[PC-BUILDING] Full or partial upgrade

SnowAkantor

Hi guys,

I'm trying to stream PUBG (yes, that poorly optimized ****ing game).
Right now, I'm running PUBG at roughly 60fps with lag spikes every now and then.
Here's my computer specs before I introduce you guys my options/dilemma.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU : Intel Core i5-4590 @ 3.30GHz
Motherboard : MSi Guard Pro Z97 (MS-7923)
GPU : MSi GeForce GTX 960 2GD5T OC
RAM : G.Skill 8gb, Kingston 2x2gb, Kingston 4gb (Yeah just kill me)
Storage : Samsung 840 EVO 250gb (I'm adding in another 850 EVO 250gb soon, shipping rn)
PSU : Xigmatek 500W
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the couple of dilemmas
  1. Upgrade everything to fit DDR4 - Change CPU, Motherboard and get 2x8gb; keep GPU
  2. Change CPU to i7-4790k

Regarding option 1, to change to for DDR4, at first I was looking into i7-7700k , but I think my OS is not compatible with it? So if that's the case, it's probably gonna be 6700k.

I don't exactly have a budget because I don't know a realistic budget for what I'm looking for.

Question is :
Is the jump from 4590 to 4790k even worth it or invest more and get something better?

P.S. I don't think I'll be changing my GPU since I was told it's not too bad atm.

Koenig168

If you are changing CPU+MB+RAM, then you should be looking at Kopi Lake and not the earlier two generations.

Alternatively, you might want to try getting another 4 GB of DDR3 RAM so that you can run in dual channel mode. Right now, your RAM is working at half speed. Should be about $30 for a single stick second-hand.

lifeishard

Change your gpu+add your ram is cheaper than option 1.
Option 2 is waste of time+money.

Hailgod

how are u even getting pubg to run on 4gb of ram. thats a miracle in of itself

SnowAkantor

how are u even getting pubg to run on 4gb of ram. thats a miracle in of itself

I'm not a god at PC building or knowing anything about PC.
Is the mixing and matching that makes it said to run on 4gb?
My task manager says otherwise (unless it's giving me the data of 16gb but not utilising all of it)

kracie17

My task manager says otherwise (unless it's giving me the data of 16gb but not utilising all of it)

it sounds like you are running 32bit windows? head to system properties and check under system--> system type.

lifeishard

Wow, just realised you are actually running16gb ram mix and match. Since you are already 16gb, just change gpu, who told you 960 is not too bad atm?

Lethal

just change your graphics card to GTX 1060 6GB is sufficient enough for pubg. The rest of your pc specs still decent.

tmfwy

Hi guys,

I'm trying to stream PUBG (yes, that poorly optimized ****ing game).
Right now, I'm running PUBG at roughly 60fps with lag spikes every now and then.
Here's my computer specs before I introduce you guys my options/dilemma.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU : Intel Core i5-4590 @ 3.30GHz
Motherboard : MSi Guard Pro Z97 (MS-7923)
GPU : MSi GeForce GTX 960 2GD5T OC
RAM : G.Skill 8gb, Kingston 2x2gb, Kingston 4gb (Yeah just kill me)
Storage : Samsung 840 EVO 250gb (I'm adding in another 850 EVO 250gb soon, shipping rn)
PSU : Xigmatek 500W
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the couple of dilemmas
  1. Upgrade everything to fit DDR4 - Change CPU, Motherboard and get 2x8gb; keep GPU
  2. Change CPU to i7-4790k

Regarding option 1, to change to for DDR4, at first I was looking into i7-7700k , but I think my OS is not compatible with it? So if that's the case, it's probably gonna be 6700k.

I don't exactly have a budget because I don't know a realistic budget for what I'm looking for.

Question is :
Is the jump from 4590 to 4790k even worth it or invest more and get something better?

P.S. I don't think I'll be changing my GPU since I was told it's not too bad atm.
Honestly
Ditch the 960
It is not enough for PUBG + Streaming duties
Or even if it is enough, its not enough eye candy..

