PC Fan. Need Help To Identify The Voltage.

Platinumstartvf

Hi, I have a mini cooling fan with heatsink (about 6cm or so) attached to it on hand that I savaged it from an old PC. I need help to identify if this is a 5V or 12V fan. Usually there is a sticker on the fan that will state it's voltage like (ie: 12V 0.24A) but this one totally no sticker at all.....

Can anyone here please tell if this is a 5V or 12V fan??? It's really nice and I really don't want to damage it by connecting it with a wrong power supply.

Intention: I want to connect directly with a 12V power supply (2A) together with my 12V (10W) COB LED light project for my little mason jar fish tank....... :)

f68Agj0.jpg

1s2XBjp.jpg

nocS9j6.jpg

knight27

no way to tell by the looks. Go see how much motherboard PC supply to it

Or best is test it with two 1.5v batteries > 9v battery > 12V

Platinumstartvf

no way to tell by the looks. Go see how much motherboard PC supply to it

Or best is test it with two 1.5v batteries > 9v battery > 12V
cant really tell.. just plug 5v first and see if it runs
:frown:
Start with 5V, if it does not turn or slow then try 12V.
ummm.... yea realli can't tell how many volts...... hope it's 12V so I can use the solder the same wire with my COB LED light...... Ok gonna test it out with 5V.... then with 9V battery before going to 12V......

knight27

ummm.... yea realli can't tell how many volts...... hope it's 12V so I can use the solder the same wire with my COB LED light...... Ok gonna test it out with 5V.... then with 9V battery before going to 12V......
see the speed. if at 9v it spin very fast than it is a 5v fan. if is still quite slow than go for 12v. no later you put 12v on a 5v fan. it will up lorry.

Ideasmiths

Simi lah, PC fan is DC don't care 5 or 12V.....anything and it will run, mor voltage runs faster. Its not like 220V or 110V appliance.

compuser

Intention: I want to connect directly with a 12V power supply (2A) together with my 12V (10W) COB LED light project for my little mason jar fish tank....... :)

Your fish feel hot meh. Can see it sweating? :(

uselessbum

There should be a sticker on the backside of the fan impeller/motor with the details. See if you can tilt it at an angle to see the back or take off the heatsink if possible.

:(

Ender

The other side of the fan should have a printing of the require voltage. Need to remove it from the heatsink to see.

Platinumstartvf

There should be a sticker on the backside of the fan impeller/motor with the details. See if you can tilt it at an angle to see the back or take off the heatsink if possible.

The other side of the fan should have a printing of the require voltage. Need to remove it from the heatsink to see.
Ok will remove the fan from heatsink later and see if any sticker that says 12V.... thanks.... hope there is.....

uselessbum

Open up liao realli ish no stickers or labels at all.... :confused:

By right should have one, maybe they thought nobody would ever bother opening up to reuse it.

In that case, got to deduce from other components. I assume that this fan was connected to the mobo? Then maybe see if mobo fan header got indicate voltage. If not, then see if you can find out the mobo model and check the specs for it. Most mobo fan headers are 12v.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.