Opening Malaysian bank account

mfbatzap

I'm looking into opening an account in JB

What is needed for a singaporean to open a bank account in Malaysia (e.g Maybank or RHB or CIMB)?

Is passport/IC and initial deposit enough?

naruto13

from what i ask previously, they dont entertain.
unless u own something bla bla bla which then they might wan to help u

mfbatzap

so there's no way for a foreigner (non working pass holder) to open an account in malaysia?

tanfwc

so there's no way for a foreigner (non working pass holder) to open an account in malaysia?

I try to open in the past but the requirement is pretty strict. Even you can apply, you need to have a referral too. So ya, without any pass, you cannot apply.

naruto13

i open with ocbc malaysia though
but the location is not ideal lah
at least still got ibanking

uob malaysia if not wrong, base on past email, they told me 2k can open acc. city square got branch le

belgarathc

For Maybank, you are allowed to open a current account even if you are a Singaporean. Just need passport and deposit. To use internet banking for funds transfer, you need a Malaysian SIM card. But it is not mandatory if you dont need to perform internet transactions such as funds transfer. There is a branch at JB City Square near Mac. Bank account opening service is available during weekdays only. There are maintenance fees for the account.

withluck

For Maybank, you are allowed to open a current account even if you are a Singaporean. Just need passport and deposit. To use internet banking for funds transfer, you need a Malaysian SIM card. But it is not mandatory if you dont need to perform internet transactions such as funds transfer. There is a branch at JB City Square near Mac. Bank account opening service is available during weekdays only. There are maintenance fees for the account.

As far as i know, all local banks charge annual maintenance fees if one uses their ATM card.

For Citibank, they charge one time ATM/debit card and if one uses its saving account, there is no annual maintenance fee.

mummy1234

I opened a uob jb account when I bought my house there. Put money in their fixed deposit for interest and applied for their internet banking to help pay bills and also applied for their debit atm card.

blade

I opened an account with Maybank (at Citysquare JB) last year with an initial deposit of RM1000 and using my Singapore passport only. No bank book, cheque book or internet banking are issued, only got 1 ATM card. The statement are airmail to my Singapore address monthly. There is a RM5 monthly fee if deposit is below certain amount.

Habrosus

I opened an account with Maybank (at Citysquare JB) last year with an initial deposit of RM1000 and using my Singapore passport only. No bank book, cheque book or internet banking are issued, only got 1 ATM card. The statement are airmail to my Singapore address monthly. There is a RM5 monthly fee if deposit is below certain amount.

They've so many types of Savings accounts! :s22:

Which one did you apply for? :)

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/public/programFiltered.do

singexpat

Anybody open any Msian bank account recently?
Looking forward to sic please. TIA

aearthr

Any new update? Want to open a Malaysian bank account with no or minimum initial deposit and monthly balance. Also checking which bank is open on Sunday

singexpat

i opened with UOB Malaysia. No minimum and comes with a debit card that i can use for overseas transactions (need pin number instead of just signature), and with internet banking

ave10amk

i opened with UOB Malaysia. No minimum and comes with a debit card that i can use for overseas transactions (need pin number instead of just signature), and with internet banking
Thanks for sharing bro.
May I know is there any monthly/annual charges to maintain the account and debit card. Many thanks!

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE LTE using GAGT

singexpat

Thanks for sharing bro.
May I know is there any monthly/annual charges to maintain the account and debit card. Many thanks!

dun think so. but i think theres a minimum balance around MYR500 IIRC.
you have to ask the bank officer.

and theres charges about MYR5 for withdrawing cash from other bank's atms.

the FD interests is buay pai

ave10amk

dun think so. but i think theres a minimum balance around MYR500 IIRC.
you have to ask the bank officer.

and theres charges about MYR5 for withdrawing cash from other bank's atms.

the FD interests is buay pai
Is the debit card and pin issued on the spot?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.