NUS IS (info sys) job path?

specstator

I got the grades to go in (AAA/B). But my parents telling me that IT no jobs, no life, and have to constantly update skill, etc. And friends tell me it's for foreigners, lousier than CS, not much jc ppl... So I have my doubts now. I read the FAQs and other threads already, not sure if I should go if I'll be disadvantaged by FT/poly ppl who have programming experience (I only know stuff like html, just starting with web apps while I have time in ns)

I want to learn IT and some money skills, surely I can make some difference down the road since IT seems to be getting more important for sg right?
And do IS ppl do interesting side projects, in nus hackers or sth?

mgx-alander

ur parents says the truth :s13: unless u are really interested in computing dont come here..

specstator

so if I don't have the experience, but got the interest, I can still make it? or is it too late liao.
and do you mean that IT ppl not interesting cos that's what my parents roughly say, and I heard the field got potential leh esp when gov't pushing for more IT

Alpaca

so if I don't have the experience, but got the interest, I can still make it? or is it too late liao.
and do you mean that IT ppl not interesting cos that's what my parents roughly say, and I heard the field got potential leh esp when gov't pushing for more IT

gahment like to bluff chewdren ... jus go for it if u are interested

mgx-alander

the govt pushing for IT or not is not a factor, there are many companies out there that can hire you.

The problem is I see most ppl getting out of IT Line after their poly dip or IS/CS degree bcos they cant stand the endless hours of work

And interest is one thing, can you really look at the screen for > 14hours per day debugging your code? Some ppl give up after taking their first programming module bcos they cant get it :s22:

some ppl no exp go in oso can handle, it depends on your alpitude, although IS is less rigorous on math and more smokey stuff, you still cant escape coding, so if you end up hating to write code, it will be hell.. no kidding

specstator

I don't mind the coding, got any examples of those programming modules? I'm thinking of testing if I got the talent leh

I also want to know more about the ppl there, do you think it's a fun and interesting place to be?:s13:

Buaya_Hunter

I got the grades to go in (AAA/B). But my parents telling me that IT no jobs, no life, and have to constantly update skill, etc. And friends tell me it's for foreigners, lousier than CS, not much jc ppl... So I have my doubts now. I read the FAQs and other threads already, not sure if I should go if I'll be disadvantaged by FT/poly ppl who have programming experience (I only know stuff like html, just starting with web apps while I have time in ns)

I want to learn IT and some money skills, surely I can make some difference down the road since IT seems to be getting more important for sg right?

The IS syllabus in NUS is not always about programming if that is what you think it is.

It is more like a computing degree that diverges from comp sci once
you go through the foundation modules (namely programming basics, network, database, basic computer architecture and maths).

Unlike computing science ppl who will specialize in their one or two chosen domain of comp science, the IS ppl will tend to take application or IT related (in layman term, non comp sci which IT might have a supporting role in) has modules .

Below are some of the more common groups of modules that was offer when I was

1. Enterprise computing - Learning about technologies and developmental methodologies that are often used in corporate IT setting. Example J2EE, ERP, Agile development methods, Project Management, requirement capturing/analysis.

2. Corporate process Theories - You will learn about corporate process that IT have a big supporting role in. Like supply chain, service management, customer relationship management etc. Often Pseudo business modules in the sense that they often have a counterpart module taught in the school of business (soc's next door neighbor) but with more IT related stuff in the syllabus and often watered down in difficulty compared to their business school equivalent.

3. IT Security MANAGEMENT - Might includes the more technical modules on security and system but at least half of the them would concentrate on IT policies/IT auditing (Good if you aspire to be an auditor/professional in IT security but freaking dry for the rest)

4. Social platform marketing - As you can infer, the typical skills require to be involved as a social media marketer. Usually is a track which have both soft (E.g Marketing) and hard modules (E.g web/mobile development technologies)

Honestly speaking, it does not mean that once you take a degree in IS (or even CS), you will be stuck as an IT professional or die die have do a related job. Many of my peers went into business development roles (laymen term: Marketing and sales) after graduation. Some went into entrepreneurship.

There are also some with good honors who will sign their life away with uniformed group or civil service/stat board or MNCs in roles that have nothing to do with IT all (other than using the computer to send email, surf net or use Microsoft office)

davidktw

This is my 2 cents worth, I have been in IT line for nearly 9 years.

I got the grades to go in (AAA/B). But my parents telling me that IT no jobs, no life, and have to constantly update skill, etc.

If you think IT line is the only line that require you to upgrade your skill, then I'm afraid either you or your parents are incorrect. No matter which line you are in, you will always need to upgrade yourself. In time to come, you will be old, your skill set will be easily surpassed by younger generations with more vibrancy and more recent skill sets and more up to date knowledge, as you get older, you will naturally demand for higher pay. So in contrast, unless your skill set is so niche that no one can take over, and your experience is so niche that no one can replace, then you can continue to survive.

