PC On and Off by itself

CrispyPeddler

As title. My pc off by itself. When i press on, it operates and like 5 sec (monitor no display) it off by itself...den on...then off..keep repeatin unless i switch off.

I suspect is psu..as previously i heard ticking and screeching sound from the psu...sometime monitor blank by itself and then operates normally.

Any help? =(

shadow84

Do paper clip test on psu to see if clicking sound still persist. Disconnect all cables from components and test it. Youtube if unsure.

If not, just go rma it liao.

Monitor is blank when u turn on PC? Or when someone in your house switches on/off a device like fan/ac/lights/iron/microwave oven?

CrispyPeddler

Do paper clip test on psu to see if clicking sound still persist. Disconnect all cables from components and test it. Youtube if unsure.

If not, just go rma it liao.

Monitor is blank when u turn on PC? Or when someone in your house switches on/off a device like fan/ac/lights/iron/microwave oven?

Monitor went blank in split second while i use the pc previously. Not due to house switches..it happen randomly

Disconnect all cables? U mean kb mouse speaker lan and stuff?..

CrispyPeddler

ok. just did some self diagnostic...taking out everything left with ram, cpu and psu..still bootloop..

den take out other rams and left with 1 on 1st slot...still bootloop.

den take it out and put it on 2nd slot...finall able to boot...:s12:

i heard ppl say rub the ram using eraser? is it gonna help?

*put back all the rams..in different seating...all works fine...for now...

shadow84

Use eraser to clean the golden contacts on ram. But dun do it too hard or it may drop off..

idjekyll

ok. just did some self diagnostic...taking out everything left with ram, cpu and psu..still bootloop..

same thing happened to me last week and i re-seated the rams unto different slots. so far so good.

CrispyPeddler

yea. i was playing game syok2 then take a pause and go bath. come out and it gets into bootloop..

luckly after re-seating the rams and all is good...hopefully can last few more years:s13:

Phen8210

yes, make sure to do it thoroughly.

Apex

Happen to my system that was 7 years old. The system once awhile will need me to reseat the ram module.

System back to normal for 3-6 month than same thing happen. Take out clean and reseat.

worldofmyown

Im having the same issue, windows booting up (can see the loading logo). After that it just become black screen and shuts down by itself, no bootloop. Is it ram issue as well?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.