Change of CPU is very nice to have but not entirely necessary

It also depends on how you are streaming
If you are using an external app, pls do yourself a favour and upgrade the cpu and ram

If you are on a budget
Change the graphic card to something like a 10606gb
Try streaming with the GeForce Share and note your system performance.
If not good, the gfx card can be reused for the new system

8gb is a bare minimum for streaming duties alone. 16gb is recommended if you are gaming and streaming at the same time.

tmfwy

Wow, just realised you are actually running16gb ram mix and match. Since you are already 16gb, just change gpu, who told you 960 is not too bad atm?
Maybe that person meant that

GTX960 is not too bad atm for light games.
Seriously. It still will do the job for games such as DOTA2, CS;Go, L4D2

When i comes time for demanding games
It will barely suffice for SkyrimSE / Fallout 4 ( Don't add those shiny 2k textures and definitely avoid the 4k textures )
It will start to annoy when going for Frostbite games ( Still can but annoying. I played Mass Effect Andromeda on a GTX7602gb. The annoying part was that the game was taxing the gfx card so hard that it gets overheated easily. And Mr BSOD invited himself in. Changing the gfx card to a 10603gb helped tremendously. )

SnowAkantor

it sounds like you are running 32bit windows? head to system properties and check under system--> system type.

64bit windows.

Well, multiple friends. HAHA, Idk man.

just change your graphics card to GTX 1060 6GB is sufficient enough for pubg. The rest of your pc specs still decent.

I'll take that into considerations as well!

Maybe that person meant that

GTX960 is not too bad atm for light games.
Seriously. It still will do the job for games such as DOTA2, CS;Go, L4D2

When i comes time for demanding games
It will barely suffice for SkyrimSE / Fallout 4 ( Don't add those shiny 2k textures and definitely avoid the 4k textures )
It will start to annoy when going for Frostbite games ( Still can but annoying. I played Mass Effect Andromeda on a GTX7602gb. The annoying part was that the game was taxing the gfx card so hard that it gets overheated easily. And Mr BSOD invited himself in. Changing the gfx card to a 10603gb helped tremendously. )

I might change to a 1070..

tmfwy

64bit windows.

Well, multiple friends. HAHA, Idk man.

I'll take that into considerations as well!

I might change to a 1070..
1060 3gb 1152 cuda cores = $299
1060 6gb 1280 cuda cores = $359 - $399
1070 8gb 1920 cuda cores = low $600+ around $623
1070TI 8gb 2432 cuda cores = high $600+ around $673 to $729
1080 8gb 2560 cuda cores = $850+ with Destiny2

You say leh...

SnowAkantor

1060 3gb 1152 cuda cores = $299
1060 6gb 1280 cuda cores = $359 - $399
1070 8gb 1920 cuda cores = low $600+ around $623
1070TI 8gb 2432 cuda cores = high $600+ around $673 to $729
1080 8gb 2560 cuda cores = $850+ with Destiny2

You say leh...

Question is, 960 to 1060, worth the upgrade?
Thinking if getting 1070 is pretty much futureproofing.

lifeishard

Depends on games and resolution u playing. If 1440p or 1080p@144hz then go for 1070. If no budget then go for 1060 lor but 1060 some games still lose to 980. Think 1060 is between 970-980+

tmfwy

Depends on games and resolution u playing. If 1440p or 1080p@144hz then go for 1070. If no budget then go for 1060 lor but 1060 some games still lose to 980. Think 1060 is between 970-980+
The future proofing part is how you game
If you stick to FHD, a 1060 ought to be more than sufficient.
a 10603gb = 970 and a 10606gb = 980

If you go to 2560x1440, you are looking at a 1070 minimum
If you go to 3840x2160, you are looking at 1080TI

To put in perspective. I got a 4K monitor 2 months ago. But had to game @ 2k coz i was using a 10603gb, and the frame rates was not what i am content with.

So at the moment, to " future proof ", stick to FHD and don't get itchy hands for higher resolutions. The best time to go for higher resolutions is when a mid-range graphic card $400, can get you a quality level that is one before the max ( eg, high before ultra ), in the majority of games you intend to play.

If you intend to go VR, its a 1080TI....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.