New scam method

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Tedicious

Gotten this message from a friend:

Hi all, if you receive a call from 91369117, pls don’t pick up… its a scam that sounds very real 😅I nearly kena scammed and just finished making police report..

He says he is Jason yew from police anti scam dept and he can read out my full name and IC.

Then he says that my name and ic have been used to register a prepaid mobile number at SingTel Tampines Mall. I said no I did not. He said the number has been used to send many investment scam msgs to citizens and that my existing number will get terminated if I dun report in 1hr. He wanted to connect me to commercial affairs dept via phone to help with the reporting.

I asked why he has my real number he said he has it in the system. And if I dun believe I can go down to police cantonment complex and meet him at level 3 and he will help me to proceed with the reporting. guy seemed like he was genuinely trying to help me...ask me if i recall signing up for something recently..that maybe caused my details to leak..and he speaks with local sounding english!

I told him fine I don’t believe you and I will go to the police cantonment building.. so I booked grab to go down in case it was real while calling 1799 to check on the number. In the end u turn to nearby police post to report it..😅

stingray1211

Hi all, if you receive a call from 91369117, pls don’t pick up… its a scam that sounds very real
1f605.png

I nearly kena scammed and just finished making police report..
He says he is Jason yew from police anti scam dept and he can read out my full name and IC.
Then he says that my name and ic have been used to register a prepaid mobile number at SingTel Tampines Mall. I said no I did not. He said the number has been used to send many investment scam msgs to citizens and that my existing number will get terminated if I dun report in 1hr. He wanted to connect me to commercial affairs dept via phone to help with the reporting.
I asked why he has my real number he said he has it in the system. And if I dun believe I can go down to police cantonment complex and meet him at level 3 and he will help me to proceed with the reporting. guy seemed like he was genuinely trying to help me...ask me if i recall signing up for something recently..that maybe caused my details to leak..and he speaks with local sounding english!
I told him fine I don’t believe you and I will go to the police cantonment building.. so I booked grab to go down in case it was real while calling 1799 to check on the number. In the end u turn to nearby police post to report it..
1f605.png

police don't transfer you around one lah ..

anything, just say come down to police station to talk..

Hi all, if you receive a call from 91369117, pls don’t pick up… its a scam that sounds very real 😅I nearly kena scammed and just finished making police report..

I told him fine I don’t believe you and I will go to the police cantonment building.. so I booked grab to go down in case it was real while calling 1799 to check on the number. In the end u turn to nearby police post to report it..😅
you can call 1800 255 0000 to check the mata is real anot.....if real, ask him why called you

BBClone

Bare minimum the scammers have your name, phone number and NRIC

But it’s ok because Mdm Dowager and Pappy says these are not confidential info, ok to release, leaked multiple times by their agencies liao

Meanwhile I’ve yet to see them publicly release their own IC numbers, it’s probably not even listed on ACRA

megaweb

You should tell him your name is wrong. Your real name is Tan Ah Kow. Now everyone knows me.

kleong

Don't think mata can suka suka xfer case and call from spf to cad.

snowblaze

If anyone wants any money from me, take my life first. That’s my mentality to avoid being scammed. Rather die than get scammed.

tomsss

then you should ask if he know your address and work address

then you reply "wahhh you know so many things ah?? eh can tell me my future or not? will i strike toto or not? will i find beautiful wife or not? i recently kenna STD, will recover or not???? "

see if he still wan to continue scam you or just hang up

Level42

That’s why SingPass app should list all Singapore mobile phone numbers registered with one’s IC. Instead, scholars prefer to show ‘O’ Level results.

Ye_Rongtian

Bare minimum the scammers have your name, phone number and NRIC

But it’s ok because Mdm Dowager and Pappy says these are not confidential info, ok to release, leaked multiple times by their agencies liao

Meanwhile I’ve yet to see them publicly release their own IC numbers, it’s probably not even listed on ACRA
Really? Didn't the original report say even the ministers are freely available on ACRA?

A Better Tomorrow

1799 is over-rated when scammers can use bought over sim-card and use it.
The operater is unable to verify if it ish used in a scam when the number is not in the blacklist.

PrinceY

Read something similar few days back.. I guess nowadays the caller know ur name and nric is no "big deal", not commenting since there's many arguments and someone apologised on this liao.. tiagong its a misunderstanding, not sure if its any better than the dont know in some 2b deal..

Jskm i didnt even know 1799 is the hotline for scamshield scam-related enquiries..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.