Police warn of banking-related phishing scams after 10 people lose over $70,000

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Lareina

SINGAPORE - At least 10 people have fallen prey to banking-related phishing scams in May, losing more than $70,000.

The police issued an advisory on Sunday (May 22) warning the public of an increase in phishing scams where scammers impersonate bank staff and target victims through phone calls or SMS messages.

In one of these scams, people would receive phone calls from callers pretending to be bank employees. Victims would be told by the callers that their bank cards may have been compromised. They would ask for the victims' bank account information to enable them to resolve the matter. After the victims provided their bank account numbers, they would receive one-time passwords (OTPs) on their mobile phones. The callers would then ask the victims for the OTPs.

In another scam variant, victims would receive an SMS message stating that there were issues with their credit or debit cards, and that they should dial the number included in the SMS for assistance. After calling the number, victims would speak to scammers who would confirm that there were issues with the victims' cards. The scammers would then ask for the victims' credit or debit card details and OTPs under the pretext of assisting them.

The victims would realise that they had been scammed when they discover unauthorised transactions made from their bank accounts.

In February, the police said that victims in Singapore lost at least $633.3 million to scams last year.

Phishing scams involving SMS messages from scammers impersonating bank staff in Singapore have increased significantly, from 149 cases in 2020 to 1,021 last year.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...hishing-scams-after-10-people-lose-over-70000
Again, aren't we told that banks shouldn't be calling us and ask us for personal information??? 🤦‍♂️ If anything, we should be the one calling the banks, not the bank call us.

avviicc

How come banks here so weak no security these days
so are the banks going to compensate these ppl again?

AFTER the big news on the OCBC scam, now still got ppl kana scammed? I hope the banks dun compensate if not never ending liao since ppl will think kana scammed can get back $$$ from banks so nevermind, no need to beware of scams

Wu-Han Clan

AFTER the big news on the OCBC scam, now still got ppl kana scammed? I hope the banks dun compensate if not never ending liao since ppl will think kana scammed can get back $$$ from banks so nevermind, no need to beware of scams
agree.... after ocbc saga ppl sure think is bank job to protect customer money.... tt time the saga shld let the customers ownself die... let ppl knw tt is personal responsibility...

you see boomers gt the mindset everything is govt shld take care of them so they dont bother to take care of themselves...

Ambergris

There will be a limit of how much and how far a bank is willing to compensate, this is the a/c holders stupidty, not the bank banking issue. If this goes on, think 2 FA is not enough, probably 3 or 4 FA.

After OTP, you need another OTP to confirm transfer any amount so that the a/c holder is aware of the transaction, then another OTP is required by appointed son/daughter/wife/husband/brother/ etc before the money transfer can take place.

Imagine if you want to transfer $50 to your son's account (PayNow or PayLater whatever), first OTP to go into your account, then a 2nd OTP to confirm the $50 transfer, then wait for your wife's input her OTP to complete the transaction.o_O

Ye_Rongtian

Apparently those SMS phishing warning didn't work and somemore after OCBC compensated the victims and it was splashed BIG BIG in news? People never learn eh?

Mr Duck

If bank call me. I will question them first. Eg: you know what card i holding? What is my limit? You know my parents name? If can't answer me. I will just tell him/her I LOVE YOUR MOTHER.

SINGAPORE - At least 10 people have fallen prey to banking-related phishing scams in May, losing more than $70,000.

The police issued an advisory on Sunday (May 22) warning the public of an increase in phishing scams where scammers impersonate bank staff and target victims through phone calls or SMS messages.

In one of these scams, people would receive phone calls from callers pretending to be bank employees. Victims would be told by the callers that their bank cards may have been compromised. They would ask for the victims' bank account information to enable them to resolve the matter. After the victims provided their bank account numbers, they would receive one-time passwords (OTPs) on their mobile phones. The callers would then ask the victims for the OTPs.

In another scam variant, victims would receive an SMS message stating that there were issues with their credit or debit cards, and that they should dial the number included in the SMS for assistance. After calling the number, victims would speak to scammers who would confirm that there were issues with the victims' cards. The scammers would then ask for the victims' credit or debit card details and OTPs under the pretext of assisting them.

The victims would realise that they had been scammed when they discover unauthorised transactions made from their bank accounts.

In February, the police said that victims in Singapore lost at least $633.3 million to scams last year.

Phishing scams involving SMS messages from scammers impersonating bank staff in Singapore have increased significantly, from 149 cases in 2020 to 1,021 last year.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...hishing-scams-after-10-people-lose-over-70000
Again, aren't we told that banks shouldn't be calling us and ask us for personal information??? 🤦‍♂️ If anything, we should be the one calling the banks, not the bank call us.

Some time bank detect suspected fraudulent charges will call to verify one. Other than that are mostly promotion

seeseelooklook

Now anyone who calls me from the bank, I sure ask for rank/name/NRIC. Don't understand or don't have means scam.

avviicc

Apparently those SMS phishing warning didn't work and somemore after OCBC compensated the victims and it was splashed BIG BIG in news? People never learn eh?
precisely OCBC compensated the victims, thus many ppl will think "oh, kana scammed bank will compensate one har, like tat no nid to be careful liao since I will be compensated".,..

OCBC made a very big mistake in compensating

Me4myself

Sinkies should start scamming others instead.

Knn, these type of scammer no ending one. Around the world catch or no catch, these scammers are reaping on billions of billions. Why not just hang them if get caught around the world. Those countries with human rights group want to feed them, let them feed. We just hang them.

seeseelooklook

Knn, these type of scammer no ending one. Around the world catch or no catch, these scammers are reaping on billions of billions. Why not just hang them if get caught around the world. Those countries with human rights group want to feed them, let them feed. We just hang them.

What an idea! We should really start scamming those scammers from China, India, Taiwan and Malaysia. So far only scammers from these countries caught right?

bobafettup

Actually hor, after so many warning, education, notices, still got people fall for this, sad to say, it’s self deserved

Mancunian2

problem is these scamers are often operating from india and china
how to catch them and hang in Sg?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.