS eventually gets outdated. does apple pull out those stock and replace with sealed sets that are already on current iOS so when the customer buys they cannot downgrade anymore?
Will still remain on whatever IOS it is shipped in

my6600

seriously. updated my iphone se to ios 11, i does not feel any much difference. if given a choice again, i may just stay on ios 10.

ramius_mark

For those interested, Challenger is selling the 128GB SE for $688. Lower price than the $728 requested by the Apple shops.

ramius_mark

Need advice from iPhone users

Hi all, I'm contemplating moving to the iPhone SE - my last iPhone was the original iPhone 2G, after which I moved on to the BlackBerry and Nokia Lumia (Windows Phone) devices.

As the phone is no longer available for recontract through the telcos, the only possible way to get a new 128GB SE is through the Apple Store or Challenger (although stocks are very limited there) for the full price of $728 or $688 respectively.

I'm currently using a BlackBerry Classic, but it's showing it's age and I need to move on.

Current use case:
a. Reading & writing emails & SMS
b. Listening to music & podcasts
c. Reading ebooks and PDFs (I read a lot)
d. Photography
e. Whatsapp
f. Watching videos/movies occassionally.

For the above, I don't need the latest and greatest on either (IOS or Android) platform.

Some questions:
1. Does IOS 11 work well on the old SE?
2. Build quality looks very good - I prefer the design of the SE to the iPhone 8 & X - what are your experiences with the phone on a day to day usage basis?

Thank you.

metamofia89

Hi all, I'm contemplating moving to the iPhone SE - my last iPhone was the original iPhone 2G, after which I moved on to the BlackBerry and Nokia Lumia (Windows Phone) devices.

As the phone is no longer available for recontract through the telcos, the only possible way to get a new 128GB SE is through the Apple Store or Challenger (although stocks are very limited there) for the full price of $728 or $688 respectively.

I'm currently using a BlackBerry Classic, but it's showing it's age and I need to move on.

Current use case:
a. Reading & writing emails & SMS
b. Listening to music & podcasts
c. Reading ebooks and PDFs (I read a lot)
d. Photography
e. Whatsapp
f. Watching videos/movies occassionally.

For the above, I don't need the latest and greatest on either (IOS or Android) platform.

Some questions:
1. Does IOS 11 work well on the old SE?
2. Build quality looks very good - I prefer the design of the SE to the iPhone 8 & X - what are your experiences with the phone on a day to day usage basis?

Thank you.

A year ago I would highly recommend the SE without thinking. The SE checks all the boxes you’ve listed above. Whenever I talking about the SE, I have to spend some time to emphasise how good it was. The form factor, choice of materials used were absolutely spot on. I went to SE from the 6 early last year.

However like most tech products, it will show its age and I think SE is one of them. I’ve read how users were complaining how iOS 10.3.3 and iOS 11 have been draining the battery of the SE. I’ve changed to 7 & 8 so I cant comment on that. I’m not sure how moderate use will impact SE battery life in 2017. Perhaps you can look for videos in YouTube for recent SE battery life with recent iOS.

kenchi

Better wait for the rumor SE 2 or the 3 notsh bezeless new iphone coming in 2q 2018

hereiam7788

iOS 11 makes the iPhone se battery life very poor. If I had a choice again, I will certainly stick to iOS 10 which works rather flawlessly.

kenchi

Did u try setup a brand new Phone and install app once again and monitor it happen to line ip7 too after I trial error
Clean and restore vs clean and clean install

Clean and install clean does helps in overall issue

And try use low power mode

iOS 11 makes the iPhone se battery life very poor. If I had a choice again, I will certainly stick to iOS 10 which works rather flawlessly.

ramius_mark

Is it that bad? I was seriously thinking about buying a new iPhone SE next month.

Did u try setup a brand new Phone and install app once again and monitor it happen to line ip7 too after I trial error
Clean and restore vs clean and clean install

Clean and install clean does helps in overall issue

And try use low power mode

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.