Plastidip vs Vinyl Wrap vs Normal Spray

sp0rky

Hi guys. I am considering to change my car colour to matte white.. There are so many options so I am unsure which is better?

I do not park in sheltered carparks. I wash car myself once every 1 or 2 week...

Please advise on the affordability of each option and which one is easier to maintain.. Thanks!

ZhuTou!

Spray better but more ex than wrap
Wrap doesnt last, afterall its a sticker
After 1-2 yrs u will see here one hole there one hole
Need to go back patch up but will look abit ugly after patched

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT

sp0rky

Then plastidip can right? Anywhere specialize in plastidip spraying for whole car!

elf108

Plastidip will be diy save money lah.
Wrap n spray easily thousands.

ZhuTou!

Actually I went ahead and googled, a lot of video shows it easily removed after 2 year leh.

Just for an example..

https://youtu.be/KGEufx9wz88

Is plastidip the car cheaper than wrap ah?
Say nia, its only a video
I also can say 5 yrs easy to remove lol
U need to google for user feedback instead of video

I think plastidip cheaper but more work
Not much shops doing it
Wrap is the trend now

walkofwinners

Say nia, its only a video
I also can say 5 yrs easy to remove lol
U need to google for user feedback instead of video

I think plastidip cheaper but more work
Not much shops doing it
Wrap is the trend now

I plastidip my car rims diy, not that tough. Just need to be patient and do a few coats.

Haven't tried ripping it off yet though but it did survive those power sprays at car wash. Just need to let it settle down for a few days.

Plastidip gives a a rough surface not sure if u wanna have a rough car.

keenklee

Spray -
Paint work no protection.
If job not well done, have to spend $ to rectify.
Have to maintain on a regular basis of do a PPS.

Vinyl -
Protect the paint work.
If there is adhesive used, it can affect the paint work which will be not shown until removal.

Plastidip -
Protects the paint work. No adhesive is used thus safer.

Of course spray will have the best appearance.

My choice will be Plastidip.

sp0rky

Spray -
Paint work no protection.
If job not well done, have to spend $ to rectify.
Have to maintain on a regular basis of do a PPS.

Vinyl -
Protect the paint work.
If there is adhesive used, it can affect the paint work which will be not shown until removal.

Plastidip -
Protects the paint work. No adhesive is used thus safer.

Of course spray will have the best appearance.

My choice will be Plastidip.

But I Google and browse like mycarforum.. All like only wrap or spray. Nobody doing plastidip one lor

keenklee

But I Google and browse like mycarforum.. All like only wrap or spray. Nobody doing plastidip one lor

That's somewhat true. Those I come across usually do parts like emblem. I guess it depends on what you want and the cost involved. Like I said earlier, if spray, I have to do maintenance. If vinyl, I am concern if I remove it, will the adhesive cause havoc to the original paint.

myviowner

That's somewhat true. Those I come across usually do parts like emblem. I guess it depends on what you want and the cost involved. Like I said earlier, if spray, I have to do maintenance. If vinyl, I am concern if I remove it, will the adhesive cause havoc to the original paint.

Agreed... depends on what is your budget, preference and how long more to end of COE.

In FB, came across a wrap shop in JB , offered plastic dip whole sedan car at RM1000. Matt colors only.:s8:

BuGGi3

Agreed... depends on what is your budget, preference and how long more to end of COE.

In FB, came across a wrap shop in JB , offered plastic dip whole sedan car at RM1000. Matt colors only.:s8:

plastidip can only last up to 3-4yrs?

ZhuTou!

I plastidip my car rims diy, not that tough. Just need to be patient and do a few coats.

Haven't tried ripping it off yet though but it did survive those power sprays at car wash. Just need to let it settle down for a few days.

Plastidip gives a a rough surface not sure if u wanna have a rough car.
I also plastidip my rim before lol

keenklee

That's a good price.

If I get a new ride again, I am very likely to plastidip the bonnet which is where most of the stone chips are. :s13:

blackestvoid

checked with one "workshop" who does plastidip
the cost almost the same as spraying
got some advice from freelancer as well that many workshops do not do a proper dip, as in they will do minimal coats, end up difficult to tear off later, do more coats = more $$ but thinker and easier to peel off
they also cannot guarantee the color effect even if you show them pics, and they have no sample, you had better confirm the mixture, amount of pearls, number of coats, etc yourself to achieve the color you want

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.