A good company will not let such things happen. Redundancies and constantly nurturing good employees to replace existing one should be on the priority of any good companies business roadmap. The only reason you in 30 years time can continue to survive with no upgrade in your knowledge and skill sets is likely because you are in a lousy company that doesn't know how to plan for its business.

At the faster and faster pace lifestyle we are having today and tomorrow, your parents' mentally are basically outdated. In their time, their way of life works, but in your time, things are going to be radically different. So don't fall into the pithole thinking that only IT require update in knowledge and skill sets constantly. Even museums today are using state of the art technologies to preserve the ancient artefacts and to promote museum using 3D scanning technologies to bring in more visitors and hence revenues.

And friends tell me it's for foreigners, lousier than CS, not much jc ppl... So I have my doubts now. I read the FAQs and other threads already, not sure if I should go if I'll be disadvantaged by FT/poly ppl who have programming experience (I only know stuff like html, just starting with web apps while I have time in ns)

CS are for people interested in hardcore stuffs, solving scientific problems and interested to push oneself knowledge along the technological track. IS are for people that want to get involved in business relevant to technologies, business and/or project management roles and so forth.

Imagine in a battle, can the soliders win the war without a commander forming strategies ? Likewise, technology is a business enablement skill set. Without businesses, technologies have little space for advancement. Technologies are built out of necessity. You will realise most of the use cases of technologies have commercial values. If you study IS, your objective should be knowing now to monetize technologies in businesses. Hence there is nothing less capable about IS. People whom say so are ignorant of what is the role of technology playing in the enterprise world.

People whom are expert in programming doesn't necessary make good businessman nor good marketing or sales personnel or even presales personnel. All these 3 important role in business require people whom understand technologies. They need to know who are the players in each verticals, they need to know where is the direction of tomorrow technologies. Do you think a professor reading or writing thesis everyday will know all these information ? Therefore don't look down on IS graduates, they are just as important as CS graduates in the whole IT ecosystem.

IT is important EVERYWHERE not just Singapore. Do you know how much money today technology business help to generate ? If the world want to go faster, scale larger, do you think labours will make it so ? The world need automation, innovation, reaching out to the outer space and into the ground, all these are from technologies, not just using bare hands.

If you know the way around these, you will get your money. It's not easy money, definitely. Easy money come fast and goes fast.

Go and figure out what you want to do, not which faculty you need to be in. Either way, there is no hard and fast rule on how a person entering IS or CS may end up be. It's all up to you.

xClementx

i think you go learn finance/business/economics better. next time be a full time trader or investor. better prospects i think

team_anonymous

NUS IS future might be unpredicatble

i got AAB/A and have accepted the NUS IS offer... but now what bothers me is the payscale for NUS IS graduates 75th percentile...

in 2010 : 3700
in 2011 : 4000
in 2012 : 3500 -- probably the first time ever CS and CE graduates have earned more..

i hope it does not go onto decline further and i just hope like an economy recovers after every recession, demand for such graduates will increase by the time we graduate...

links referred :
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/post-secondary/files/ges-nus.pdf
Graduate Employment Survey 2010 (published 2011) | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore
Graduate Employment Survey 2011 (Published 2012) | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore

davidktw

i got AAB/A and have accepted the NUS IS offer... but now what bothers me is the payscale for NUS IS graduates 75th percentile...

in 2010 : 3700
in 2011 : 4000
in 2012 : 3500 -- probably the first time ever CS and CE graduates have earned more..

i hope it does not go onto decline further and i just hope like an economy recovers after every recession, demand for such graduates will increase by the time we graduate...

links referred :
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/post-secondary/files/ges-nus.pdf
Graduate Employment Survey 2010 (published 2011) | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore
Graduate Employment Survey 2011 (Published 2012) | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore

Your payscale is determined by what is written on your piece of paper. Meanwhile u r just a white piece of paper. So stop worrying about what u r worth, because there is nothing so different from u and the rest of the graduates to be.

Compared to experienced developers with years of experiences, graduates are just uncertainty. Earn that certainty and worth, and then earn your remuneration. I am fascinated with graduates or graduates to be thinking that their certificate is such a big deal. Regardless if you are CS, IS, EE or anything, your certificate is just a ticket. Is it guaranteed that a good seat means you get to see a good movie ? Show your boss the good movie and earn the returns. It doesn't matter if you are in for a good seat or not, important is do you have a good story to show.

If you come new to the company and we need to teach you how to use versioning system, how to operate production systems, how to talk and react when you meet with customers, how to do this and do that, you are a burden to the rest of the crew. Learn all these things first before you start to demand for more. When you have what it takes to ask for more, naturally you will and a good boss will see if you are worth that price tag. 3.5K is nothing if you are good.

MoxLotus

IT is a very wide thing. with the skills, u can join any sector. banking and finance is in need of IT guys to do business analytic for them. dun be misguided to think that IT means u must work in some development studio. This is just pure misconception.

but like what others have mentioned, if u have no interest, dun come in. u probably wont do well as the course is very demanding.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.