Question on divorce asset splitting

ELKYme

Sad that you only see witty myopic vision and not able to look at the big perspective and its implications.

U have comprehension problem? TS just want to know more to see if he can help his friend whose parents are having problem, talking divorce.

If u have some knowledge of divorce proceedings on asset division and disposable, u will not ask all those questions are HDB disposal. His friend's parents are old enough to know what they are doing and have children to provide them with an alternative roof, maybe.

Every family has their own problems, here we are helping to answer some legal questions for which people have knowledge/experience and help point them to sources of help, like the free legal clinic. TS can share with his friend, he dun have to go que up to meet the lawyer at the free legal clinic :s13:

maple96

Sad that you only see witty myopic vision and not able to look at the big perspective and its implications.

Help only what is asked for, every family has its own problems, u can try to be god to help, your choice, they are old enough to know what they are doing and its implications.

Mecisteus

Getting legal advice from a public forum is a no no. How would TS know for sure that the legal advice from this forum is accurate and correct? If TS gets inaccurate advice from here and use it to advise TS's friend, and that's a disaster.:s22:

It doesn't apply to legal only.

It applies to any topic like finance, medical, technology, etc.

If we were to direct all questions to the actual professionals like lawyers, bankers, doctors, engineers, etc then there is nothing to discuss in the forum. :s13:

It's OK to ask for advice. Listen to all the advices and make your own due diligence.

maple96

Getting legal advice from a public forum is a no no. How would TS know for sure that the legal advice from this forum is accurate and correct? If TS gets inaccurate advice from here and use it to advise TS's friend, and that's a disaster.:s22:

He is not getting legal advice here, he just hope people can share some experience so him can get some head start. I believe he know what is doing!

It is not just legal advice here which people should not rely wholesale without doing their own research, it applies to all other matters shared in this forum :s13:

maple96

It doesn't apply to legal only.

It applies to any topic like finance, medical, technology, etc.

If we were to direct all questions to the actual professionals like lawyers, bankers, doctors, engineers, etc then there is nothing to discuss in the forum. :s13:

It's OK to ask for advice. Listen to all the advices and make your own due diligence.

spot on! just noticed your post after i posted :s13:

ELKYme

U think it’s smart for u to give comments on who gets what?

Isn’t my intent clear?? I’m trying to save the marriage of a 60+ year old couple.

Help only what is asked for, every family has its own problems, u can try to be god to help, your choice, they are old enough to know what they are doing and its implications.

peterchan75

Just remember hor, once legal advice taken and legal proceeding starts.... no go-stunt. :D Scarly, opposing party has a good counselor and what TS's friend thought was water tight has become a sieve. Opposing party leverage all the way. :s22:

If can reconcile why bother talking divorce?
OMG...legal and medical advice are not the same as investment advice.

Eighty7

Thanks for all the response , indeed it’s not really legal advices that I’m asking, more of experience sharing . I myself is not a qualified lawyer I would not be able or even would dish out legal advice. It would be a case of blind leading the blind .

I do also appreciate the part on getting them to reconsider their decision which I myself did share with my Friend ultimately people would be answerable for their own action .

peterchan75

Don't mess with others marriage affair no matter how good one's intention. If the outcome does not turn out well, one's will be blamed by either party.
Justice is objective, and fairness is subjective.

maple96

Not sure where to post this so just decided to ask here .

Recently I had a talk with my friend and this topic came up . His mum and dad are currently not on talking term and on the edge of divorce. Currently the HDB is paid for by the Husband , but the Wife helped in daily expenses etc both of them are already in their old age 60s.

The question is if they divorce , how do court usually decide the splitting of asset ? Will the Wife get anything ?

On the disposal of HDB flat, if one party is interested in keeping the flat, then after the court had awarded on the sharing approach, the party who wants to keep the flat has to buy over the other party's share of the value of the flat, ie pay the other party his/her share.

In such a case, the party who wants to buy over has to consider the following:

1. How to value the market value of the flat, pay for valuation (shared cost).
2. Is it worth paying based on the market value of the flat? ie if current market value is on the high, after buying over the flat, will u be able to sell at a higher value in future?
3. Cash available and future financial for a living.

Just 3 little pointers for consideration. The person I knew decided to sell the flat in open market and split the cash. One party found a roof in relative's place, the other person decided to rent a room, at time of settlement. Luckily now the market value of the flat had dropped somewhat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.