[Official cycling thread]

rockdhop

Pics for the day. Went cycling with UnforgivenVengeance

04052008801.jpg

04052008802.jpg

hey what time you go arh?i went ecp on labour day and the usual sunday.

TheoDR

WuSangui

yea...as a matter of fact, i'm looking at semi-slick tyres.

any brand to recommend?

Panaracer speed blaster for semi-slick. Fast and got grip and at 26 x 1.8 shall be even faster on road but if off road will suffer abit.

WuSangui

Hmm? Haven't checked the Anthem 0's specs though.. I don't have a speedo installed on my Anthem, but judging from what I got from on my NRS, I seem to be averaging 28kph on the Anthem without headwind etc. And that's after more than a year of being lazy and not cycling. Top speed wise, easily over 55kph for a limited stretch till my legs give way.

Top speed at 55kph I think is quite hard to achieve on flat road unless u mean down slope. At more than 48km/h, wind resistant will be so strong that yr leg fatigue easily.

I only try downslope 50kph before. But not the best condition and may hit 55kph if condition permits.

TheoDR

Top speed at 55kph I think is quite hard to achieve on flat road unless u mean down slope. At more than 48km/h, wind resistant will be so strong that yr leg fatigue easily.

I only try downslope 50kph before. But not the best condition and may hit 55kph if condition permits.

LOL... flat ground with no headwind or tail wind, but that's years ago, now I dunno still can or not :s22: There're ways to play cheat with the air also, can hunch over the bars and significantly decrease air resistance. :D

rockdhop

in singapore we always see giant xtc team around leh.like i go ecp,i saw 3 xtc team.

can we name some rare bikes we ever saw down here?

i think i once saw the ellsworth FS but duno model.then ever saw an epic carbon,black and red at ecp

WuSangui

LOL... flat ground with no headwind or tail wind, but that's years ago, now I dunno still can or not :s22: There're ways to play cheat with the air also, can hunch over the bars and significantly decrease air resistance. :D

It's better to fit cyclometer on yr bike to gauge the speed. :)

rockdhop

hey guys,i just came upon this qn.
in some bike forums,ppl say "hayes got big braking power,but low modulation".what does this meant?what is modulation?

its not stopping power meh?

TheoDR

hey theo,wanna checkout how you felt between NRS and ANTHEM?nv asked u this qn before,and was quite happy to post this qn to a giant fan like you.

Between the NRS and Anthem, the Anthem has a more "real" suspension feel. A lot less flex and it also feels a lot faster and nimble.

Anyway, feel free to flip through the June 2008 issue of What Mountain Bike magazine. Check out the section of <£2000 full susp XC bikes. The Giant Anthem 1 is their top choice, beating brands like Cannondale. They've got a brief paragraph on what they think of the Anthem. ;)

TheoDR

hey guys,i just came upon this qn.
in some bike forums,ppl say "hayes got big braking power,but low modulation".what does this meant?what is modulation?

its not stopping power meh?

Modulation is sorta like the number of "steps" from point A to point B.

E.g.

If you're driving a car with no modulation.
Pressing the accelerator slightly brings you to 300kph directly from 0, therefore not giving you a choice of whether you just wanted to go 60kph or in between.

Driving a car with modulation means you can choose to go 60, 150, 250 or any speed in between by controlling the pressure of the accelerator.

Hope this clears up a bit. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.